We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$184
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$302
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$368
US$294
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$50
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
74
162
79
31
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
162
79
31
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspub streetpool bar istuk tuklocation was perfectangkor watbeautiful poolinternetmassagecambodiatourwesternersswimmingpool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed here 3 times now (2009, 2012, 2013). Booked our trip last year April, making a special request for room 201 which has a large private balcony. Upon arrival, our room was already occupied by other guests who refused to leave until their departure several days later. Therefore, we ended up staying in room 218, which is similar except that all employees and guests have right of passage to its balcony which provides access to the adjacent building. Just like a year ago when we first stayed in this room, the tired bathroom's ventilator still didn't work; it was replaced the same day after we insisted on a solution to this problem. Several days later, we moved to room 201, which we had originally booked. The decoration (wood & silk) that hangs over the headboard still hangs out of sink; considered fixing it myself but decided against it. Tired bathroom with lots of discolorations on the tiled floor and seams between the tiles on the walls; shower needs to be replaced; toilet works like it should. Free refills of water (for complimentary small bottles provided in the rooms) in the lobby has been discontinued. Restaurant serves decent dishes; however, I wish they would provide whole grain bread at the breakfast buffet. Lovely colonial-style building that needs a lick of paint all-over, bathrooms need refurbishment, rooms need some TLC and softer mattresses. Great location: quiet yet within easy walking distance of the downtown area. Staff is very friendly and helpful. To be honest, we're not sure we'll stay here again, as maintenance seems to have been reduced to the bare minimum.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarianTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard T, General Manager at Grand Sunset Angkor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Marian,

Thank you for your loyalty.

I am truly agree with you with the hotel condition. As the new Managemen took over and we are in the plan to upgrade and facelift our cozy colonial hotel.

I hope, if you plan to visit us next year, please do check back again on our hotel websites for the progress in the future.

Once again, thank you.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Stayed 3 nights. Very central but also quiet. Arrived very late and the restaurant was still open for service. Surprisingly delicious hamburger. Good breakfasts and the restaurant has a lovely openess which makes one feel relaxed. The only negative was that the swimming pool was dark green but the staff did not inform us not to use the pool, so we thought this was general Cambodia swimming pool styles. On the last day of our stay they fixed the pool and we realised that we had been swimming in a dirty pool. Rooms were good size and very clean. Staff were very helpful. Lots of mosquitos so make sure you always carry mosquito repellent. Do not attempt to wash any clothes especialy whites - the water leaves brown stains. Staff were very helpful at all times.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecsonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We loved Siem Reap and this is a lovely hotel just out of the madness of town. $2 tuk tuk ride to the markets and wonderful restaurants. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. We booked a double and a twin room and they arranged for interconnecting rooms. Staff are lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was included in our package and they happily packed us a "takeaway brekky" for our sunrise trip to Angkor Wat.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Ilovetravel1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

just come back from a 3 night stay at the end of a tour of vietnam and cambodia..great .hotel ,good choice for breakfast everyday friendly staff ,spotless rooms good location what more do you need when i come back i will stay here again gary hakin

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Beautiful oasis that is relaxing and restful on a quiet tree lined street. Property has the feel of French colonial with open air tropical relaxation. Staff was especially gracious and pleasant and made us feel like honored guests. Walking distance to many Sam Reap attractions, but removed from the noise and chaos of the City. Room was outstanding, service great, excellent buffet breakfast, wonderful pool. Perfect place to stay while in Sam Reap.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews