We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel should not be a le Meridien ”
Review of Le Meridien Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Angkor
Ranked #60 of 340 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Level Contributor
483 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“This hotel should not be a le Meridien ”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We just left this hotel and the first thing I want to say is that every employee was warm and welcoming, as was every Cambodian we met. Also the buffet breakfast was a great value with many options. But......

This hotel is older, needs renovation, the ac did not work well in our room and smells musty. This is a 3 star hotel not a 5 star resort as the ratings suggest. I am a spg platinum and see many Starwood properties and this should be a Sheraton and not a Meridien. I would stay downtown next time. The hotel is very, very quiet after 7pm. Pub street downtown is very lively and a great attraction. But if you want an average hotel with good spa services away from the downtown this is a good choice.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jleibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Le Meridien Angkor!!

We truly apologize for the inconvenience you had with the A/C and sorry for your sleepless nights. We will look in to this matter ASAP.

Currently during the low season, our hotel is going through a soft refurbishment where we close certain accommodation floors accordingly. We are painting the hotel exterior to give a fresh look and also varnishing internal the floors. The project is carried out on stages and it should be completed before next high season starts.

We hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with a better stay.

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,739
    735
    137
    35
    23
See reviews for
581
1,004
208
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

face it its very hot doing the temples, so you need somewhere to rest this hotel delivers, its relaxing, the pool is good and we found the service to be up to SPG standard. we also enjoyed the onsite restaurant and the tours organised took all the stress out of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing a positive review about our hotel.
We will share your kind message to our associates.

We wish you all the best and look forward to see you again.

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I've spent 4 days in this lovely property. Hotel staff is friendly and attentive. The location of the hotel is also very ideal, just 15 mins to airport and Angkor Wat and less than 5 mins to Pub Street. The Korean staff who checked us in was very friendly. Staffs at the tour desk and concierge were also very helpful to help us arrange tours and transportations.The Deluxe room which iI have stayed in s pretty spacious! I love the view which is facing the swimming pool and the large garden. I'll definitely go back again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callmemisslum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your extremely positive review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that our rooms and our staff gave you entire satisfaction, especially our helpful concierge. I will share your feedback to all our colleagues.

Please let us know when you start planning your return so that we can be of assistance.
With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Hotel is run down with most of the furniture damaged and generally poorly maintained. Lots of dirt and dust everywhere. Looks like an office building with no character. Showers in the pool and spa area had so much mould in did not want to go in. Staff looked miserable. A lot better options for Siem Reap. Having stayed at Le Meridiens' in Montreal and New York was very disappointed at this one. Food on the menus looked good but what you got was different.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilotcoupleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve.

We are looking in to the mater and investigating the details that you have mentioned in your Trip Advisor. Rest assured we will address the matter to ensure the quality stay experience for our guests.

My team work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This is the third time I have stayed at this hotel. The first two was by myself on a charity run and this time with my family including 2 children.

The location of this hotel could not be better. Not in the middle of town where the drinking nightlife exists, but close enough to that and the Angkor Wat temple.

The hotel is a little aged, but the staff could not be better and really make up the difference. Maybe that is true across all hotels in Siem Reap, but who cares!

The pool is great for the kids, especially after a good morning of sightseeing, it really helps everyone cool down.

I'd recommend breaking the temple trips into two mornings instead of a full day if you have children in tow. The hotel tour desk can help you book and arrange a guide and van. Cost is a little expensive at around 130 used for the day or 110 for the half day. We paid the full day price and just got the guide to go slow through a half day tour.

This is a SPG rank 2 hotel which is a bargain if you can use points to get the room for free. Not sure why it is the case with Angkor Wat just next door, but I guess more people go for the beaches of Thailand or Vietnam instead of here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Le Meridien Angkor and thank you for your time writing a positive review in Trip Advisor.

My team and I are delighted to hear that you will recommend to your friends. We look forward the pleasure of greeting you again.

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is all you would expect, clean,spacious nice bars and restaurants. We spent 5 nights and enjoyed being close to pub street and the temples. I became ill during our stay and needed first the doctor which they arranged and then a trip to hospital . Staff arranged all travel for our party to and from the hospital , and five staff arrived at the hospital to visit me and deliver a fruit basket, far above and beyond what I would expect anywhere . So while our trip was certainly not what we bargained for the hotel more than met our expectations.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Berna68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the entire team at Le Meridien Angkor, we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We trust you are feeling much better. It is wonderful to know that our guests truly enjoy and happy with the services that we provide.

Thank you again for choosing Le Meridien Angkor as your holiday destination and hope to see you very soon.

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
311 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We loved every minute at Le Medidien. From the moment we arrived (early) to the moment we left we were treated like royalty. Our mornings in Siem Reqp were spent visiting the local sites and we were so excited to return back everyday. We enjoyed many great valued spa treatments and found the restaurant to be everything we could hope for. Kudos!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeAgain8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Le Meridien Angkor!!

We appreciate your time reviewing in Tripadvisor.
I will share your kind words to our Spa team.

We hope you will be able to come back and stay with us on another occasion and we look forward to greeting you again!

With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.4 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
1.3 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#39 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#44 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#73 of 340 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Angkor

Property: Le Meridien Angkor
Address: Vithei Charles de Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#32 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#45 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#48 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#50 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being the closest 5 star luxury international hotel to Angkor Wat itself, Le Meridien is the perfect choice for travelers afar, who want to be close to the very reason for visiting. And the rustically colourful township of Siem Reap with its charming French colonial buildings and 400 years old teak trees is just 5 minutes from the hotel where local markets, art galleries and cafes abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Meridien Siem Reap
Le Meridien Siem Reap
Siem Reap Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing