We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs a thorough clean and revamp”
Review of Angkoriana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Angkoriana Hotel
Ranked #226 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We (family of four) spent two nights at the Ankoriana on Dec 29 & 30th 2013. The entrance to the hotel gives the impression that the interior is going to be a great place to stay but sadly that was the only positive thing. The staff were friendly but only one young lady on reception had enough understanding of english. We were on the top floor and the wooden staircase we had to climb each time to get to our room was very dusty. Our room was also in need of a thorough clean. It looked okay on the surface but the edges of the carpet were dusty and there were dead insects on one of the window-sills behind some grubby net/type curtains. The main shower didn't work so we used the one over the bath. The lighting was appalling so it was impossible to read anything at night. The fridge in the room didn't appear to work and was mouldy inside. The breakfast was very poor and by 9am there was very little choice left . Some tablecloths had stains on from previous meals and on the 2nd night we ate in and whilst waiting for our food to arrive we saw a large rat sitting under one of the stools by the bar. This really made us wonder about the hygiene of the hotel. We mentioned this to the english speaking girl and she just said that the hotel cat wasn't doing very well - it appeared that it was quite commonplace. We would not recommend this hotel and feel that there are probably better ones in Siem Reap within the same price bracket.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawn-Tennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angkoriana516, General Manager at Angkoriana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your feed back we value all the feed back as this helps us improve our service

the fridge in the rooms are unplugged as we dont stock them with mini bar, but the fridge is available for the guests to use if they so wish

the rat some times comes to our garden at night or early morning, we are next the river on the edge of the jungle in Cambodia and we often have visits to our garden from local wildlife , they are jungle mice , geckos, frogs and other animals from time to time , we are sorry this worried you

please enjoy your holiday regards Jamie GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
There are newer reviews for Angkoriana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

The staff are exceptionally friendly, the rooms are spotless, and the pool very clean and refreshing. The food in the restaurant was not that tasty, there is much better fare in the center of Siem Reap. Two big thumbs up on service ! They made us feel very welcomed.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms overlooking the pool have a private balcony, and are very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troyandmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

unfortunately, the hotel does not quite live up to its review at Tripadvisor. From the outside it looks perfect. it is made in the most beautifull materials etc but but but inside everything is worned out. it needs a proper cleani g to start with. everything, floors, stairs, rooms, bedcovers, poolarea, restaurant, reception.... why give customers a room which is not clean. this is the first thing i look at upon arrival. i moved one bed and it was so dirty under it, i said it tothe cleaner who cleaned it partially but i could not help moving the other bed... same dirt and the kind you do not want tolook and have in your room. i suppose the problem is bad communication. the staff speaks badly or no e english which must be the nice owners problem too. please make it a nice place since it has all the potential!

Room Tip: make sure your room is clean and do walk to the center since it is only 10 minutes walk or 2 usd tuk...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellover D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angkoriana516, General Manager at Angkoriana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear guest

thank you for your feed back, and was great meeting you just before new year
as we talked in person and we addressed all the points you brought to my attention, we need customer feed back to continue to improve our service

we apologize that the room was not cleaned to your expectations on this occasion we had a staff meeting to address this, in the peak season when the hotel is fully booked its not always possible to move the beds and cupboards to clean under every day, however we will address this issue right away, thank you again for your feed back

we hope you and your family enjoyed your stay and Angkor Wat

Regards Jamie GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We spent five nights at this hotel leaving on January 1, 2014. On reaching the hotel, the staff could not have been more helpful. We had arrived early on a flight from Bangkok. The staff found us a room immediately. The hotel is in a good location opposite the National Museum with only a short walk to the Old Market and many restaurants. The pool environment at the hotel is a good place to relax after a long day. We ate in the hotel on our first night and the food was good. The hotel found us an excellent guide and we then visited Angkor Wat with him and transport was provided by Tuk Tuk. The Tuk Tuk was able to bypass the traffic queues. I would definitely recommend this hotel and also the city of Siem Reap. Most people visit Siem Reap to see the old temples but the destination itself is also an excellent tourist location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Len J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We spent 2 nights at Agkoriana Hotel in December 2013. It is clean with spacious rooms and well located as it is a short drive from the center of Siem Reap. The Hotel staff is very polite and helpful.
You can enjoy your drink by the pool and buy very nice pure silk scarf at the Hotel’s gift shop.

I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angkoriana516, General Manager at Angkoriana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Guest Thank you for your feed back and was great to meet you at Angkoriana

we are happy you enjoyed your stay and visit to Angkor Temples, enjoy the rest of your travels,
Regards Jamie GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

It was my second time in Angkoriana - after 2009 - and nothing much has changed. Maybe a little paint is needed here and there.
The hotel is situated right opposite the (modern) Angkor National Museum on the main road to Angkor Wat and the park. 10 minute bicycle ride from the Old Market area, it is about the same time to the ticket offices for the Angkor temples, and 25 minutes to Angkor Wat.
The staff is super-friendly and attentive. The pool is small, but good for a splash.
The breakfast buffet offers Asian and Continental breakfast, and fruit, which I love.
The rooms are clean and quiet.
Next door there is a huge construction site. Seems as if another hotel is being built there. It remains to be seen in whatever way this new building might change the quality of Angkoriana.
At the moment (Dec 2013) this construction site was only busy in the daytime, and not loud at all.
Since my last stay there was a shop established, next to the reception which offerslovely silk scarfs, buddha statues etc.
Only drawback is: There's only one computer to access the internet in the lobby. But then there is Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobst56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Make sure you see the room before you accept it. I ended up on a corner with a mayor road on one side and a construction site on the other. Woke up to jack hammers and other heavy machinery in the early morning. My friends got a room facing the pool with a balcony for the same price. I managed to change to another room, didn't get the balcony though. Breakfast is pretty crappy, but lunch is great and highly recommended. The staff is super friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwedishVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Angkor Vireak Chey Hotel
Angkor Vireak Chey Hotel
#298 of 361 in Siem Reap
35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reveal Courtyard Formerly Angkor Tropic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Silk D' Angkor Residence
Silk D' Angkor Residence
#155 of 361 in Siem Reap
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Regency Angkor Hotel
Regency Angkor Hotel
#128 of 361 in Siem Reap
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angkor Holiday Hotel
Angkor Holiday Hotel
#184 of 361 in Siem Reap
541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkoriana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkoriana Hotel

Address: No. 297, Blvd. Charles de Gaulle | Opposite Angkor National Museum, Siem Reap 998888, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £25 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angkoriana Hotel, Siem Reap, Kingdom of Cambodia. Is one of the most unique hotels in Siem Reap. With the Khmer style building and the wooden stairs, with our lovely swimming pool & much more ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angkoriana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing