We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, a little tired/worn facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of FCC Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
FCC Angkor
Ranked #87 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Swanton, Vermont
Level Contributor
124 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great Location, a little tired/worn facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

I can see this hotel being a stand-out when it was brand new, but they seem not to be too interested in maintaining their facilities. Woodwork badly worn in room and in need of re-finishing, miniscule tv the size of a computer monitor, and since most movies and shows in Cambodia are sub titled, was impossible to read them. It would have been nicer to have no TV and thus less dissapointment. Bathroom had little privacy since door was a slatted one. Huge curtain over window over looking busy walkway forced us to leave curtains closed when we were in the room, so we couldn't enjoy the view of the gardens. Service at meals was friendly, but the staff were poorly trained. For example, on the bedside tables and breakfast tables they were advertising a Japanese Buffet for the evening, but absolutely none of the staff were able to answer any questions about it. They eventually tracked down the manager (very nice and apologetic however), but if my partner was not a Japanese food addict, we would have given up trying to find out more and gone elsewhere. Front desk staff was charming, bell boys delightful. The location however is perfect, right in front of the river with nicely paved roads nearby, so very little of the choking red dust that pervades most of the city from poorly maintained roads. Room was kept spotless with three times a day house cleaning, and regular replacement of towels and amenities. The added touch of free massage oil was thoughtful, and tho I am not one to stockpile soaps and stuff, I couldn't help but keep my daily little blue glass bottle to take a little stash of them home for gifts. Nice clean white towels, but oddly, no hand towels. Only wash cloths and bath towels. Breakfast was fairly basic for a indochine hotel with a limited menu to order from and no buffet, but served our needs nicely. Thus, the average rating. We probably could have done better for the same price, but were not horribly dissapointed either. Next time we will give it a pass, but if asked, would mention pros and cons and not give a definite thumbs down. Jay Kerch

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgehring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    294
    65
    20
    11
See reviews for
136
355
77
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

When we decided to book this hotel we were looking for a base to visit Angkor temples and the city centre. FCC was a great choice and it’s very different from the traditional big resort, impersonal, equal everywhere as the big hotel chains are. Everything is in short minute ride by tuk-tuk so location isn’t a problem in Siem Reap. The hotel is exactly what you can see in the posted photos. Small boutique colonial style hotel, spacious rooms, great pool and lovely spa.

Pool and Spa: simply wonderful. May actually be one of the most beautiful pools I’ve been. It’s an ideal place to rest after a long day in Angkor. The open air Jacuzzi is great and complimentary foot massage was a must!

Room: The room was just what we needed. I read some reviews about the lack of privacy in the room. It was never an issue for us, if you don’t want to be seen just push the curtains! The TV is a little small but it is flat tv with a good selection of international channels. You must be quick entering the room otherwise it will be full with mosquitoes!

Restaurant: As posted food won’t be a problem in FCC. Booth dinner and breakfasts were ‘a la carte‘. When we woke up really early to watch Angkor sunrise, they woke us up and brought breakfast to the room.

Upset: They were supposed to pick us when arriving from Phnom Penh. There was a misunderstood and they compensate by taking us to the airport in our departure. It was the least they could do.

Travel tips: FCC tuk-tuk service is a little expensive. There are always plenty tuk-tuk drivers in front of the hotel, try to negotiate with them, and you will get your driver for the entire journey.
Don’t go to the floating village! Doesn’t worth it. If still you are planning to go be advise there is a scam with the local police. When going by tuk-tuk, before arriving to the boatman’s, a man orders the tuk-tuk driver to stop and don’t let him continue unless you buy the boat ticket. Off course the ticket is way more expensive here and all this happens in front of a well seated corrupt police man. I think if you go in an organized tour won’t have this problem.

Shopping Tip: Don’t miss the new and the old market in Siem Reap center.

Restaurant tip: In the other side of the hotel, passing the bridge and the gas station, turn right and in the middle of some small hotels there is a lovely open air restaurant (on the right). Khmer food, waitress has got the best smile ever, and the food is great and cheap.
Midday bite in the Hotel de la Paix Café. Enter there and it will feel like home.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcatalao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

Absolutely misleading web site. Reality was a dirty room (floor and pillows were dirty), the restaurant and bar with the open kitchen needs a long clean up (some doors hadn't been cleaned for probably more than one year) one of the restrooms didn't even have a sink to wash your hands.
Red wine stains from the night before on the breakfast table, staff very slow and unfriendly. It's not a hotel, just an overpriced restaurant with some rooms attached.
This might be a place for "fancypackers" but even they might be put off by the poor hygiene standards.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lets_travel_well57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

Title says it all. This hotel should recognize that they survive on customers and sometimes the customer is right.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Feathers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

The FCC Angkor is a very classy boutique hotel, which forgoes the cookie-cutter rooms of the major chains and evokes a sense of colonial chic.

We spent three nights at the FCC and truly enjoyed it. The welcome we received on arrival was excellent, with staff speaking good English and being very friendly. The porter showed us all the features of our room as we arrived, which included a tiny TV (which we never used), a lovely deep bath, laptop-sized safe and a well-stocked mini-bar.

We were also informed that breakfast was included and was from 7 until 10, but if we wanted to go and see the sunrise over Angkor Wat one morning (which we did), they could prepare us breakfast as early as 4:30am and send it to our room, free of charge.

We had a pool-view room and felt the extra cost was definitely worth it – the pool is beautiful. The other reviews about lack of privacy in the room when you have the blinds open are valid, though we didn’t really find it to be a major problem.

We organised a tuk-tuk with the hotel to take us around the temples of Angkor for two days, and this was excellent. Our drive was a man named Mr Nut Malay who was a very honest guy - I would recommend asking specifically for him if you decide to do this.

Breakfast at the hotel was cook-to-order and was excellent, especially the scrambled eggs and the lao-style noodle soup. We didn’t eat lunch or dinner at the hotel, but we did have drinks at happy hour between 5pm and 7pm – the US$3 martinis by the reflection pool at the front of the hotel must be Siem Reap’s biggest undiscovered bargain!

Overall I would recommend the hotel – it’s location is good, only a ten minute walk to the main touristy area, and the services and facilities are very good.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jirrupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

I stayed at the FCC Angkor with a friend for 4 nights in September 2009 and loved it.
The room is very nice. Bathroom is great (although there is a little lack of privacy between the bathroom and bedroom - not much though - my friend and I managed without much problem and we are nothing more than traveling companions).
Breakfasts are fantastic. Staff is great - friendly and accommodating.
Restaurant/bar both great.
Pool area is really nice - a great break from a day of touring Angkor.
Would highly recommend this hotel. Great central location.
Would absolutely stay here again if I were to return to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rambling_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

My Husband and I were very dissapointed with this hotel. We personally did not like the open bedroom/bathroom, despite the sliding open shutter door, it totally lacked privacy. I had read on a previous review that they had to have the room curtains closed constantly and this is true, if you do not everyone will see exactly in all of the room, we also felt it lacked security. My husband could not get over how small the television was. We decided to check out and went to stay at Pavillion d'Orient- No 1 trip advisor, we were very happy with the decision, there they allocated us our own private Tuk Tuk driver included in the daily rate which actually was a lot lower than the FCC Angor. We had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaTaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#28 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Boutique & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
#72 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#5 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FCC Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FCC Angkor

Property: FCC Angkor
Address: Pokambor Avenue, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#62 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#65 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#66 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — FCC Angkor 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The FCC Angkor sits at the heart of Siem Reap Town, overlooking the Siem Reap River and just minutes away from Cambodia's most alluring attraction, Angkor Wat.Renovated from the old French Governor's mansion, art deco embraces chic hotel, creating an atmosphere of refined luxury and casual elegance. Defined by its lush green gardens and the salt-water swimming pool, the FCC Angkor embodies Cambodia's tranquil pace of life: a casual swim, drinks in the garden, dinner on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your FCC Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fcc Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing