We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Humble but should be screaming out”

HUNGRY BEAR at Angkor Night Market
Price range: US$1 - US$10
Cuisines: Cambodian, Fast food, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We have a PUMPKIN food&drink&dessert!PUMPKIN is one of the most famous food in cambodia.We use sweet pumpkin,make a delicious pumpkin menu.Please give it a try!【start business:06/NOV/2013】
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Humble but should be screaming out”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

You look at all the great chefs. Rick Stein with his pencil and pad paper stealing recipes in his Asian adventures. Jamie Oliver doing a "pilgrimage" and getting recipes from Italy. Gordon Ramsay being trained by French chefs (Roux brothers). Luke Nguyen going through his native country of Vietnam, and again making notes of how local cooks....

Now this crew, rivals all of these chefs that charge exuberant amount of a slither of pork belly. There are only 6 savoury dishes and 3 desserts. Hungry Bear does these dishes very well.

Location: Night market --- walk through market stalls, you will see a huge circular hut, it is one of the stalls.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaida15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azusa1221, マネージャー at HUNGRY BEAR at Angkor Night Market, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so much for coming to our restaurant and taking the time to post a review of us.
We don't have many foods.But we make effort to cook.
Once again, thank you for posting a review.
I hope you will come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    8
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Why Japanese Restaurant in REP??/ カンボジアに来てまで日本人経営の店?”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hungry Bear where located in Food court, Night market ,provides not only sweets.
下、日本語表記有り。

You can also enjoy steak , pasta and the other delicious meals for kids and of course HUNGRY!!
the price is not lower than local food but usual restaurant at Pub street.
you should try pumpkin ice cream and shake if you never tried those.

Moreover, stuff in this restaurant can speak Khmer, English and Japanese.
if you were not good at Khmer, Japanese or English. Do not be shy, they have menu with picture for every meals.

「カボチャ」の語源がカンボジアだと言う事を1度は耳にした事が有ると思います。

ここ、カンボジアはナイトマーケットに位置するハングリーベアーは、カボチャプリンに限らず、腹ぺこさんメニュー(パスタやステーキ等)から女性や子ども、夏バテにも嬉しいアイスやシェークも有ります。

料金は屋台より高めですが、パブストリートのレストランよりもリーズナブルな価格でした。

なにより、日本人がメニュー開発から提供まで行なっているので品質や衛生面で信頼性が持てました。スタッフさんは、常時カンボジア人と日本人がいました(日本語、英語、カンボジア語可能)。

カンボジアに来てまで、わざわざ日本人経営の飲食店で食事をする意味、
ここでならアリだと思います。

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akieso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azusa1221, マネージャー at HUNGRY BEAR at Angkor Night Market, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Google Translation
ご来店、口コミしていただきありがとうございます。
そして詳しく当店の情報を書いてくださってありがとうございます。
当店はかぼちゃプリンが目立っておりますが、肉料理などにも力を入れております。
またご来店していただけるよう毎日進化し続けていきたいと思います。
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boracay, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A long wait”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is only a tiny restaurant in the food hall at the back of the night market and they don't seem to be coping very well with all their potential customers. We arrived early and were told to expect a 20 minute wait for our order of pumpkin pasta, but it took at least 45 minutes. Those who arrived after 8pm, were sent away without being served. However, the food was good once it arrived.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank julia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azusa1221, マネージャー at HUNGRY BEAR at Angkor Night Market, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for coming to our restaurant and reporting.
But I apologize from my heart for the late offer food.
In future, we'll do our best so as not to repeat the same mistake.
So I would like you to try again.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must try!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

It closes early - I think 8pm? I can't recall, but it was closed when I went there on the first night. Determined to try this, I went earlier on the second night and followed the reviewer's advice to have the pumpkin pasta and pumpkin pudding and it was AMAZING.

Definitely one of my best meals in Siem Reap!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poksydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azusa1221, マネージャー at HUNGRY BEAR at Angkor Night Market, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for coming to our restaurant.
I'm sorry we closed our restaurant the day you came.
We take one or two days off per month.
I give my thanks for coming again and saying good.
I hope you'll be able to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious and Friendly”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Took us a little while to find is place - but it was well worth it! There are loads of night markets, but this one is the one with 'Original Night Market' on the sign. The owner is super friendly and the food (had the pork belly and pumpkin pasta) was delicious. Well well worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 106jackh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azusa1221, マネージャー at HUNGRY BEAR at Angkor Night Market, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for coming to our restaurant and praising us.
Our restaurant is a small.
But we strive to attract customers making original food.
Please come again, I wait for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HUNGRY BEAR at Angkor Night Market also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing