We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel”
Review of FCC Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
FCC Angkor
Ranked #78 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We loved it! Great location. Quiet ambience. Great rooms, swimming pool, steam room, and near to good food. Would go back next time we are in Cambodia. The bathroom was huge and well appointed. All rooms seem to open to the pool area. Stayed three days.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B, Manager at FCC Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear billpizzaiolo,

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with FCC. We hope you will share your pleasant experience with others so they may have an equally-fantastic time when they come to Cambodia. Please let us know if we can ever help you or your friends in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was our second stay at FCC Angkor and it was just as lovely as the first time. Its location can't be beat: it's a 5 minute walk to the Old Market known as Psar Chaa. We stayed for two nights in February. The rooms are compact and showing their age a little. But the shower still packs a powerful punch and the bed and pillows are comfortable. A dip in the saltwater pool is a must after a old sweaty day at the temples. FCC Angkor is a small, cosy hotel. You will not find those obnoxious tour groups here. What a relief!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweeter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B, Manager at FCC Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Sweeter123,

We are delighted you enjoyed your time at our hotel after being away for years! We strive to continue to inspire nostalgia when we can with our returning guests, and we hope you will be inspired to visit us again whenever you return to Cambodia. Please don't hesitate to contact us before your return if you have any special requests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We spent 5 nights at the FCC - in a posh suite which was a treat - has almost everything needed, hairdryer, mini fridge, kettle. There are a few brilliant multi sockets that seem to take any plug for computers etc. and Wifi worked well. The reception staff will book tours, taxis & tuk tuks for you too.
Overall the hotel is lovely with a very happy relaxed atmosphere. It is just beginning to show its age but I didn't really mind that as it all works fine. The staff are mostly excellent being helpful and offering prompt service; for example when I screwed up our room safe so we couldn't open it, rescue arrived within minutes.
However the service at breakfast does need a bit of improvement with hot main courses arriving before the first course could be eaten; sometimes we had to request our coffee several times.
But the food is very good, we enjoyed our half price cocktails during Happy Hour in the bar and we generally felt well looked after. Oh and the pool's great too!

Room Tip: We had a room on first floor away from pool, very quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Babywend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B, Manager at FCC Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Babywend,

Thanks so much for the review. We are glad your five nights at the FCC were enjoyable and you had your needs and desires met. We also appreciate your constructive feedback. Our restaurant is currently going through some changes and we are still going through adjustments. That said, we will bring your feedback to our restaurant manager and use it to improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

A comfortable, relaxed feel to the hotel. Not too small and not too big. Rooms great, clean tidy. Friendly staff all the way through our visit. Restaurant food medium, gastro pub style with a hint of Cambodia. I would stay again but would like to try out some of the higher end as well.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank daveBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B, Manager at FCC Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear daveBangkok,

Thanks for enjoying FCC! We hope you'll be back in the future to enjoy our restaurant and perhaps one of our live concerts or art shows. If you have any feedback that would improve the hotel, please send an email to contact@fcchotels.com. We look forward to hearing from you and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was by far the best Hotel we had stayed in. Loved the boutique style hotel. From the time we arrived the staff were very friendly and went out of there way to help us.
The complementary massage was fantastic after our day trip to Angkor Wat
The rooms were great size, beds very comfortable. Loved the touch that the staff came around and light the coils and oil outside your room every evening.
The location was good so peaceful surrounded by lust gardens and only a short stroll to all the action
We will defiantly return and recommend this hotel to friends

Room Tip: only two levels all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B, Manager at FCC Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Chris L,

Thank you for the charming review. We hope that we can continue to provide great experiences for you and new experiences for your friends in the future. I hope that you will consider reaching out to us before your next visit so we can provide you with any details on changes and promotions our hotel is having during that season. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were a 60 year old mother and 30 year old daughter traveling together from California. We LOVED FCC. By far, the highlight of Cambodia was our driver, Samol Soun or "Sam." Sam is employed by the hotel and we ended up hiring him all 4 days we were there. His english was clear and steady, he was very helpful, kind, and had many interesting stories about the history of Cambodia. Ask for him in advance to be your tour guide or just driver. Driver rates are incredible, about $25/day plus tip (be generous!) gets you Sam, all day, in a Lexus SUV with cold towels and water. You can also look him up on Facebook in advance and message him: Facebookdotcom/samol.soun

In regards to the hotel, it was clean, modern, the perfect location, had the best included breakfast (even Western style, delivered to your room) and the restaurant was amazing. We ended up eating there daily. It's been written about in lots of high end travel magazines, but still cheap pricing. (It is Cambodia.) $8 thai or khmer dishes, $9 western dishes, $2 beers, and $4-$5 premium cocktails. The restaurant becomes a bit of a scene at night, so make a reservation.

We stayed in the Cinamon room, which is 2nd floor, near reception. That room has two queen beds and is slightly larger than the other standard rooms. And wifi worked pretty well in the room. I would recommend Cinamon. The staff is so helpful. They're constantly filling your room with flowers, cookies, incense (to ward off mosquitos) and everyone spoke English. Our room was about $120/USD/night and that included a huge breakfast and airport ride.

The spa was also top notch; great, professional massages for around $30/hour. Definitely get a body massage after trekking to temples.

Couple more tips regarding visiting Angkor Wat:
-Don't do sunrise and sunset all in one day. Pay the sunrise tour one day, then come back to the hotel and rest up. On a different day arrive at the temples around 8AM and stay through sunset. Getting up at 4AM for sunrise made staying out all day til 7PM too brutal.
-We did Angkor at sunrise and sunset. We couldn't decide which was better. Totally different and incredible experiences.
-Ride an elephant for sunset at Bayon. Get there by 4 to reserve your elephant. We didn't do this and wished we had.
-Splurge for dinner one night at Nest. This would be a $250 dinner in the states and was about $60 for 2 of us, with a bottle of wine, still very expensive for Cambodia.
-Bring lots of $1 bills with you from home. Everything costs a dollar or less: tips, shopping, bathrooms, drinks etc, but if they see you have a five, they won't bargain as much. And it's hard to find places to give you lots of 1's.

When I come back to Siem Reap I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cinamon room, which is 2nd floor, near reception. That room has two queen beds and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B, Manager at FCC Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear WestwoodKelli,

Thank you for the great review! We are very happy you enjoyed your experience at FCC Angkor and the temples. We agree with you--Sam is a great driver! We hope you'll be back soon, whether for a massage, a meal, or a room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Loved staying at FCC and when we`ll get back in Siem Reap, we'll book the same hotel for sure! We stayed at FCC for a week. The location is great, staff very friendly and helpful, the massage (visaya) is very good (but a little overpriced) and the breakfast is very good (could be a little more diversified). But all in all a great place to stay and they will do everything to make your vacation perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIHAI P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg B, Manager at FCC Angkor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear MIHAI P,

Thanks for enjoying FCC! We wanted to let you we appreciate the feedback on the menu and the massage. Regarding the food, we'll actually be releasing a new menu shortly that has been responding to all of our customers' requests for more diversity and pizzazz. I personally think you'll love it! And as for the spa--we encourage all our customers to check out our promotions we offer. Even for those on a tight budget, Visaya has some of the best discount packages in town. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#42 of 365 in Siem Reap
1,348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#13 of 365 in Siem Reap
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
0.2 mi away
Riversoul Residence
Riversoul Residence
#8 of 365 in Siem Reap
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Angkor Village Hotel
Angkor Village Hotel
#65 of 365 in Siem Reap
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FCC Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FCC Angkor

Address: Pokambor Avenue, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#64 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#64 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#65 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £84 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — FCC Angkor 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The FCC Angkor sits at the heart of Siem Reap Town, overlooking the Siem Reap River and just minutes away from Cambodia's most alluring attraction, Angkor Wat.Renovated from the old French Governor's mansion, art deco embraces chic hotel, creating an atmosphere of refined luxury and casual elegance. Defined by its lush green gardens and the salt-water swimming pool, the FCC Angkor embodies Cambodia's tranquil pace of life: a casual swim, drinks in the garden, dinner on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your FCC Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fcc Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing