We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Le Meridien Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Angkor
Ranked #61 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Came to Siem Reap to explore the Angkor National Park! So much more to it than Bayon and Angkor Wat ( which are exceptionally beautiful and magical). The hotel is beautiful and captures the essence and mystic of Angkor! Beautiful main lobby and the rooms are really comfortable! Great attitude from all the staff! Big thanks to Mr. Pisak Lao for the pre arrival arrangements, for picking us up at the airport and for making sure that everything ran smoothly during our stay! Would live to go back to Siem Reap and will definitely stay at Le Meridien again!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bruno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay and your honest feedback.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We will share your feedback to our associates particularly to Mr. Pisak.

Please let us know if you decide to come back to Siem Reap Angkor again, we would be delighted to be able to assist you in any way.
With all our sincere wishes.

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,758 - 1,764 of 3,098 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

One of the primary reasons why we stayed at the Le Meridien was due to its proximity to Angkor Wat (just 10 mins) and we had booked a sunrise tour at Angkor wat the next day. We were able to wake up at 515am to meet the guide and caught the sunrise in time! Do check out my review on this tour guide Sam from Angkor Guide Sam Day tours.

The exterior of the hotel was quite old and run-down, but the service of the staff made up for everything. They were very polite, warm and hospitable. We booked a corner suite (3008) which was near to the lift and very quiet. The room was also very big and clean with a separate living area with a dining room and TV area. The corner suite came with complimentary drinks everyday from 530-730pm at the Naga Bar, great way to start the evening! The drinks came with complimentary snacks as well!

We used the spa which was very good - do look out for the weekly promotions (US$59 for a 2 hr massage, including a facial and hair treatment). The prices are slightly more expensive than the ones in town. Along Pub Street, we also tried another spa Bodia Spa (about US$24 for a 1hr foot massage) - definitely more expensive than the ubiquitous $8/hr massages places along pub street.

Breakfast at the hotel is ok, the choices are quite limited especially for vegetarians. However they have an egg and a noodle broth station. The concierge team at the hotel is most wonderful, my compliments to Chanthy Kong who made dining arrangements for us in town, and even found me a yoga class at peace Cafe as the hotel does not provide any yoga/Pilates classes or sorts. They certainly are most resourceful.

Travel from hotel to pub street is about 10 mins, you can request for a tuk tuk from the concierge, it costs about $3-$5 for a return trip. I'd highly recommend Tuk tuk no 34 ( but you must request from the concierge)- I didn't get his name, but he drives very safely, be soft spoken and not pushy to try to hard sell us to book his tuk tuk for the whole day.

Overall it was a comfortable and most pleasant experience at the hotel.

Room Tip: Pick rooms close to lifts otherwise it may be a long walk. Corner suite 3008 is excellent, close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MuffinEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your extremely positive review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you had entire satisfaction.

Currently, during the low season, our hotel is going through a soft refurbishment where we close certain accommodation floors for painting the hotel exterior and varnishing the floors to give a fresh look. The project is carried out on stages and it should be completed before high season starts.

Should you decide to visit us again, do check out our exciting promotions at lemeridienangkor.com or Le Meridien Angkor official Facebook page.
With all our sincere wishes.

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Le Meridien Angkor has a lot more pros than cons. From a personal and corporate point of view, the hotel has everything to make a pleasant stay for a 3 or 4 days at Siem Reap.
it has a nice and refreshing lobby, reception area with view of the Elephant terrace. The rooms are spacious and comfy and even though they are not the most elegant they are very functional with no surprises on every corner, enough plugs, big closet, nice bathroom, super comfy beds and plenty of space to spend some time in the room sitting in the chaise lounge. The food, from room service to the Italian restaurant has lots of delicious flavours and surprising variety. The staff is attentive and remembered my name. One of my favorite spots is the Palm Garden and Naga bar. The hotel is the closest to the temples and away from the city center, but close enough. A good choice overall.

Room Tip: Palm Garden or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank skicalifas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Le Meridien Angkor and thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that our rooms and our staff gave you entire satisfaction. We are also happy that you appreciate the food offers in our Angelo Italian restaurant. I will share your kind review to all our associates.

We hope you will be able to come back and stay with us on another occasion and we look forwards to greeting you again!

With all our very best wishes,
Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

As a platinum member for 14 years in a row ..... all vacation stays. My wife, and two children consider this the best hotel at the best price we have ever experienced. As a category 2 hotel, we used 3000 starwood points a night for friday and saturday .... wow!!!
first of all: VISA tip: do not get a visa in USA .... rip off. many visa companies want to charge $100+ for their service. We flew into airport, waited 15 minutes to process visa. Total cost: $26.00 us dollars
Back to Le Meridien Angkor: As a platinum member, we were given a free shuttle from airport to hotel. Upon arrival, was given cool iced tea / drinks for the three of us (wife, son and I) and escorted us to a lovely suite. Clean, comfortable, and air conditioner was great
The breakfast had pho, omelette bar, and assortment of fruits, breads, and hot foods. All included as a platinum member. In addition, there are unlimited afternoon drinks served in the lobby. All complimentary. And in the evenings, if you are not courageous to go into Siem reap and eat at their restaurants and risk getting sick (as we were), there is a wonderful lounge bar with free cocktails and appetizers. Amazing. The chicken skewers, beef skewers and dumplings were excellent.
The location is a five minute taxi ride or ride on the yuk yuk motorcycles. Way easy. And most importantly of course was angkor war was only a 15 minute ride away.
Huge thumbs up!!! No starwood hotel in usa, canada, europe can compete with the value that comes with redeeming starwood points. Now you just have to pay for your airline / time of getting to this hidden gem.

Room Tip: High floor suite ..... call ahead: tip: penny talk from usa costs about .06 a minute
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. We appreciate that you have taken your time to share your impressions with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Should you decide to visit us again, do check out our exciting promotions at lemeridienangkor.com or Le Meridien Angkor official Facebook page.
With all our very best wishes,

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located 15mins from the airport and 10 mins ($2 tuk tuk ride) from town. It's a big property with lots of open space and public areas. Ask for a room close to the elevators if you don't want a long walk or if stairs are not convenient.

Rooms are spacious and nicely laid out - though looking a bit dated now. Lighting in the rooms are a bit too low for reading but not too bad. We had a problem with the shower on the first day but this was quickly fixed. There is a soft renovation going on through the hotel but not really intrusive.

The pool area is very nice and during visit, seldom used others. We had the pool to ourselves much of the time. The gym is small but adequate with all sorts of machines and weights available. Sauna and steam rooms are very small.

Buffet breakfast is good with a nice range of western and Khmer food. Would have liked to see more varieties or change but this is a minor quibble. We had dinner at the coffee shop one evening and the food was nicely prepared and very fresh.

Service is generally warm and genuine, but a bit hit and miss. The front desk could not find our reservation when we checked in and it took a while to sort out. Luckily, we had the hotel voucher/ confirmation printed out. As we had booked a deluxe room, there should be a drinks package included at the lobby bar but they had to check and reconfirm. On departure, we went to book our transfer to the airport with the concierge but was told it's not included and would cost US$14. However, this was without even checking our package, which had a return transfer included - again, luckily we had the printout to show them. Finally, we asked for a large plastic shopping bag to put some things in and they were not able to find one in the whole hotel which was a bit surprising.

Overall, a good solid hotel. Probably more for families and a big group traveling together rather than a romantic getaway.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pilatesboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Le Meridien Angkor!!

Much appreciated on your time spent for reviewing our hotel.

Currently, during the low season, our hotel is going through a soft refurbishment where we close certain accommodation floors for painting the hotel exterior and varnishing the floors to give a fresh look. The project is carried out on stages and it should be completed before high season starts.

We apologies for the inconvenience caused during you stay and have highlighted to the team for better service in future.

We hope you will give us a second chance to convince you with a better stay.
Have an excellent day ahead.

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed in same hotel in Feb and then was with a group event. This time, we came for leisure. It was great to revisit with more time to sip in the beauty of this holy country. As usual, the hotel always present with a clean and sunny ambiance though July is a rainy seaon in Cambodia. All the staff greets with a happy confident face. We felt that they are truly happy working in the hotel.
This is definitely a positive energy to us all. Front desk is always ready with many good suggestions to go for massages, food, shopping etc...Dining at The Angkor Royal Café under Chef Nicholas always delighted us. The menu is well covered with many Khmer delights and you can even order in the same restaurant for the L'Angelo Italian Restaurant cusine, so very convenient! The attendants in the restaurant is very attentive and take the extra mile to remember our preferences which is highly commendable.

Overall, the experience in Le Meridien Angkor is wonderful and if there is anything to fuss about will be that it is a big hotel and getting to the lift may take more steps!! This trip, we had focus on the temples and will come back again for rest of the attractions. Definitely, this 5-Star Service oriented hotel will be my only choice!!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LingGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Sincere greetings from Le Meridien Angkor team and thank you on a great review.

I am delighted to hear that you have inspiring stay with us and with our friendly staff. I will share your feedback to Chef Nicholas that you love the food in Angkor Royal Café so much especially L’Agelo Italian Restaurant.

Please let us know if you decide to come back to Siem Reap Angkor again, we would be delighted to be able to assist you in any way.

Have an excellent day.

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile


Overall the hotel was fine - I was staying on spg points which were very very low - reflecting the season and no doubt the age of the hotel. considering this I would say it was excellent value.

the rooms were a little dated and musty - but comfortable and wifi was excellent and available everywhere. the pool looked ok - but we didn't use it.

the food was well above average for hotel food. in particular the kids meals were excellent - the chicken nuggets were actually breaded fillets and the burger was a very tender steak in a bun!

Staff were generally fantastic - but my only real gripe was that they had wanted to charge me an extra $40 per night for a cot for one of the kids. given that there were rooms available for $60 that seemed a little steep!

overall very pleasant and nice to be just a little outside of the hustle bustle of the town.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Grumpy54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masahiro_Taguchi_LMA, General Manager at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Have an excellent day.

Masahiro Taguchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#47 of 365 in Siem Reap
1,396 reviews
0.9 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Anantara Angkor Resort
Anantara Angkor Resort
#25 of 365 in Siem Reap
760 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
0.9 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#76 of 365 in Siem Reap
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Angkor

Address: Vithei Charles de Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#31 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#44 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#51 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#56 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £76 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Angkor tempts guests to discover the preserved sites of ancient Cambodia. Designed with the contemporary traveler in mind, the hotel is comfortably modern with touches of Khmer motif. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splitty, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Meridien Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Meridien Siem Reap
Le Meridien Siem Reap
Siem Reap Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing