We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant and Convenient Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Siem Reap Amigo Villa
Ranked #392 of 486 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Pleasant and Convenient Stay”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I just spent three nights at the Siem Reap Amigo Villa and found my stay to be very pleasant! The location is wonderful and about 5-8 minutes walk to the Pub Street and 3 from the Night Market. The view from the roof of the hostel is beautiful. The staff is great. Marck is really nice and responds to emails quickly, and everyone can help you to arrange activities or transportation. Our room was also clean and the hostel was very colorful and lively. The breakfast was also good. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Siem Reap!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura_yarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    10
    8
    10
    26
See reviews for
3
21
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

If you are on a budget or are simply tired of big deluxe resorts, Amigo Villa near the Night Market is an an excellent choice. The rooms are comfortable, stylish, and clean. Breakfast is cooked to order and served on the veranda shaded by lush bamboo. Internet is good, and the staff is excellent and friendly.
I only wanted to tour for no more than three hours a day, and the driver was completely understanding, and when I just wanted to take a day off by sitting on the veranda with my computer, the staff treated me like a family member.
The place has a lot of style and friendliness with young and old guests from all sorts of countries.
A truly delightful place.
Jack

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MW46Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is a small hotel off the beaten track but we recommend it. They were very accommodating about airport pick up, meals, helping us plan day trips etc. Mr. Marck En is the go-to guy there. We also strongly recomment the services of "Mr. G" (Girrath) who provided us with much of our "tuk tuk" transportation. He was always on time and ready to go and went out of his way to help us find the best times and places to visit.

Room Tip: Don't stay too near the lobby. Backpackers come and go at all hours and we needed to ask them t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cootraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Malfunction flush, dripping sink. Noise around the building. The worst part is no sorry at all. Management seems very amateur. Need to do a lot of work. I am sure people can find much better place for price this business charge. The most important part try to book in advance to get a better deal, avoid agoda.com, if you pay up front it's always going to be 20 to 30 percent more than the online price.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siem Reap hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I booked this place for a week-long stay based on the positive reviews it has received in the past. I unfortunately cannot reconcile those positive reviews with my experience. Despite the good location, the competence of the staff, both of the guesthouse and of the tour guides supplied by Marck, and the condition of the room itself were average at best.

The positives - Good location, Marck (The person who I booked the room with and I assume the owner) was friendly when he was actually present, and the room was reasonably clean.

The negatives - Some of the furnishings in the room and en-suite showed their age (doors which didn't close, sinks which leaned sideways, marks and stains on walls and ceilings), and the en-suite had insufficient ventilation.

Marck was hardly ever at the guesthouse to answer questions or address concerns, and since the other staff couldn't answer my questions regarding the 3-day tuk-tuk tour I booked, I had to hunt Marck down more often than not.

The staff were less than friendly. They almost never offered even a basic greeting upon my entrance or exit in the mornings and evenings, instead preferring to lounge in the common area and dining area keeping each other company at the expense of attention paid to guests. I couldn't even get a smile in return when I said good morning or good evening! They often didn't bother to man the reception counter, even when a guest was obviously looking for assistance. I eventually stopped trying to get their attention with storing and retrieving my room key when I entered and left, I just did it myself as the keys were left completely open and accessible behind the unattended reception counter (and the staff seemed completely happy with me doing this).

The cleaning staff performance was spotty at best. One day I would find the room cleaned but missing a towel. Another day I would find that the cleaner missed my room, forcing me to ask reception to send one up.

The tours touted by Marck were simply run-of-the-mill tuk-tuk drivers who drove me to each location, dropped me off and picked me up. There was no "guide" to the tour, the drivers couldn't tell me anything about the locations and their command of English was basic. The driver on the first day (booked by Marck himself) passed me off to 2 (two!) other drivers during the day because "he was busy", and those two were just as anonymous and unhelpful.

Unfriendly, inattentive staff who genuinely didn't seem to care a whit for their guests. Inconsistent cleaning service. Overpriced and underwhelming "tours" with thoroughly average drivers booked by Marck. The only saving grace is the good location, but that wasn't enough to make my experience a positive one.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xia0Zhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had arranged for a car to pick us up at the airport, but didn't see it when we arrived, so we opted for another driver. He didn't know where the hostel was and it took him a bit to get a hold of the owner for him to help us find it. Once we got there, we walked in and there were a number of locals hanging around the front entrance. That was totally fine, but no one greeted us and they stared at us, looking like they were questioning why we were there.

The owner/employee finally perked up from the couch he was laying on and asked me why i didn't use the airport pick up, then blamed us for the driver calling us so many times. When we checked in he did come around and become helpful.

The room was very clean - two twin beds - quiet. Good wireless. The bathroom had the shower as the bathroom, but that was ok - it was still very clean. Just not the most comfortable for me personally.

The entire night there was someone sleeping on the couch. We woke up early to go to Angkor Wat (4:30 am) and he was snoring - i didn't think he was staying there. When we checked in I'm pretty sure he was lounging there as well. There was also someone on the computer, but that was fine.

What struck me as strange was i didn't see any travelers there - it just looked for a place for locals to lounge around.

Craziest part about it was that we went to check out, the following day (we had found another b&B that was much more suitable for us) and I have never been charged for the room. I lost my deposit (5 bucks, but oh well), but not the one night was charged, nor was the three that i had reserved. That was certainly nice, but goes to show how unorganized they were.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Pros: Our room was nice and good natural sunlight. There was a decent variety of breakfast choices. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was about a 5-10 minute walk to the center which provided some quietness.
Cons: They would like you to use their tuk-tuks and will tell you that you were ripped off if you use someone else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobrobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Damnak Kunthea Villa
Damnak Kunthea Villa
#160 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
King Rock Boutique Hotel
King Rock Boutique Hotel
#88 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kia Kaha Villa
Kia Kaha Villa
#92 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solitaire Damnak Hotel
Solitaire Damnak Hotel
#77 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beyond Yangon Boutique Inn
Beyond Yangon Boutique Inn
#33 of 486 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Siem Reap Amigo Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siem Reap Amigo Villa

Property: The Siem Reap Amigo Villa
Address: Wat Dombak Village | Salakomreouk Commune, Siem Reap, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #392 of 486 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Siem Reap Amigo Villa is a new 23 rooms Guesthouse, in a quiet and safe neighborhood, within 3 minutes walking distance to the old city center of Siem Reap, the famous Old Market and the lively Pub street. With a tuktuk or a car you are just 15 minutes away from the Angkor Park, the renowned World Heritage Site housing the impressive Angkor Wat temple complex. Once you have booked with us we will help you in getting your stay organized. Please let us know what you like to see and how you like to travel further. We supply you with bus tickets as required. I offer you a free pick up from the Airport or bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Siem Reap Amigo Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing