We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a fantastic stay at the Le Meridian for 5 days and would absolutely recommend this hotel to others.”
Review of Le Meridien Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Angkor
Ranked #60 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“We had a fantastic stay at the Le Meridian for 5 days and would absolutely recommend this hotel to others.”
Reviewed 25 December 2009

We had a fantastic stay at the Le Meridian for 5 days and would absolutely recommend this hotel to others.
LOCATION:
It is the closest hotel to the Angkor Wat sites- so it is very conveniently located for site seeing. We would often visit the sites early in the morning whilst it was cool, return to the hotel for lunch and a nap, then go back to the sites in the late afternoon when it was cooler. Whilst the hotel is not situated in the midst of the city center, it is a short 5 minute tuk tuk ride away (which costs about $2USD one way).
FOOD:
Excellent. We ate the majority of our meals at the hotel which is inexpensive for a hotel of this class. The average price for a set dinner menu (3 courses) was $15USD per person. I would also recommend getting a hotel package that includes breakfast which was very varied as they catered to the Chinese, Japanese and Western folks. Eating at restaurants in the city center is obviously much cheaper (approx $8USD per person) than eating at the hotel. I would recommend Madame Butterfly’s which was a delightful French Cambodian restaurant. Be sure to mix it up.
HOTEL SERVICES AND ROOM
We opted for the deluxe room which was pretty nice – lovely hardwood floors, great shower and tub, extremely comfy king sized bed and more than sufficient English speaking television channels. Although the gym at the hotel is small it served its purpose (free weights, a universal weight machine and treadmills). The spa looked pretty nice but a bit pricey considering that you could get spa services at a cheaper rate in the city center. The pool was beautifully designed and there were comfortable Arabian style beds around the pool to lounge on – great for kicking back and chilling. The staff of this hotel was incredibly friendly, humble and genuine. In many hotels I often feel like the staff is forced to be friendly but at this hotel the friendless of the staff was quite genuine. The personnel at the front desk were always helpful and gave us great restaurant, spa and sightseeing recommendations, often making the reservations in advance for us.
GENERAL TIPS:
Everywhere in Siam Reap accepts US dollars which is quite convenient. Apart from the usual temple visits we would highly recommend doing an ATV tour of the country side which gives you a different perspective of life in Siam Reap. This said tour also comes highly recommended on the trip advisor list of things to do in Siam Reap (it is called Quad Adventure Cambodia).
We visited Siam Reap during the high season (December) and paid in total $170USD for 3 days for a private guide who was at our full disposal and an air conditioned car (including airport transfers). The weather in December is great (not too hot) and for the supposed peak season we really did not think that the temple sites were overly crowded.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exploringtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresOrta, management team at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 26 December 2009
Thank you for sharing your journey and photos with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,834
    743
    137
    35
    23
See reviews for
607
1,026
219
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SUNSHINE COAST AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
237 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

We could not fault the Meridien at Angkor during our 3 day stay. I only wish we stayed longer. We were met on arrival by the GM who sat down with us and explained what to do in the area. He gave us some recommended restaurants in town. BUT we ate all but one meal at the hotel - the restaurant here is fantastic, and the staff are just so friendly and nice - genuine happy people. Every meal we had at the hotel was great. The hotel is very tastefully decorated and we had a lovely corner suite. It was our wedding anniversary during our stay and that night we had a lovely cake delivered to our room - a really nice touch. We had 3 full on days sight seeing I only wish we had an extra day or 2 just to laze around the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rojaan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresOrta, management team at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this review, 26 December 2009
Happy Anniversary! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our restaurants and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2009

close to the sights, impeccable service, great staff, good value for money. has won leading hotel of Cambodja reward for 3 years in a row now. I know why

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoostSitskoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

The LM in Siem Reap is less modern and luxurious than the LM properties in Bangkok, Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai. The rooms are not as well designed, and feature dated furnishings. The pool has an interesting layout and kids should like it but the exercise room is cramped with a poor selection of machines. Inside the hotel, there is an Italian restaurant, L'Angelo with a sale on their set menu when we were there - USD25 per person for three courses AND wine. The drinks and snacks lounge has grand piano which you can play and a 2 for 1 happy hour between 4-7 PM. Large beers are around $5. Internet is not free, but unlike the other Meridiens, this hotel has an interesting policy. You can buy different quantities of time: 1 hour, 6 hours, 24 hours, 48 hours etc… and the time is counted only when you are online. So if you are there for a few days, buy 24 hours and use 8 hours a day over the three days. You can't use your laptop or iPhone simultaneously, but you can use them both a different times. I think it cost me around $20 to have internet for four days. Angkor Wat is interesting, worth seeing once in your lifetime, but it is not necessary to stay more than three days unless you're an absolute temple fanatic or like hanging out in steam baths with your clothes on.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Stayed in this property for 5 days for our honeymoon. The service was great, room is spacious...associates are very humble, pleasant and helpful.We really enjoyed the resort. Thanks for the sweet rose petals arrangement as well as the cake for our honeymoon. Still one thing to take note of is the housekeeping associate did not knock on the door before opening our room door. Overall, the stay was fantastic... Thank you so much.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlewormmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights during our recent trip to Siem Reap and enjoyed every moment of our stay. Its not as big as it appears in the pictures. For a chain hotel it somehow still managed to have a boutique feel to it.

We stayed in 2 deluxe rooms and got a reasonable rate for it-it was cheaper than other 3/4 star hotels. We arranged for our airport pickup from the hotel and upon arrival we were wowed by the greeting and welcomed with cold towels as soon as we got in and a refreshing bottle of cold water.

Upon arrival we had the most pleasant check in of any hotel. Despite being early we had both our rooms (I had only requested to please give me only 1 room since we were so early) by 9am. We were made to sit down in the lounge given cold towels, cold drink while the checkin formalities were done by Rie who was most helpful and pleasant.

No water problem-excellent water pressure-pool was simply delightful. We also had complimentary soft drinks from 10am to 4pm every day so this was welcome relief from a morning of templing.

The car and guide arranged through the hotel was marginally more expensive but both the vehicle and the guide were good folks and were not pushy about offering additional services. Kong from the concierge was super helpful in finding us the most economical options and cold water bottles followed us in the cars in nice cooler boxes! The local restaurants they took us to for lunch were very good and we had no problem getting vegetarian food and in fact on the last day we asked to be taken back to one of the restaurants-the food was soo good!.

The tuk tuks for our trips to town was also easily negotiated.

We had turn down service each night-fresh fruits were delivered every afternoon and a snack for the kids ranging from buns to cookies-plus marshmallows on our pillow-exquisite little touches to make your stay just that bit more comfortable.

Breakfast was a good selection.

Overall an excellent stay with excellent service in an amazing place!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We stayed at the Le Meridien for four nights. The rooms were beautiful as was the property. Yes, there are some problems with the water running hot and then cold but, frankly, I forgot about that until I read some of the reviews on this forum. The breakfast buffet is wonderful as is the swimming pool. We also used the hotel spa for a massage. Great and reasonably priced. "Tuk"tuks are readily available if you want to go into the center of town. They are safe and they cost $2 - $3 one way depending on where you want to go. Lots of restaurants and cheap shopping down town. If you want to walk to the center of town it's about a 15 walk which you can easily do during the day. Based on the quality of the breakfast buffet, I believe that the Hotel Restaurant for other meals would be good and does not seem overpriced for a hotel restaurant. We ate in town.

We got a private driver and guide for a day and a half to tour Angkor. You can get a "tuk tuk" and do it for slightly less but it is not the same as having a car and a very knowlegeable english (or other language) speaking guide. The concierge at the hotel arranged the whole thing. It cost $105 for the day and a half plus the cost of the park entrance ($20 per person for one day or $40 for 2 - 3 days). At that price it does not pay to arrange the tour outside of the hotel, as our taxi driver from the airport tried to do. By going through the hotel you will be relatively sure of what you are getting. Yes, on the full day portion we went to a local restaurant where all the guides take their clients. It was inexpensive, clean, and it saved alot of time from having to go into town or the Hotel for lunch. The guides got their lunch for free but so what? Nobody tried to scam us.

Cambodia is an extremely poor Country. The descriptions by the guide of Angkor were, ofcourse, interesting, but the most interesting thing for us was talking to the people about their lives and the history of Cambodia since 1975. There is a "Killing Field" area near the Hotel. Ask the guide to take you there for a few minutes after your Angkor Tour.

Getting from the airport to the hotel is straightforward and inexpensive. There is a taxi voucher stand and you pay a set fee depending on where you are going. The Hotel can arrange transport back to the airport. Again, not expensive. By the way, visa on arrival at the airport worked just fine. I don't think that we would have saved that much more time by prearranging visas, either online or through the Cambodian Embassy. I would definately recommend the Le Meridien Angkor.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryA320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#46 of 342 in Siem Reap
1,255 reviews
1.3 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#39 of 342 in Siem Reap
4,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
0.9 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.9 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#73 of 342 in Siem Reap
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Angkor

Property: Le Meridien Angkor
Address: Vithei Charles de Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#32 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#45 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#48 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#51 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being the closest 5 star luxury international hotel to Angkor Wat itself, Le Meridien is the perfect choice for travelers afar, who want to be close to the very reason for visiting. And the rustically colourful township of Siem Reap with its charming French colonial buildings and 400 years old teak trees is just 5 minutes from the hotel where local markets, art galleries and cafes abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Meridien Siem Reap
Le Meridien Siem Reap
Siem Reap Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing