We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful respite in Siem Reap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Community Residence Siem Reap
Ranked #128 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I traveled to Cambodia for the first time and had the pleasure of booking my entire trip through Journeys Within (I discovered the company on Conde Nast's Gold List for sustainable travel companies).

I enjoyed every moment of planning my trip, exchanging emails with Andrea at Journeys Within to tailor my trip exactly as I wanted it. My research combined with Andrea's local insights and perspectives ensured that I enjoyed a fabulous eight-day trip that started in Bangkok then on to Siem Reap then to Koh Kong and concluding with a half-day in Phom Penh before my late night departure.

While I was in Bangkok, I had a lovely and knowledgeable private guide named Ron who introduced me to some of the many highlights of the city. I appreciated the fact that Journeys Within only hired guides who grew up in the location adding to the real local experience I had. (I stayed in the Sofitel in Bangkok; it was a nice hotel but it lacked the real personal touch that Journey Within B&B and Bungalows offers.)

I flew on to Siem Reap and spent four days in the town...not just exploring the temples with my lovely guide Santou but we also spent an afternoon at Tonle Sap Lake to see some of the floating Vietnamese villages. I also had the opportunity to explore a local village and meet many native villagers one afternoon. It was an eye-opening perspective of Siem Reap that I would have never had if I didn't seek it out.

While I was in Siem Reap, I stayed in the Buddha Bungalow, part of Journey Within B&B and Bungalows. The new space was bright, modern and large, and yet there was an understated feel about the accommodations. It wasn't pretentious - it was welcoming, warm and a 10-meter walk to the swimming pool where I swam laps every morning before breakfast and every evening before dinner. I never used the TV in the room but I did take advantage of the fully stocked refrigerator in the room for a chilled soda and water
(at no charge). And the (free) daily laundry service was magical. The bathroom was modern with a lovely walk-in shower and the guest room was spacious, fully air-conditioned, very clean and tastefully appointed.

The homemade breakfast was worth waking up for. The fresh fruit, the banana crepes, yogurt and granola and the fresh smoothie...it was all delicious. They also serve a yummy amok fish (a local dish) made fresh to order along with other local and more international dishes.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4ILuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2011

Great little B&B. It is a 10 min tuk-tuk ride outside of the city centre, but that ride into town is an experience in itself. Great introduction to Cambodia and SEAsia. Nice and gentle pace. Family friendly. The staff are exceptional. Some are students studying hospitality. Some are locals learning the ropes in reception, kitchen, room service etc. So, service can be a little imperfect, but all can be solved with a smile. You will need insect repellent when sitting out on your balcony and when eating in the outdoor dining room, even with mozzie coils under the tables, there are still lots of mosquitoes. As for sightseeing, the staff can tailor tours for you as per your wishes with English speaking guides. The B&B is only a short drive from the temples of Angkor Wat. The school next door, and all the other charity work Journeys Within are involved with, are an inspiration. Andrea and Brandon Ross and their staff are an inspiration. Would recommend a stay at Journeys Within B&B to families travelling with small children, but teenagers and adults were catered for equally well. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsYellaLot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Journeys Within hires great local people and trains them well. Smiling faces greet you everywhere. The lobby/reception area is not fancy but the rooms are huge, clean, and much nicer than we expected for the price. Whatever you need, the staff will accommodate from tuk-tuk rides to Pub Street to dinner delivered to your room.
The pool is beautiful and open 24/7. Only downside would be crowing roosters and barking dogs as neighbors.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellymacsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Our stay exceeded our expectations on all counts. The rooms are impeccable and the entire property is extremely stylish in a relaxed and casual manner. The owner/operators live on site which add to the charm of staying here. Andrea is wonderful and her life is so inspiring in a beautifully balanced way. Fantastic fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjmansur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at Journeys Within for 5 nights in early August 2010. Our experience with the Journeys Within team from the moment we were picked up at the airport until our drop off was an enjoyable one Narla was a great host Sinna our guide was amazing- his knowledge and humour made the tours to the temples an unbelieveable experience- truly once in a lifetime- his ability to take the perfect photo and find the banana treats on the roadside stands contributed to making the day trips truly enjoyable- he is a great asset to the organization as are all the other members of the team.
We also got to enjoy an after noon assisting an english class in the school next door which is connected to Journeys Within- it was a great experience- we only wished it had of been a longer one.
The food was exceptional especially the coconut curried chicken and the fried noodles with vegetables- sitting out on our balcony looking into the garden and over the pool made the food taste even more amazing. Our room was clean, bed extremely comfortable making sleep inevitable after a busy day seeing the sights of the area. The gift of a scarf and reuseable bag left for us was a lovely touch and one which will ensure that our holiday at Journeys Within will always be remembered. The pool is a great asset and very refreshing after a warm day- we certainly used it every chance we got during the 5 days. We left a small part of our heart in Cambodia and when we return to Siem Reap we will certainly stay at Journeys Within.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I can only really just repeat what has been said numerous times already about Journeys Within. We stayed here for 5 nights in December as part of our honeymoon and can say without doubt that it was one of the highlights of the whole trip.

Having organised part of our holiday with through Journeys Within Tours we booked into their B&B during our complete stay in Siem Reap. The room we stayed in was fantastic - spacious, clean, beautifully decorated with a bathroom that was a treat and a great terrace to enjoy the evening sun or sample the great food from their menu. We also noticed the little bits of attention that added to the experience - the flowers and small gift on the bed when we arrived, the free laundry, a little "cheat sheet" of all the recommended shops, restaurants etc to be found in Seim Reap.

What probably sets this place out from any other hotel/B&B we have stayed in is the staff -from the owners Andrea & Brandon, the guys on the front desk all the way through to the girls serving breakfast and making up the rooms - all of them always had a smile on their face and unbelievably helpful with any questions we had.

Whilst it is not in the central part of Siem Reap, just a pleasant 8 minute ride by Tuk Tuk - it almost added to the experience as it was nice to come back to the peace & tranquility of the B&B after a day spent touring the the temples & sights with the rest of the December masses. It has to be said that the pool was fantastic though sadly underused during our stay.

We had an opportunity to visit JWOC next door, the non-profit organisation that the owners have set up improving living conditions to local communities through various initiatives. It is both truly inspiring & impressive what everyone at JWOC they have achieved in such a relatively short period of time, and for us the enthusiasm of the kids who were attending one of the free classes we saw was a lasting memory.

The personalised tour itself was superbly organised and our guides in both Cambodia & Vietnam were fantastic. Any questions/problems that we had we had during the holiday were superbly dealt with by Andrea/Narla and the rest of the team, making it one of the most stress free and relaxing holidays that we have had for a long while.

I cannot recommend this place, the tour company or the people working there highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissBeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

This was our (my wife and myself) to Southeast Asia. Journey’s Within B&B was recommended by Journey’s Within Travel agency and was an amazing surprise. Very nice rooms, accommodations and a swimming pool. But the best part is the amazing service and kindness from the staff. I really recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lautenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
14.5 mi away
Laysung Boutique
Laysung Boutique
#114 of 365 in Siem Reap
276 reviews
15.6 mi away
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
#39 of 365 in Siem Reap
706 reviews
15.4 mi away
Popular Residence Hotel
Popular Residence Hotel
#35 of 365 in Siem Reap
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#40 of 365 in Siem Reap
510 reviews
13.7 mi away
Gloria Angkor Hotel
Gloria Angkor Hotel
#136 of 365 in Siem Reap
595 reviews
15.1 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#144 of 365 in Siem Reap
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Community Residence Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Community Residence Siem Reap

Address: | Off Route Six, About 300 meters down Korean-Cambodian Friendship Rd, Kruos Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Unique Boutique Cambodia)
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £38 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Community Residence Siem Reap 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Community Residence Siem Reap run by local Cambodian and this is the social business. At Community Residence Siem Reap, we want you to feel like you are staying with friends, that means never nickel and diming our guests for small necessities. Every room rate includes all the amenities you would expect to have at your home...and then some: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Community Residence Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing