We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Literally the best place to stay in Siem Reap!”
Review of Le Meridien Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Angkor
Ranked #61 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 20 January 2010

If you can afford it, go for Le Meridien Angkor. After a hot, wakabout at the Angkor temples and around the city, the best place to come back to and relax is Le Meridien Angkor.

The service was really impeccable. Staff were very friendly. Although we had hope the buffet breakfast would have a larger variety, we enjoyed our breakfast there! We had a sumptuous italian dinner at L'Angelo. However, if you are looking for authentic Khmer food, I would recommend the restaurants in the city itself.

The room was incredible. I think, by far, this is the best room we ever stayed in! We had service staff coming in to check if we needed to change towels or anything else & they would give us little treats.

The pool, although not for lap swimming, was a nice recreational place to hang out. You can see the gym & spa. And it's really beautiful, especially at night!

A thumbs up, definitely!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slickdrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,009)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Angkor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,276 - 2,282 of 3,009 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2010

First class hotel with top service and huge rooms. Next to the big breakfast menu, the food in the restaurant and at the pool is fantastic. My personal recommendation from the menu at the pool: Try the warm pineapple pieces in maple sirup and ice cream! WOW!

Besides the good food at the hotel and the high standard of cleaniness and comfort, the hotel is ideal for all tourists coming to Siem Reap to visit the temples of Angkor. You are there in 10 minutes max. So, you can go there for the sunrise and be back at the hotel for breakfast :)

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights during the week between Christmas and New Year. The children were always magically rejuvenated after we stepped into the cool and spacious lobby after spending the morning at the temples. We were upgraded to a deluxe room due to my SPG status, and this included complimentary drinks at the Naga Bar. Fantastic for a cold pick-me-up when we arrived back at the hotel at lunch time, hot and dusty and thirsty.
Breakfast was of a good variety and quality, and we especially liked the tiny shooters of ginger/carrot, celery/cucumber etc. Very refreshing. The child menu at the Angkor Cafe is good value, and the kids loved the items on it.
Complimentary bottled water and fresh fruit platters were provided in the room daily.
The rooms were large, bed was comfortable, and the aircon cold. However, the baby cot was the old fashioned sort, where the mattress is about 1m from the floor. I didn't dare to put my 2 year old in, as the cot sides looked low enough for her to manoeuvre over. I would say the cot is only suitable for babies who are still unable to stand (ie. <12 months old) .
The pool looked great, but we didn't swim after the first day. It was usually quite crowded in the afternoon (when it was the hottest!), and the water was a bit greasy from all the suntan lotion slathered on by everyone there. There were large expanses of lawn for the kids to burn off any excess energy, and the hotel felt like an oasis in the heat and dust of Siem Reap. While it is a 5 - 10min tuk tuk ride from the middle of town where the main drag of F&B places were, I actually liked the location being a little away from the noise and activity as we were travelling with our kids. If we didn't feel like taking the tuk tuk, there were (some) restaurants within walking distance or the hotel restaurants for dinner.
Staff were friendly and helpful, and we especially appreciate the cafe staff keeping the breakfast buffet open for another 20min for us, when we arrived only at closing time on one of the mornings due to an accident (we had gone out early for some dawn activities).
I would stay here if I visited Siem Reap again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingsquacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresOrta, Management Team at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2010

We very much appreciate the time you took to share your experience at Le Meridien Angkor. We are very proud to announce that, thanks to your comment in regards to the baby cot, the hotel now features full size cribs. They arrived a week ago and are now available to our guests, ensuring that even our youngest travelers have a restful sleep for a day of discovery ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

The 5 of us stayed 4 nights in Le Meridien. The hotel is truly 5 star in my opinion. The rooms are spacious and it looks nice and modern everywhere. Our room rates included daily breakfast. The breakfast buffet has an assortment of eastern (noodle soup) and western items, plus yummy local fruit and milk shakes. The check-in and check-out processes were smooth with no problem. The staff are always friendly and speak excellent English. We also attended an Aspara dance performance at the hotel which comes with a dinner buffet. The performance was excellent and it was one of the highlights of our trip.

We arranged a sun rise tour to see sunrise at Angkor Wat and it is $15 for a van, which we think is quite reasonable. We did not take tuk tuk from the hotel to Siem Reap, but instead, we took tuk tuk from Siem Reap back to the hotel multiple times. Every tuk tuk driver knows where Meridien is, and it costs us $3 for each trip.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Comfortable hotel to stay to explor Angkor Wat. Hotel staff was very helpful in arranging guides for our trip. Service was fast and staff was attentative. Food was good in hotel. Small gym with essential equipments. Pool was warm and with interesting design.

Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtrekkerca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresOrta, Management Team at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2010

Thank you for your review and for recommending our hotel. We appreciate you giving our staff the opportunity to assist in arranging your local tours. We truly hope that you have enjoyed your journey through Cambodia and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

I was staying at Le Meridien for a work conference, but then chose to spend an additional four days there with one of my friends after the conference because it was such a lovely place. I travel a lot for work (both internationally and domestically) so have stayed in a lot of different hotels, and I can definitely recommend this one. It is one of the friendliest places I have ever stayed, where each guest receives special, individualised attention.

Graham, the General Manager, greeted us upon arrival and gave us lots of helpful information about places to visit and maps of the local area. Throughout our entire stay, Graham would always say hi and make sure that we were happy and being looked after well (which we were!). Nothing was too much trouble for Graham and his friendly staff.

The hotel itself is a beautiful, calm oasis. The entrance hall is lovely, with high ceilings, soft music, comfortable sofas and the scent of vanilla instantly putting you in a relaxed mood. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. There is an extensive menu featuring all different types of cuisine - I highly recommend the very tasty local khmer dishes. The staff were even happy to deliver 'room service' food to the bar area for us one afternoon!

The pool area is devine. The design of the pool has been inspired by the local temples and the pool itself features lotus flowers and water lillies around the edges which are lit with tealight candles in the evening. Part of the pool is set aside as a lap pool for serious swimmers, but it was nice to just potter around the main part of the pool and enjoy one of the eight in-built spa sections. The day spa near the pool is excellent and the treatments we had were done with great care and skill.

The hotel is located close to the temples (it really goes without saying that you should explore these!) and it's just a quick ride in a $2 tuk-tuk to the main part of town. You should try the Night Markets if you get the chance. The restaurants around Pub Street are very good, offering tasty and cheap dishes. You might also like to try the unique 'fish foot massages' that are offered on the main strip - a little strange at first but very fun! If you like golf, there are several courses nearby the hotel too. We played at the Angkor Golf Resort where the course was designed by Nick Faldo, and it was excellent. Graham ensured that his team made all the arrangements for us (including transportation to and from the golf course) so it was all very easy. Graham is a really great source of local information and we enjoyed visiting/experiencing all of his recommendations, including the golf course.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. My only regret was that we didn't have more time to spend there! We had the option to stay at other places following our conference, but were so impressed with Le Meridien that we decided to extend our stay there. A very big thank you to Graham and his lovely staff for looking after us so well and for ensuring that we had a wonderful, relaxing and comfortable stay. I would love to return and stay there in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLJSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresOrta, Management Team at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2010

On behalf of Graham and the entire team at Le Meridien Angkor, we would like to thank you for staying with us. We are very appreciative of the time you took to share your experience and your tips on this site. As you mentioned in your review, there is much to do in Cambodia, and we certainly look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2009

We had a fantastic stay at the Le Meridian for 5 days and would absolutely recommend this hotel to others.
LOCATION:
It is the closest hotel to the Angkor Wat sites- so it is very conveniently located for site seeing. We would often visit the sites early in the morning whilst it was cool, return to the hotel for lunch and a nap, then go back to the sites in the late afternoon when it was cooler. Whilst the hotel is not situated in the midst of the city center, it is a short 5 minute tuk tuk ride away (which costs about $2USD one way).
FOOD:
Excellent. We ate the majority of our meals at the hotel which is inexpensive for a hotel of this class. The average price for a set dinner menu (3 courses) was $15USD per person. I would also recommend getting a hotel package that includes breakfast which was very varied as they catered to the Chinese, Japanese and Western folks. Eating at restaurants in the city center is obviously much cheaper (approx $8USD per person) than eating at the hotel. I would recommend Madame Butterfly’s which was a delightful French Cambodian restaurant. Be sure to mix it up.
HOTEL SERVICES AND ROOM
We opted for the deluxe room which was pretty nice – lovely hardwood floors, great shower and tub, extremely comfy king sized bed and more than sufficient English speaking television channels. Although the gym at the hotel is small it served its purpose (free weights, a universal weight machine and treadmills). The spa looked pretty nice but a bit pricey considering that you could get spa services at a cheaper rate in the city center. The pool was beautifully designed and there were comfortable Arabian style beds around the pool to lounge on – great for kicking back and chilling. The staff of this hotel was incredibly friendly, humble and genuine. In many hotels I often feel like the staff is forced to be friendly but at this hotel the friendless of the staff was quite genuine. The personnel at the front desk were always helpful and gave us great restaurant, spa and sightseeing recommendations, often making the reservations in advance for us.
GENERAL TIPS:
Everywhere in Siam Reap accepts US dollars which is quite convenient. Apart from the usual temple visits we would highly recommend doing an ATV tour of the country side which gives you a different perspective of life in Siam Reap. This said tour also comes highly recommended on the trip advisor list of things to do in Siam Reap (it is called Quad Adventure Cambodia).
We visited Siam Reap during the high season (December) and paid in total $170USD for 3 days for a private guide who was at our full disposal and an air conditioned car (including airport transfers). The weather in December is great (not too hot) and for the supposed peak season we really did not think that the temple sites were overly crowded.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank exploringtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresOrta, management team at Le Meridien Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2009

Thank you for sharing your journey and photos with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,344 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.4 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.9 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#41 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#77 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Angkor

Address: Vithei Charles de Gaulle, Khum Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#32 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#45 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#49 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £73 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Angkor 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being the closest 5 star luxury international hotel to Angkor Wat itself, Le Meridien is the perfect choice for travelers afar, who want to be close to the very reason for visiting. And the rustically colourful township of Siem Reap with its charming French colonial buildings and 400 years old teak trees is just 5 minutes from the hotel where local markets, art galleries and cafes abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Meridien Siem Reap
Le Meridien Siem Reap
Siem Reap Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing