We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fabulous! Staff, rooms, atmosphere, price--- great value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Temple Villa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Golden Temple Villa
Ranked #50 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous! Staff, rooms, atmosphere, price--- great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have traveled extensively in Southeast Asia and are pretty discerning as to what makes a great place to stay--- golden temple villa is probably the best value we have seen on this trip. It's not the dirt- cheapest place to stay, but I can't imagine where you'd get more for your money in Siem Reap.
The service is outstanding--- every single staff member treated us with the utmost courtesy and was extremely friendly and helpful.
They have taken what would be your average cramped budget hotel room and turned it into something totally lovely with little touches like Cambodian art, colorful throws on the bed and fresh flowers upon arrival. The bathrooms are by no means new but everything is spotlessly clean and soap and shampoo provided. The rooms are definitely small, but so sweet, and have a dresser and mini fridge. The basic $17 room we wanted was not available our first night so we had to change rooms our second day. The staff facilitated this flawlessly for us while we were sightseeing at Angkor Wat.
Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted with a welcome ice tea drink and cold towels. The atmosphere is lovely and there are shared balconies with comfy chairs to read it, little hammocks and a lovely garden area/restaurant.
This hotel is right off a busy side street, so this is probably where the negative noise complaint reviews come from. We have heard music and traffic, but it never has bothered us and the rooms seem pretty quiet as night.
We booked online and the booking was handled flawlessly and professionally, so I am unsure where these negative reviews come from, but for us, staff have been nothing but totally on the ball with everything.
You won't to find better value for the money anywhere in Siem Reap during high season!

Room Tip: Upstairs basic room for $17 is a better value than Downstairs deluxe room for $25.... Upstairs delux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefwithapassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,466
    533
    80
    25
    13
See reviews for
173
756
370
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I stayed in Golden Temple Villa for six nights in December. The price was so low that we did not know what to expect. Now we can tell you, all the glowing reviews are TRUE! It is such nice oasis to retreat to after a day of exciting exploration in Siem Reap!

pros:
location -- less than 5 minutes walk to pub street and the various markets.
staff -- people are SO nice! we relied on the hotel staff to arrange drivers and guides to see Angkor Wat. We asked them for restaurant recommendations -- even though the hotel restaurant was very nice, the receptionists still suggested other restaurants for us to try, and their suggestions are gold!
restaurant -- breakfast was very good but a little pricey (for Cambodia standard). But snacks during "happy hours" are a steal: coconut at 75cents and many other yummy appetizer dishes.
internet -- free and fast. Did I mention fast? Better than many hotels in the US and in Hong Kong. I was wondering whether i was the only one using the internet!
room -- we had a double superior room, with AC. Having AC is very nice because, if nothing else, it is effective in keeping mosquitos away. The bathroom was basically a wet room, but it dried up pretty quickly.

Cons:
One thing you should know is that there is no elevator in the hotel. We stayed on the top floor, which was OK for us (two adults in good health) but it may not be pleasant if you have heavy luggage or are already exhausted from climbing the Wats.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HuaLala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

very nice place! the hotel is small but very clean. The staff friendly, welcoming and always helpful. We spent 2 nights, we were offered a nice triple room - very comfortable. the price included hotel fare, welcome drink and 1hour massage. The coffee/tea and banas are offered out of charge all the time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlynkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle UK
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Golden Temple Villa is a wonderful place in a quiet location only a few minutes walk from Pub Street, night markets and other backpacker delights. Staff are very professional and welcoming, greeting you with cold towels or a refreshing drink after a day's cycling or sightseeing.

Our simple en-suite room on the top floor was small, neat and clean with large firm comfy double bed, AC and fridge with free water. A complimentary pick up from the bus station is available, free bike hire, WiFi, free internet with fast connection and a spa with a free one hour massage is included in the room rate. There's also a lovely restaurant with free bananas, coffee and tea available 24/7 plus a decent pre-bookable breakfast for $3.

Staff organised our taxi to Poipet for the Thai border for a reasonable $24 and with such a professional yet friendly service, you really feel like you are staying in a more expensive hotel. We wish we'd had time to stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHNCLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We fell in love with the Golden Temple Villa! Beautifully decorated, great staff, an excellent and large breakfast was included with the room charge, free bicycle use, good wifi. We think it may be the best value of any hotel we’ve stayed at in traveling 4 months in Asia.

A lovely drink and peanuts started the orientation.We were tired the first night and decided to dine at the restaurant onsite. We rarely do this as hotel restaurants are usually expensive and the food is not that good. We had a wonderful meal and the prices were very modest. We ended up dining there most evenings.

The Hotel was near the markets and other restaurants. It was even near enough for us to bike out to Angkor Wat two days.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth_Joe_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Very nice stay in golden temple villa, great service and very good location. They introduced the best tuk tuk driver mr. Phouk to us. He made our trip become prefect. Only one thing need to improve, not enough hot water for shower and there is some iron smell in water. Besides this, all the things are prefect!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cy520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was my husband's second time at the Villa and my first, certainly not my last. I fell in love with the entire team and with the accommodation and it's location. My husband always spoke of it fondly and couldn't wait to bring me here. I'm so happy he did. It's a family atmosphere and extremely welcoming. A home away from home!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMRM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#11 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#99 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bayon Boutique
Bayon Boutique
#88 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#3 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travellerhome Angkor
Travellerhome Angkor
#190 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#64 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Temple Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Temple Villa

Property: Golden Temple Villa
Address: Steng Thmei, Svaydongkum, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Temple Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Temple Villa has 30 fully furnished rooms with modern en-suite bathrooms and conveniences to ensure our guests stay with us is as comfortable possible. The villa is colourfully decorated with a splash of Khmer artistry and style thrown in and every effort is made to keep all areas of the hotel immaculately clean at all times. With 24 hour reception and security Golden Temple Villa is a calm, safe, and secure lodging for stay Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Temple Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Temple Villa Hotel Siem Reap
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing