We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved my stay -Good location, good food, gorgeous rooms”
Review of FCC Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
FCC Angkor
Ranked #85 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved my stay -Good location, good food, gorgeous rooms”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed here at the peak of the Cambodian summer just prior to the monsoon breaking.

The hotel isn't very large, so you're not jostling with 10 other people to get service or pay or sit at the pool. Its a heritage building with a really lovely look and feel, lots of green and local flavour but not overwhelming.

Its got a nice fresh water pool and a small spa. There's a restaurant that overlooks the river and rooms with just two levels, ground and upper. And, reception stocks some DVDs and I think music that you can borrow. And of course they can arrange a drop off and pick up service to the airport and honestly its a bit cheaper if you organise it but may not be worth the trouble.

The room was huuuge, well decorated and with all amenities, a lovely welcome tea provided with little portions of typical Cambodian savouries/sweets. The rooms were v.well airconditioned , the importance of which I cannot overemphasise and this with a really large room! They also name them after spices , which was nice except that I kept forgetting the name of the spice!

Breakfast was included in the package I took and fantastic - not a buffet but with a range of choices that were very very satisfactory. They did this lovely take on Eggs Benedict that was to die for, and in the process doubtless raised my cholesterol reading to 'sound-the-alarm' levels in a week. Very very friendly service indeed, everyone from the front desk staff to the cleaners were v warm and helpful. My only problem with the restaurant area was lizards, being green, tropical its got a gazillion lizards in the evening , most out of range of the dining area but not always. Many people don't mind that but they gave me the creeps so i wouldn't recommend dining in the balcony areas if they're a problem for you.

The only downside was that apparently during one day the shower glass of my bathroom broke and obviously as these things take time I had to manage without. My grouse, they should have informed me with even a note , an offer to change rooms wasn't necessary but would have been nice as each shower left loads of water . But a small quibble I think, because whenever i called they did turn up promptly.

The location is sadly mosquito friendly so stock up on the repellent , especially because its located on the riverside that is home to a sluggish river. But it was also peak summer and humid so anywhere would have mosquitoes. Its a short walk to the main market and safe , though you could also take a cycle rickshaw that costs a dollar to the market and some will even wait for you for an hour or as long as you want and take you back.

Would I go back? Definitely, anytime. It was small enough not to be impersonal but luxurious enough to feel indulgent. Loved my stay there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank herb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    300
    66
    20
    11
See reviews for
144
363
79
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

FCC Angkor was really excellent - I had been put into the most god-awful hotel that is the Ankgor Way and could only stand two days of it so really got to see the other side before switching to FCC.

It is certainly worth paying just that little bit more for the suite. I was very lucky to get it - to me it looked like double the size of the other rooms, the bathroom was just wonderful and the attention to detail really shone through - bathrobes, fresh flowers, turn down service, fresh fruit and lovely decor, I really couldn't fault it. Also an advantage being smaller and more personal than the other hotels with their several hundred rooms.

The pool was a treat after trekking around the temples and close to Pub Street and the restaurants.

The staff are attentive and make you feel very welcome and you would be remiss if you didn't give the spa a go - had the best massage of my life.

Breakfast (particularly if you are hankering for a good coffee) was delicious, though soooo much food.

Room Tip: Palm Sugar is at the end on the bottom level, double the size of the other rooms with a separate sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sgirl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

absolutely loved this place -- the BASIL ROOM was great and the whole complex is elegant, soothing, and relaxing after a hectic and hot day at the temples. It's a mixture of modern, clean simple lines with nice Cambodian touches. The rooms are attached but have a bungalow feel which means each one is accessed from an outdoor causeway (which requires getting in and out quickly to make sure no mosquitoes sneak in -- not a problem in big multi story hermetically sealed hotels)

The FCC is just a few blocks out from the hustle and bustle of down town Siem Riep where many of the restaurants are. It's a 10-15 minute walk by the riverside park or 5 minute ride by tuk tuk. It's super close to La Residence D'Ankgor (if you can't afford to stay there, it's definitely worth having a drink at the end of a long day at their upstairs bar). Viroth is also a great restaurant option that's around the corner from La Residence.

I switched hotels after a couple nights at the Ankgor Holiday hotel - which is a clean, safe, comfortable hotel but lacks the elegance and relaxing nature that the FCC had. After a couple days at the temples I realized I wanted a place where I could come back at 4-5pm and relax by the elegant pool-- FCC provided this. The staff was incredibly helpful -- even finding me a cooking class to accommodate my specific schedule at the Tara Hotel which was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank om10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This place runs an A grade show. If you don t want to spend big money and stay at the Aman or Raffles, then this is the place to be. Service is great, rooms are nice and very well kept and the terrace / restaurant has good food and a great vibe.

Some of the rooms downstairs are a bit dark, so try to get one on the 1st floor.

The hotel will also organise all your excursions.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rudolfsimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The accomodations were excellent and the service was extraordinary. Next time I'm in Siem Reap, I will definately stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_C44976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I stayed at FCC Angkor twice in July 2011 - once for nine days in connection with a Photo Workshop and later for 3 days on my own. Each time the staff the outstanding! They are focused on your every need and making sure you are happy and comfortable. From breakfast delivered beginning at 4:30 am (which was great before those early morning photo shoots), to the entire staff of the hotel/bar/restaurant who will remember you and always inquire as to how you are doing and what you might need.

The bar/restaurant serves excellent food - asian and western - though a bit pricey by Cambodian standards.

The location is perfect - central to the town yet just outsdie the touristy center.

All in all - I would highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms located near the pool are my favorite and are more comfortable if you want to utilize the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed at the FCC to visit Angkor and relax after travels in South East Asia. Very comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff, and a great location-far enough away from the center to provide some quiet, but an easy walk along the river to the markets and bars. Enjoyable stay. Breakfast is good, but I take other meals elsewhere. Not really bad, just unimaginative. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#40 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
#80 of 356 in Siem Reap
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#8 of 356 in Siem Reap
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Boutique & Resort
0.2 mi away
Riversoul Residence
Riversoul Residence
#4 of 356 in Siem Reap
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FCC Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FCC Angkor

Property: FCC Angkor
Address: Pokambor Avenue, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#64 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#65 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#66 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — FCC Angkor 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The FCC Angkor sits at the heart of Siem Reap Town, overlooking the Siem Reap River and just minutes away from Cambodia's most alluring attraction, Angkor Wat.Renovated from the old French Governor's mansion, art deco embraces chic hotel, creating an atmosphere of refined luxury and casual elegance. Defined by its lush green gardens and the salt-water swimming pool, the FCC Angkor embodies Cambodia's tranquil pace of life: a casual swim, drinks in the garden, dinner on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your FCC Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fcc Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing