We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel experience ever.”
Review of Le Meridien Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Angkor
Ranked #60 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst hotel experience ever.”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I´m an SPG member and I decided to stay at this hotel for my honeymoon.

-I wanted to add one more night and they made me cancel my original reservation and make a new one. They never canceled my original reservation so they booked me another room and charged me for 3 nights.
-I tried to explain the situation above at check in. They left me one hour waiting at the lobby so they talked to the manager. Same thing happened at checkout.
-Power outages.
-Phone didn´t work so I had to go down to the lobby every time we needed something.
-Internet did not work most of the time
-Tap water was yellow all the time. Tasted horrible after washing teeth.
-Had many spiders in the room.
-There was a big sign at the lobby with a promotion for the spa. When we called and booked they told me that promotion did not exist and that I was lying.
-Floor and bathtub dirty.

It seems they are making an effort for us to have the worst hotel experience i ever had.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianarturo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short.

If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,749
    737
    137
    35
    23
See reviews for
581
1,009
210
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We checked into a suite at the Sofitel in Siem Reap only to discover that the swimming pool was shut and the place was a building site. We then went to the nearby Le Meridien. The staff were very helpful and we booked two rooms for a 4-night stay. They really rescued our holiday and we are very grateful for that. Make sure you tip everyone. Salaries are very low in Cambodia. Room was fine, as was the food. Staff were helpful at all times. The swimming pool is great for children.

Room Tip: No suites were available so we took the normal rooms. The rooms are built in a circle around the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPW370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Le Meridien Angkor and thank you very much for share your experience to Trip Advisor’s reader.

We are pleased to learn that you have inspiring stay with us. I will share your kind comment to all our colleagues.

I’m sure we will have the pleasure to meet you again soon.
With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at Le Meridian Angkor in May 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We stayed as Starwood Preferred Guests and experienced impeccable service with an amazing suite and amenities. This included complimentary wifi, breakfast, and happy hour drinks at the bar. This hotel is perfectly located for visits to the Angkor Temples and short tuk tuk ride to the city centre. The style of the hotel is beautifully designed. Breakfast was plentiful and full of selection. The tuk tuk drivers were great (very polite and friendly) and the concierge makes sure all your needs are taken care of. Small touches in the room were nice too, like aroma lamps, fruit on arrival, robes and slippers etc. The pool is also really nice and a perfect oasis after a long day in the sun. I would definitely recommend this hotel to any guests and hope to visit again one day!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Le Meridien Angkor. Thank you on your encouraging and supportive review!

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your compliments on our breakfast. I will share your feedback to our associates especially our helpful concierge.
Thank you again for recommend my resort to Trip Advisor’s reader.

Should you decide to visit us again, do check out our exciting promotions at lemeridienangkor.com or Le Meridien Angkor official Facebook page.
With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here in December 2013. The service was warm and impeccable - starting from a warm greeting and orientation from the general manager as we checked in to efficient housekeeping and amazing service at the breakfast buffet and the bar/ restaurants. Tip: Try the crepes - they are truly glorious. As Starwood platinum members, we've stayed in several properties. This one is a gem. Our kids still rate this as their favorite hotel in the world.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suj18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Le Meridien Angkor. Thank you on your encouraging and supportive review!

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your compliments on our breakfast buffet and our Naga bar. I will share your feedback to our associates.

Should you decide to visit us again, do check out our exciting promotions at lemeridienangkor.com or Le Meridien Angkor official Facebook page.
With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Managed an event for a client in Siem Reap and we used Le Meridian Angkor under the Starwood Group. The whole week that we were there, the staff at the hotel did their best to meet with our demands and expectations to ensure that the guests from the group got the best experience they could have.

The rooms were all very big, with lots of room to relax. The teak colored wooden floor made the rooms look traditional yet classy and homey at the same time. The front desk, concierge are always with a smiling face to make your day and accede with any requests.

The sales team, Dennis Kam & Arif Abdullah were of great help and when push came to shove pulled rabbits out of the hat and made things happen! They were always around to make sure that all requests were attended to. No requests was too big nor too small for them. They certainly helped to ease the transition of working in Siem Reap.

Service staff at the Royal Angkor Cafe make that little extra effort to remember your daily routine and without being asked, your coffee is already there for you. 2 of their staff, Svmay & Soem Bora were always there to chat with you and help ensure that the various events held was done with class and style.

The food at the Le Meridien is top notch! The chef, Nicolas Rouleau makes the most wonderful melt in your mouth breads & desserts. His cuisine is gourmand excellent for a place like Siem Reap.

The other good thing about Le Meridien is it's proximity to Pub Street, Night Market, Temples and a whole lot of other dining establishments.

Should anyone host an event in Siem Reap, will not hesitate to recommend Le Meridien as the hotel of choice for their events.

Kudos to the whole team at Le Meridien!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Le Meridien Angkor and thank you very much for your incredible review.

I am very happy to hear that the event was a success. I am also very proud to be part of a team who is committed to do their best and be the best. I can’t wait to share your kind words with my team.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends and family in the future.

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel cater to my needs for a short getaway. I stayed over at this property for 2 nights and was really amazed by the services rendered. Staff has always been helpful and friendly. Rooms were big, cozy and situated right at the middle between angkor wat and the main town (pub street). It took us like 10 minutes to angkor wat and 5 minutes to Pub street with tuk tuk. There are tuk tuk ready to pickup guess right outside hotel, there won't be a problem flagging for one. There were variety of food at the buffet breakfast and excellent snack/ wine at the lounge. I will definitely stay over at this property again if i am back to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your excellent review and for your loyalty.

We are delighted to hear that our rooms and our staff gave you entire satisfaction. I will share your kind comment to all our colleagues.

Thank you for choosing Le Meridien Angkor and if you decide to have some more stay experience, please feel free to contact us for any assistance you might require.
With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Im writing this review on our last day of an 8 day stay, and I must say I have never been sadder to leave a hotel in my life. Ive travelled a lot however have never found a hotel that equals the high standards found here and that includes the Waldorf in Paris. The staff at Le Meridian are extremely helpful with any enquiry small or large, they are all very pleasant and the service has been exceptional. I would like to make special mention of the day spa, my friend and I enjoyed the Inspiring Pack and it lived up to its name. Very good value and my therapist Mrs Tho thany works miracles on a sore back and shoulders. My sincere thanks. If you have been to Cambodia before you will know that some things just get lost intranslation and that happens here as well although overall most staff have very good English skills, this is Cambodia, learn to shrug it off move on and enjoy the beauty around you. I will be back again for a 3 rd visit, next time family in tow as I wish to share this with those I love. And yes its the le Meridian we will be invading. Thankyou for a wonderful week and a bit of pure bliss!

Room Tip: The deluxe was roomy enough for 2 friends and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hethcoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Le Meridien Angkor!!

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our resort.

It is great and heart-warming to read your experience during your stay with us and we are so pleased we were able to make your holiday a memorable one.

I’m sure we will have the pleasure to meet you again soon.
With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.4 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
1.3 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#40 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#44 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#73 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
0.9 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Angkor

Property: Le Meridien Angkor
Address: Vithei Charles de Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#32 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#45 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#49 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#50 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being the closest 5 star luxury international hotel to Angkor Wat itself, Le Meridien is the perfect choice for travelers afar, who want to be close to the very reason for visiting. And the rustically colourful township of Siem Reap with its charming French colonial buildings and 400 years old teak trees is just 5 minutes from the hotel where local markets, art galleries and cafes abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Meridien Siem Reap
Le Meridien Siem Reap
Siem Reap Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing