We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Cambodian and Indian food in a friendly place”
Review of Khmer Chef

Khmer Chef
Ranked #356 of 1,136 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

A friendly place away from the busy markets with a large variety of good Asian food. Good spring rolls & beef lok lak (a mild Cambodian curry). Very clean. I spent about $10 which is twice as much as at a market stall but sometimes it is nice to be in an air conditioned environment when it is 30 degrees celsius outside! Friendly chatty proprietors and efficient staff. A fast and professional service. Nice place to visit if you find yourself in the Siem Reap area on Sivatha Road between the markets and the National Museum.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank sharonkB2068FK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2016

Saw this little restaurant on our walks about town....just a few blocks north of Pub Street and decided to give it a try. Certainly glad that we did. They serve all types of foods...Khmer, Thai, Chinese, Indian, Western...you name it. The 1st time around I had Butter Chicken ...delicious and generous and my husband had their Fish n Chips...very crispy, generous portion of white fish and ok chips. Next visit my husband tried the Pad thai ...tasty and myself the Lemon Chicken....plentiful, crisp chicken and zesty sauce, although not enough sauce. Oh yes, the pappadams were the best. Great prices and excellent service. Get a seat on the patio and watch the world walk by. Incidentally Khmer Chef and Curry Walla, the restaurant adjacent, are one in the same.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2016

The Khmer Chef is on one side of the restaurant and the Curry Walla on the other, but you can order off both menus. We ate on the Khmer side and the chicken amok was delicious, we also tried a Pakistani dish that was also very good. The staff is friendly, and the service was fast. It was nothing fancy, but the food was delicious, cheap and the menu has something for everyone, so it was perfect for dinner with a colleague.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cait U
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We walked around to find a restaurant for dinner. Though we did not do any research it was a good choice. I was very happy for finding this small restaurant. It is not a fancy restaurant but it served nice food. The portion was big for our family, We ordered only two meals for our family of 3 people, But we could not finish them. 1 Set menu is almost like for two people. Amok was tasty and the salad was good too.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dajiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Good, friendly service and nice food. Not a 'cheap eats', about average for Siem Reap. But, they do serve bigger portions of food and it is very tasty. Drinks are also cheaper here than many other places. Gave us a small plate of fruit after our meal as well.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Green_Pelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Khmer Chef also viewed

 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Khmer Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.