We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered all the way”
Review of FCC Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
FCC Angkor
Ranked #90 of 354 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pampered all the way”
Reviewed 18 March 2010

My husband and I spent our wedding anniversary last year at FCC, we took the 3d/2n honeymoon package and extended it for another night. The package was excellent including temple passes to Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and a few others, elephant rides, hot air balloon (just lifts up, does not move out independently), romantic bath, at least 4 massages/facials etc, bottle of champagne with exquisite canapes!

We were picked up from the airport, served welcome drinks upon checking in (which was instant) and had their staff sit with us to plan what we want to do. We had a designated driver and car. We immediately left for Angkor Wat (believe me, May is an extremely hot and humid month to be in Siem Reap) followed by a quick lunch then to Angkor Thom and trust me, by then we were totally dehydrated!

Our room - average sized but well furnished except that they had a computer monitor-sized TV!! The pool was small but no complaints on that! While we were out in the pool, the staff was setting up our romantic bath. They took a long time and I was getting impatient (have had this at several other hotels and it did not take this long) BUT when i saw the floral arrangement (not scattered petals) in tub, it was definitely worth the wait! This was followed by a hour long foot massage in our room which is exactly what you need after all that walking. Then we were served champagne and canapes in our room!

Aromatherapy smells greet you everywhere in the hotel and you can select your preferred fragrance for your room. 2 lunches and 1 dinner besides breakfast was included in the package and the plus point is that you can order whatever you want from the menu - ala carte and not boring buffet style. So you are free to experiment with the variety, find something that you love and then order more of it!!! The shrimps served in those designer dishes were awesome!!

The staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke good english. Our driver (forgot his name) drove safely and could brief us on the historical sites quite accurately. We hired the driver to take us to the Bantey Srei temple in the outskirts and to the Tonle sap as well.

The spa was small but treatment was good. Overall, I must say it is one of my favourite hotels and I have stayed in various hotels of various sizes around Asia and Europe. Most definitely recommend this hotel - small with lovely architecture and grounds, exclusive, reasonably priced and with great service!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janeprem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    298
    65
    20
    11
See reviews for
139
361
77
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

I stayed at the FCC Angkor and their sister hotel The Quay, in Phnom Penh as part of my honeymoon. The hotels themselves are actually pretty nice, well designed, good food, pleasant reception staff - my problem is with the FCC group management. I paid in advance by paypal for both hotels but ended up having to cancel a night at the Quay. They said this was fine and that they would refund by paypal asap. TEN WEEKS later and I have received nothing, despite sending at least 15 emails. Mostly they have ignored them. On three occasions they have emailed me saying the refund has been arranged but nothing has materialised (and paypal is instant so I would have received it straight away). I have even had the FCC financial controller refuse my calls, and had someone else hang up on me when I telephoned to find out what was going on. I cannot get over just how rude and dishonest they are!

As far as I am concerned, holding onto my money is theft, and lying to me about it is truly disgraceful. I would advise against paying in advance for any of their properties as you may well not get it back. And it's not just me, there are two other reviews on TA from people who never got their refunds back from the FCC group either. I only wish I had seen those before I booked with them!

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Peachbreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

We booked the FCC after a recommendation from my boyfriends brother who had been to the FCC for dinner but couldn't actaully afford to stay there at the time. We were very grateful for the recommendation. The staff all greeted us with such warmth which was lovely after having a long bus ride to get to Siem Reap. The room was beautiful, especailly the bathroom. The best part for me was the breakfast. As it is common to see sunrise at the temples the FCC offer to bring your breakfast as room service before you go (i.e at around 4.30am) so you don't then miss out. we also had our breakfast next to the swimming pool one morning which was a lovely way to start the day. We had a complimentary massage also which again relaxed us. The whole ambience of the hotel was relaxing, we spent 3 nights in total and haven't felt quite so relaxed since. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, its a beautiful hotel in what can be a fairly hectic place.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank furrymonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

We got what we expected after some good research at Tripadvisor. Overall – a very good hotel that breathes some good degree of calmness and “colonial” feel, despite being certainly much younger. The FCC provides a relaxed sanctuary after some busy days of negotiating the myriads of temples in the area. The pool area, though not big, is a great place to wind down after a day out in the field. The rooms are ok sized with modern Asian furniture. The complimentary wifi at ok speed is certainly a plus.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating with attention to detail. The breakfast, though a la carte, is tasty, provides for enough options and keeps you going for most of the day. The coffee and the fresh French pastries with lemon curd were just great.
We have not tried the FCC restaurant for dinner but rather went astray downtown had very decent local meals at rock bottom prices in the pub alley area (sounds much worse than it is).

We booked our tuk tuk driver before hand as per recommendation of a friend. This is not absolutely necessary (prices were the same, USD15 per day plus some USD5 extra if visiting temples outside the Angkor Wat / Angkor Thom area). However, not all of the drivers speak a good English (yet). He provided us with a perfect itinerary for a full 2 days and was great company. More info under: www.angkorwat-driver.com.

The negatives? Just a few: the room we had (“Honey” – no room numbers, just names) was downstairs in a dark corner on the left, right behind the reception, hence with little natural light and privacy. Those, who like a warm shower, may be disappointed – the water was only remotely lukewarm, at best. The partially partitioned bathroom provides for little privacy – beware. From what we saw we would recommend to either find a room upstairs or splash out more and go for a pool villa downstairs (mind though, the pool area is accessible for all guests.

Would I recommend to FCC? Yes, certainly, subject to the few caveats above.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Saxons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Fantastic staff - nothing was too much trouble for them. Great location - 10 minutes walk to Pub Street and night market. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

FCC is very good what is wants to do but less forthcoming for other requests.

Clearly a very nice place to stay, spacious, attractive rooms and surroundings, good location, nice spa, recommendable.
Negatives:
too many mosquito's in the room, staff should spray.
staff offered female companion.....as a joke(??????)
no reply yet to my email regarding Bonus points
food not particular good
trips booked through the hotel relatively expensive but good guides.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdriaanNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

We stayed at this hotel with friends for five nights. It was excellent. The rooms are beautifully decorated. The bathrooms are particularly nice and the outside seating area for each room was a great place to relax after a hard day at the temples! The staff were excellent and very helpful. The spa was brilliant but it is best to book through the FCC reception desk rather than with the spa as they speak much better English and it avoids any confusion over bookings. The hotel restaurant was good although it would be nice to see more local choices on the evening menu. The breakfast that was included in the room rate was however excellent and available via room service very early if you wanted to go to Angkor Wat for sunrise. We loved this hotel and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandJAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#38 of 354 in Siem Reap
1,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Angkor
Shinta Mani Angkor
#11 of 354 in Siem Reap
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
#83 of 354 in Siem Reap
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Boutique & Resort
0.4 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#8 of 354 in Siem Reap
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FCC Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FCC Angkor

Property: FCC Angkor
Address: Pokambor Avenue, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#64 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#66 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#67 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — FCC Angkor 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The FCC Angkor sits at the heart of Siem Reap Town, overlooking the Siem Reap River and just minutes away from Cambodia's most alluring attraction, Angkor Wat.Renovated from the old French Governor's mansion, art deco embraces chic hotel, creating an atmosphere of refined luxury and casual elegance. Defined by its lush green gardens and the salt-water swimming pool, the FCC Angkor embodies Cambodia's tranquil pace of life: a casual swim, drinks in the garden, dinner on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your FCC Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fcc Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing