We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly excellent place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Unique Boutique Cambodia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unique Boutique Cambodia
Ranked #101 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“A truly excellent place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

Our group of 5 ranged from my 21 year old daughter to my 80 year old mother in law and the accommodation suited us all extremely well. It is relatively small with only 5 units, but they are all beautifully presented and face a lovely landscaped swimming pool.

Meals were of a good standard, especially breakfast, and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. I had a slight concern initially that this B&B might be a little far from town, however this proved to be no problem at all, with either minivan transport provided or a tuktuk arranged to take you the short distance to and from Siem Reap at a very minimal cost.

Journeys Within also organised an excellent itinerary for the 5 days we were there, with a good mixture of temples, the floating village, local village and other attractions all proving to be very interesting, and the guides very knowledgeable and friendly.

Overall a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KIWIED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    29
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
128
138
25
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

We just returned from visiting our daughter who is serving in the Peace Corps in Cambodia. While in Siem Reap we stayed here and could not have been happier. Yes, there are less expensive places and also many that are closer to the action on Pub street. But JW B&B has big, beautiful rooms, wonderful staff, gorgeous grounds and pool, etc. Getting to "downtown" was a simple 10 minute tuk tuk ride, and it was nice to be able to head back to a quiet, lovely place like this at the end of the evening.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaYoYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

Journeys Within is a lovely, unique base from which to explore Siem Reap and the temples. My husband and I visited for 4 nights in June 2010 -- we were looking for an authentic, off-the-beaten path experience during our brief stay in Cambodia and, after doing some research online, were extremely impressed with Journey Within's commitment to philanthropic travel and by the terrific work they are doing in the area. Journeys Within did not disappoint! The B&B is really more like a boutique hotel, with several free standing villas surrounding a fabulous pool (which is much-needed in the Cambodia heat and which we pretty much had all to ourselves!). Breakfast, which is delicious and cooked to order, is served in a courtyard behind the main house/office. We stayed in a very nice two-story villa (#5), with a/c, free wireless, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen stocked with complimentary water and soft drinks, living room w/ TV & DVD player, queen-sized bed, and balcony. The staff, from the cleaners to the front-desk managers, are wonderfully friendly and accommodating, and eager to chat and practice their English with guests. Breakfast each day was delicious, and we also ate lunch one day at the B&B (delivered to our room by request), which was one of our favorite meals while in Siem Reap. Owner Brandon offered wonderful restaurant suggestions for us each evening for dinner (we especially enjoyed FCC and Viroth's), and "downtown" Siem Reap is just about a 10 or so minute tuk-tuk ride from the B&B (the Journeys Within staff will call a tuk-tuk for you when requested). Journeys Within coordinated a 3-day tour for us, which included visits to a number of temples and a boat ride on the Tonle Sap lake. Our guide was Sina, who was warm and friendly, spoke fantastic English, and had tremendous knowledge of the temples and surrounding area. A highlight of our trip was volunteering in an art class with local children in the Journeys Within Our Community school (located right next door to the B&B). Owners Brandon and Andrea are doing amazing work in Cambodia (and Laos), and it was great to see it in action, and to chat with Journeys Within Our Community directors, Camilla and Andy. Start to finish, we could not have asked for a better experience in Siem Reap! Journeys Within is highly recommended for those who want a glimpse into real Cambodia while at the same time enjoying lovely accommodations and personalized service. Don't miss Journeys Within!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrzgirl_inDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

We learned so much about Cambodia in our short stay! My wife and I chose Journeys Within because we wanted an authentic cultural experience. This was the real thing. Being able to have lunch with the owners and talk about their philanthropic work, to walk next door and help teach an English class, and to have a guide on hand that will drop you into his daily world, was the perfect package. Leap Lam (Lounh) was our guide, whose almost accent-less English and warm personality made us soon feel we had known him for most of our lives. He took us to many of the main sites, but it was stopping at the road side to speak with the locals, or visiting the monastery where he had studied as a child, that engaged us in an unforgettable experience. The accommodations were beautiful, the beds comfortable, the pool refreshing, and above all it is the work that these owners are committed to doing, changing many lives in Cambodia and Laos, that let's you know they are the real deal. Don't miss this stop, don't miss this guide, don't miss this opportunity.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lookout592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

I visited Siem Reap mainly to tour Angkor Wat. It was an amazing experience especially because I had an excellent guide and a wonderful place to stay. The guide, Leap Lam, was smart, very knowledgeable, and very easy to get along. Although Cambodian is his first language, his English is perfect . His knowledge of when to visit these sites so as to avoid the crowds was invaluable and he set a pace for touring this incredible site that was perfect for my schedule. I also strongly recommend the Journey Within B&B. The rooms are lovely, the food provided for breakfast and lunch was better than any I ate in Siem Reap restaurants, and the staff was so friendly and helpful. The owners of Journeys Within are a fascinating young couple who not only run a very successful hotel but also give back to the community through a school they have built next to their B&B. I can't think of any better way to get to know Siem Reap and Angkor Wat than with the help of Leap Lam and Journeys Within.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wordytraveler234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

I stayed a week here in March and what a wonderful week it was. The rooms are huge and spotless. The bathroom is spa-like. They have a/c and a fan. Our room came with a stocked fridge, a tv and dvd player. The swimming pool is again spa-like and large. Really a serene setting. The grounds are well kept and lovely. There is an outdside pavilion with hammocks to use if you so choose.

Their food is very good and well priced. You won't go hungry. They also do your laundry for free- a wonderful perk.

The best part of this B&B is the staff and its owners. The staff is always ready to assist you and they always say "It's my pleasure." You can tell that they truly mean it. The staff are very happy working their and it shows in their attitude to the guests. Nahri and Mr. Narla are very knowledgeable and able to assist you in any way. The owners -Brandon and Andrea- are doing great things with their community and school next door. They are an inspiration to us all.
Journeys Within also has tuk-tuk drivers that they call for their guests. They are personnally vetted for the guests. JW also arranged our whole tour. They have their own guides and drivers. They also give you a phone to use during your stay with them. They can give you ideas on your to go, when to go, where to shop, where to eat, they can assist you greatly.
You will be glad you stayed and don't forget they plan wonderful tours as well.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Temple_seeker853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

Between visiting family in Phuket and in Beijing, we stopped for sightseeing at Siem Reap. Journeys Within handled everything for us—the tours, the lodging, food (breakfast/lunch), local transport, and guides. It was all terrific. Better described as a combination of a boutique hotel (for its attractive rooms, attentive service, meals that combine Cambodia specialties with standard fare) and a really interesting B & B for the combined friendliness and competency of the Cambodian staff and the British/American couple who seem truly concerned about making your stay the way you want it to be. If you take the time to talk with Andrea & Brandon you will find out about the amazing way they have created a happy and interesting place for tourists but also about their projects, including a school, well building, and microloans.
You can order lunch brought to your cool room after a hot morning of touring—try the beautifully presented and delicious Coconut Chicken Curry with a dessert of Banana/Chocolate Crepes and for breakfast try a Khmer breakfast of Noodle soup. A special note about our guide: Louah (Leap Lam)--his English is great, his knowledge base was extensive, sensitive to what we wanted, always polite and helpful—and an interesting fellow—worth getting to know—I travel a lot and I’d say that Leap is in my top five of guides in ten years of traveling---and certainly a standout for Cambodia.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stilltravelin62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.9 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#33 of 337 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
#71 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.4 mi away
Borann, l'Auberge des Temples
Borann, l'Auberge des Temples
#104 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
#46 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unique Boutique Cambodia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unique Boutique Cambodia

Property: Unique Boutique Cambodia
Address: Kruos Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Unique Boutique Cambodia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the hustle and bustle of travel with a stay at Unique Boutique. A quiet oasis on the outskirts of busy Siem Reap, just minutes from the Angkor temples, Unique Boutique offers the service and hospitality of a B&B, with facilities of a five star resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Unique Boutique Cambodia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing