We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dated - but great staff made up for it”
Review of Le Meridien Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Angkor
Ranked #61 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A little dated - but great staff made up for it”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile


Overall the hotel was fine - I was staying on spg points which were very very low - reflecting the season and no doubt the age of the hotel. considering this I would say it was excellent value.

the rooms were a little dated and musty - but comfortable and wifi was excellent and available everywhere. the pool looked ok - but we didn't use it.

the food was well above average for hotel food. in particular the kids meals were excellent - the chicken nuggets were actually breaded fillets and the burger was a very tender steak in a bun!

Staff were generally fantastic - but my only real gripe was that they had wanted to charge me an extra $40 per night for a cot for one of the kids. given that there were rooms available for $60 that seemed a little steep!

overall very pleasant and nice to be just a little outside of the hustle bustle of the town.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumpy54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Have an excellent day.

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,941
    753
    138
    35
    23
See reviews for
629
1,053
237
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights on our 3 month trip around Asia .we had a lovely stay in Siem Reap the hotel was very comfortable. All the staff were extremely helpful. The restaurant and the restaurant staff were incredible as they produced some fantastic vegetarian meals for us.The hotel facilities especially the pool area were very good and all in all we had a super stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelightfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your lovely comments on Trip Advisor. We are really happy to hear that you could enjoy your stay at Le Meridien Angkor and that the staff of the hotel could make your stay memorable.

We are now looking forward to welcoming you again to the Kingdom of Wonders.
Have an excellent day.

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed 4 nights in Le Meridien Angkor recently and am quite surprised of the tremendous good service that I was given. The staff is always helpful and friendly and it always comes with a smile.

The hotel facilities are wonderful especially the swimming pool and room service. It's serene and peaceful but yet it's just a 10 minutes ride to the night/day market and to the famous Angkor Wat temples.

One thing to take note is the staff is very detail. Kudos to them. I had a light bulb which is not functioning in the shower area and I didn't report it since it's just only one of the many light bulb and having one down, the shower area is still brightly light. To me surprised the staff noticed it and changed it without asking. Plenty of mineral waters given in the room

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KokCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Le Meridien Angkor and thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that our rooms and our staff gave you entire satisfaction. It is a pleasure to know that you had an extraordinary experience with us and thank you very much for appreciating the special touches we provide to our guests.
We thank you in advance for recommending our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends and family in the future.
Have an excellent day.

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I wish to thank you all, especially Dennis Kam and Meng Hong, for contributing to the success of our Meeting. I have heard nothing but glowing responses from those who attended it. There would never have been such a positive response were it not for your generous support in coordinating the logistic, accommodating to our requests and other features that went into making this a truly memorable event.
From beginning to end, everything was so carefully planned and organized. Your team was absolutely professional and friendly. We could not have planned for and implemented the meeting without your services. I must say, nothing was overlooked and every detail was addressed in advance and planned for. And during the meeting your team was on site taking care of all aspects of the meeting both visible and behind the scenes. Your understanding to our needs is something I need to raise. When one of our employee need to cancel his room reservation to return home for urgent matter, without further ado, you cancelled and exempted this case for penalty.
It was your outstanding support and service that make this event easy to manage and coordinate.
Thanks for all your efforts!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Le Meridien Angkor and thank you on your encouraging and supportive review!

It is great and heart-warming to read of your experience during your stay with us and we are so pleased we were able to make your meeting a memorable success. I will share your kind comment to Mr.Dennis Kam and Meng Hong.

Wishing you all best from Siem Reap and looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Have an excellent day.

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is my first time staying at the Le Meridien Angkor. The hotel property is quite big. It is just a short ride from the airport and the hotel offers free one way pick up. On the return trip to the airport is $7 per person. The lobby looks good, check in was ok just a bit confuse about our advance payment. The room we got was a corner room with separate bedroom.

Breakfast at the hotel is below average. People who work there seem to be a bit unorganized but they try their best I believe. As a platinum member we also get afternoon refreshment at the lobby which was nice. We did try the afternoon tea set for $12 and it was good. In the evening we also tried the bar and it was a nice change.

Overall the hotel is good and we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you on your great review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear you have inspiring stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that your check in was a bit confuse.

We hope we will have the pleasure of greeting you again.
With all our sincere wishes.

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I was a little worried after reading the more recent reviews about the hotel. My parents had stayed at this hotel 4 years prior and highly recommended it. The location is great to get to the temples and only a 10 minute Tuk Tuk ride into town. Staying in town might have been too noisy at night so I was happy to be closer to the monuments.

The bed was super comfy and the room itself was nice my only complaint was my toilet seat was very old and needs to be replaced. The pool looked lovely but as it was rainy season I didn't use it. The staff always friendly and remembered how I took my coffee in the morning and knew who I was at the front desk I only stayed 3 days. Well trained staff always makes up for a couple of cracks here and there.

Room Tip: There are only 3 floors so the floors are large get a room close to stairs or elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrinax99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Le Meridien Angkor and thank you for writing a review. We are very happy to hear you had an inspiring stay with us.

We have taken note about your feedback about our toilet seat. We will look in to this matter.

We hope we will have the pleasure of greeting you again.
With all our sincere wishes.

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

What an impressive hotel. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed with a cool drink and welcoming smiles from everyone. The hotel itself has a serene ambience, is spacious and very tastefully decorated with all the services you could ask for. All the staff were helpful, friendly and took obvious pride in their work. There is a great pool, gym, spa services, a bar, cafe and restaurant. The grounds were immaculate. Our room was spacious in traditional Cambodian decor. the king sized bed was huge and very comfortable and the room was well serviced. Complimentary afternoon tea was delivered daily to our rooms. Check in and check out were quick. Free transfer from the airport on arrival is available. Breakfast was excellent with a variety of western and Asian options. We ate at the hotel restaurant 3 times. The staff were very well trained, friendly and the food and service were outstanding. Overall a very delicious fine dining experience. I joined the free SPG rewards club associated with the hotel chain which gave us free wi fi and 15% discount t the restaurant. We had a faultless 5 days. Congratulations and thank you to all staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your writing a kind review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that our rooms and our staff gave a warm and hospitable service. I am happy to discover that you have enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to your next visit soon.
Have an excellent day.

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 353 in Siem Reap
1,281 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#41 of 353 in Siem Reap
5,007 reviews
0.9 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.9 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#37 of 353 in Siem Reap
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Angkor

Property: Le Meridien Angkor
Address: Vithei Charles de Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#32 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#45 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#50 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being the closest 5 star luxury international hotel to Angkor Wat itself, Le Meridien is the perfect choice for travelers afar, who want to be close to the very reason for visiting. And the rustically colourful township of Siem Reap with its charming French colonial buildings and 400 years old teak trees is just 5 minutes from the hotel where local markets, art galleries and cafes abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, HotelQuickly, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, Starwood APAC, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Meridien Siem Reap
Le Meridien Siem Reap
Siem Reap Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing