We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed ”
Review of Le Meridien Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Angkor
Ranked #61 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

A pleasant hotel. Accommodating and friendly staff. However we had regular power cuts throughout the stay. The gym is very dated and some equipment broken. Complimentary toiletries were not replaced daily and neither were first towels. Compared to other Le Meridien hotels in SE Asia I was disappointed.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank HKM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We sincerely apologize for the power cut off during your stay, but not just our hotel it is all hotels in Siem Reap was cut.

We have taken note about your feedback on our gym condition and my team will look into this matter.

We hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with a better service.

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,795 - 1,801 of 3,042 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very nice ambience, excellent service at restaurants, front desk, concierge, room service, spa facilties.
A little far from center but you can take a "tuk tuk" and be there in 5 minutes. Rooms very nice as well.

Room Tip: Meals - dinner - very good at the main restaurant, they have a cozy Italian restaurant but did not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay and your feedback.

We are delighted to hear that our rooms and our services gave you entire satisfaction. I will share your kind review to our associates.

Should you decide to visit us again, do check out our exciting promotions at lemeridienangkor.com or Le Meridien Angkor official Facebook page.

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here to visit Angkor (like most people that stay here I assume). This is the closest Western hotel to Angkor Wat, being about a 10 minute drive max. However, Siem Reap is a small town, so all hotels are relatively close. Hotel is located outside the downtown area, but within about 1.5 - 2 miles of pub street. Took us about half hour to walk back.

20 minutes from airport and hotel was kind enough to provide free airport transfer. Hotel also hooked up with a car/driver for only $35 total for a day (8 hours).

Hotel was solid. Public areas are well maintained. Rooms are going under renovation apparently but are in decent shape as is. I thought bathroom was a little crowded to put in both a tub and shower and only 1 sink.

Breakfast was good but I think they get overwhelmed before 8 AM. Took a while to get a cappuccino and then it came back cold after 20 minutes. I saw other guests just taking the coffee carafes for themselves. Food itself was good. Egg station, noodle station, etc. Made my egg white omelet perfectly first time around (this has been a challenge for me in Asia but mainly in China where it can take 3+ attempts) so was quite satisfied. Recommend going to breakfast after 8 AM when things slow down. Most people eat early and then hit the sites. A more hardcore but efficient way to do it would be to go sites first (open 5:30 AM from what I understand) when it is much cooler and less crowded and then come back for breakfast. Take a nap in the afternoon (or swim) when it is too hot.

Pool was nice, gym was small but adequate. Quite cramped but as at most there was only 1 other person using it at most, was ok. Free weights, treadmills, and some weight machines. No chin-up bar but did have a lat pull down (lot of hotels don't have these for some reason). Free weights were tightly packed by the treadmills but since no one else was using gym mostly, didn't matter.

Service was extremely friendly and helpful. Concierge was great. People actually remembered my name, which impressed me since the hotel is quite big (but I was one of the few Westerners there so maybe I stood out).

In conclusion, hotel is solid but not something to write home about to brag. I would certainly stay here again but wouldn't mind checking out a different hotel for variety.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiangShanBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Le Meridien Angkor and thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us.

We are happy to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at Le Meridien Angkor. I believe that here in Le Meridien Angkor, everyone takes great pride in ensuring that all our guests will have excellent experiences during their stay.

Thank your for your compliments our buffet breakfast and helpful concierge. Certainly we will transfer you kind feedback to our associates.

Please let us know if you decide to come back to Siem Reap Angkor again, we would be delighted to be able to assist you in any way.

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Generally speaking, everything about our stay was very good. Our favorite was the pool and pool side food and drink service. The pool was awesome...especially after a long day of hiking all the temples! The hotel is currently going through a "soft" renovation. We were on a 3rd floor suite in the room right next to the wing being renovated. The first night they left the double doors to this wing open and it was a distraction to see all the construction in the hallway. The second night they closed the doors and that was good. We did not hear any construction noise. They started work at 8 am and we slept until 9 am, so no problem with that. Work was done by 5 pm. The hotel is very close to Angkor Wat, however, it is not by the city. So, if you want to go into the city, you will need transportation (tuk tuk). We had a private driver during our stay, so location was not an issue for us.

This is a very nice hotel and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Le Meridien Angkor and thank you on your encouraging and supportive review!

We are delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us and the soft refurbishment didn’t bother you so much.

Please let us know when you start planning your return so that we can be of assistance.

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This has got to be one of the most beautiful, nicest hotels in Cambodia. The pool is gorgeous, and the gym is fantastic. Service outstanding. Rooms are spacious, very nicely decorated, clean, quiet, comfortable. Overall, the hotel is wonderful. If you have not been to Siem Reap before, however, you need to be aware that the location is not in the city center and there is not much within walking distance of the hotel. (Walking distance is limited because with the heat and humidity, you cannot go far before you are quite hot and sweaty.) I rented a bicycle from the hotel ($3/day) and used it to travel back and forth to the Angkor Archeological Park. The Le Meridien is near the park entrance. I went in the mornings, returned to the hotel during the hottest part of the day, then back to the park in the late afternoon through sunset. The hotel location was convenient and perfect for what I wanted to do, which was visit the temples, take photographs, read and relax. I was asleep early each night and up before sunrise. But if you want to explore Siem Reap, with access to lots of shopping, restaurants, and night life, this location may not be what you want.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the entire team at Le Méridien Angkor, we thank you for taking the time to share your refreshing experience with us.

We are delighted to hear that our rooms and our services gave you entire satisfaction. I will share your kind review to our associates.
We believe that you had a memorable time exploring all of Siem Reap's splendor and we are delighted at how much you enjoyed your time here in the hotel.

Should you decide to visit us again, do check out our exciting promotions at lemeridienangkor.com or Le Meridien Angkor official Facebook page.

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were traveling in Asia for 6 weeks and our stay ay Le Meridien was a definite highlight.The room and bed were very comfortable and the staff very helpful,and friendly.The staff were always there to get a tuk-tuk for us for touring the ruins or to go out to dinner in Siem Reap which was a short and inexpensive ride away.Lovely pool area,good food and overall excellent service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfdolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Le Meridien Angkor!!

It is very important for us to know that our bed makes you sleep comfortably and that you can get a good night sleep.
Certainly we will pass your feedback to the colleagues and thank you for your compliments on our food.

I do hope that you will return again and that when you do please do not hesitate to contact me so that I can personally assist you with your accommodation requirements.

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed at Le Meridien for 3 nights. Although being an Elite SPG Gold member they could not offer me a room upgrade. Instead, we were offered free breakfast. Overall our stay was comfortable and the hotel staff including the manager were very courteous and helpful.
Hotel rooms and the lobby are dated and is in dire need of renovation to claim its luxury 5 star status.
Anyway, I would still come back and stay at Le Meridien.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bastula11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay and your honest feedback.

We are delighted to hear that your stay was comfortable in our hotel and staffs are helpful. I will share your feedback to all our associates.

Great news, in this dry season we are in the midst of renovation some of rooms and building.

Please let us know if you decide to come back to Siem Reap Angkor again, we would be delighted to be able to assist you in any way.

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#44 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,370 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.4 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.9 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#74 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,594 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Angkor

Address: Vithei Charles de Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#31 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#44 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#50 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £70 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being the closest 5 star luxury international hotel to Angkor Wat itself, Le Meridien is the perfect choice for travelers afar, who want to be close to the very reason for visiting. And the rustically colourful township of Siem Reap with its charming French colonial buildings and 400 years old teak trees is just 5 minutes from the hotel where local markets, art galleries and cafes abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Meridien Siem Reap
Le Meridien Siem Reap
Siem Reap Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing