We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor and dirty”
Review of Angkoriana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Angkoriana Hotel
Ranked #245 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 18 February 2014

It was clear since we arrived that it wasn't the best hotel, but further low quality and poor maintenance, we have been really disappointed by dirtiness everywhere.
First night, we need to expend it in other room because our was dirty (we arrive at 6 PM). Second day, reception desk at noon told us that the room was ready, it was worst that day before as bath tube was full of dust.
Breakfast experience, poor and table cloth full of old marks. We check everyday and I confirm that never was washed.
Stairs and public places, why must those be different??
Swimming pool, very nice, except for the grease in tiles around.
I give it one green dot, because location was very convenient, otherwise....

Room Tip: Take other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andres P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angkoriana516, General Manager at Angkoriana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Guest thank you for your feed back

as the GM i take any guest feed back Seriously and take action on this immediately. And this was the case when I met you the first night, I inspected the room myself and really was at a loss to find any problems that would warrant a room change, however your our guest and our aim is to ensure your happy, we changed your room as you requested and gave you free dinner that night for your whole family.
The next day we promised to have your room ready the way you like it, and we had fresh basket of flowers delivered to the room, however you could not wait for our staff to prepare it for you , so we found it quite hard to meet your needs
I have to concede in this case we could not meet your expectations as we are a very good 3* hotel with great location ,service and facility’s we service over 2400 guests per month that are very happy and iam disappointed would could not count you among that number
For the amazing value we offer on price we always strive to offer service
Thank you the GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have stayed here twice in the past two years and will certainly return again. The location of the hotel is very close infact one of the closest to the Angkor temples site.Rooms are spacious comfortable with balconies on rear upper floors .The hotel has much charm and its owner Jamie and his staff are most welcoming to guests .The restaurant pricing offers great value and one can relax by the pool with a tasty cold bottle of wine for around $12 .food is also of a good standard and attractively priced . The hotel is about 10 minutes in a tuk tuk to the market area with many bars restaurants shops ,if you want peace tranquility this is the hotel to chose .
We highly recommend staying here excellent 10 out of 10 in all areas .
Great location peaceful hotel that exudes much charm value for money.

Room Tip: rear upper floors balconies with rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannyrampling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angkoriana516, General Manager at Angkoriana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Guest

its always great to read the feed back of our guests and know they enjoyed cambodia and Angkoriana your always welcome back any time!

hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

One of the closest Hotels to the temple city and within walking distance to the center (15min), Angkoriana is a good choice for Siem Reap. Big and comfortable rooms. Could be cleaner, if you are very picky about cleanness perhaps reconsider (towels were stained and a room overall was a bit dusty). Ok breakfast: not very varied but enough for the early morning. Staff very friendly and helpful, do ask for tips and any help required.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellers0ul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

This is a very hard review to write, I really want to give it top marks, but it's a struggle. I went to stay there for 4 days I stayed 10 days, so they must be doing something right! The staff were wonderful, the manager Jamie is an absolute gem and is worth his weight in gold! Jamie and his staff couldn't be more helpful, he advised me on different places to see and I now have some fabulous memories thanks to Jamie's recommendations. The hotel itself is tired, it has such potential I think it would absolutely shine with a little money spent. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, I'm really missing all of the wonderful friendly people there, as a solo traveller it's all about the people you meet along the way :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Sharonqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angkoriana516, General Manager at Angkoriana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Hi, thank you for your review,
we are really happy you had a great time with us for about 10 days, its part of our job to understand our customers and we are really happy to help book tours that are not well known so you see some of the sights that siem reap Cambodia has to offer away form the tourist trail.

i have lived in Siem Reap almost 8 years i hope my experience can benefit our guests get the most from the time spent in siem reap

enjoy the rest of Cambodia , thank you and see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The staff was excellent, very helpful and friendly, spoke good English. Our room was spacious and the hotel has a very nice pool area which we enjoyed very much after a hot day at Angkor. The location is perfect if you plan to cycle to the temples or be away from the hustle of Siem Reap (its only $2 by tuk-tuk to get to the loud city centre). The hotel will arrange a tuk-tuk as well as bikes, however they do not take any measurements of your hight and therefore, it happened that the bikes were too small (and very old) and we had to cancel it, taking a tuk-tuk instead. Just 2 little negative points the hotel should improve on - the room should be hovered better and the breakfast after 9:15am should be replenished automatically (so you dont have to ask for eggs or toast). Otherwise, we had a pleasant stay and would love to come back.

We would love to come back and we highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatty728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Friendly nice little Hotel, a lot of Hard Wood in the Hallways and the Stairs feels a little like Miss Marple. Rooms are Big and clean. We don't swim in the pool it was to could but its nice to seat down on the deck and have a beer there i think 3$ for the big ...not to much on a Hotel pool.
The Breakfast is good for a Hotel for 35$ Egs, Rolls, Butter, Jam, Fruits, Vegetaple, soup. coffee aso.(i try to buy some Sausage or cheese in the supermarket ...no way we are not in bangkok..)

Little bit outside, but there are day and night Motorbike Taxi around to bring you for 2$ to the Center. Or you walk around 15 minutes.

all in a Top Hotel for the Price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agir j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We (family of four) spent two nights at the Ankoriana on Dec 29 & 30th 2013. The entrance to the hotel gives the impression that the interior is going to be a great place to stay but sadly that was the only positive thing. The staff were friendly but only one young lady on reception had enough understanding of english. We were on the top floor and the wooden staircase we had to climb each time to get to our room was very dusty. Our room was also in need of a thorough clean. It looked okay on the surface but the edges of the carpet were dusty and there were dead insects on one of the window-sills behind some grubby net/type curtains. The main shower didn't work so we used the one over the bath. The lighting was appalling so it was impossible to read anything at night. The fridge in the room didn't appear to work and was mouldy inside. The breakfast was very poor and by 9am there was very little choice left . Some tablecloths had stains on from previous meals and on the 2nd night we ate in and whilst waiting for our food to arrive we saw a large rat sitting under one of the stools by the bar. This really made us wonder about the hygiene of the hotel. We mentioned this to the english speaking girl and she just said that the hotel cat wasn't doing very well - it appeared that it was quite commonplace. We would not recommend this hotel and feel that there are probably better ones in Siem Reap within the same price bracket.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawn-Tennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angkoriana516, General Manager at Angkoriana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your feed back we value all the feed back as this helps us improve our service

the fridge in the rooms are unplugged as we dont stock them with mini bar, but the fridge is available for the guests to use if they so wish

the rat some times comes to our garden at night or early morning, we are next the river on the edge of the jungle in Cambodia and we often have visits to our garden from local wildlife , they are jungle mice , geckos, frogs and other animals from time to time , we are sorry this worried you

please enjoy your holiday regards Jamie GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#11 of 384 in Siem Reap
2,303 reviews
1.6 mi away
Minea D' Angkor Boutique
Minea D' Angkor Boutique
#2 of 4 in Svay Dangkum
25 reviews
0.8 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#4 of 384 in Siem Reap
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#105 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,461 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#37 of 384 in Siem Reap
2,621 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkoriana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkoriana Hotel

Address: No. 297, Blvd. Charles de Gaulle | Opposite Angkor National Museum, Siem Reap 998888, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £33 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angkoriana Hotel, Siem Reap, Kingdom of Cambodia. Is one of the most unique hotels in Siem Reap. With the Khmer style building and the wooden stairs, with our lovely swimming pool & much more ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Angkoriana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing