We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the FCC”
Review of FCC Angkor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
FCC Angkor
Ranked #79 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We just spent 5 days for the FCC Angkor and couldn't have been happier with the experience. Upon checking in we were greeted with a cool drink and a moist towel. We didn't like the first room that we were shown, but they had a room on the second floor and set it up for us while we waited. Once we settled in to our room, the hotel brought us a tray of desserts. The hotel is set up around a main 2 story structure, the restaurant is upstairs with an open kitchen, a lounge area and 2 eating areas on the balconies overlooking the garden and reflecting pool. The hotel is open to the street along the river and you can sit upstairs and watch the world go by. The rooms are modern and well designed. Perhaps the only drawback is the wall of windows in each room. If you have your curtains open anyone can see into your room. With the curtains closed the rooms seems a bit dark. We would push back the heavier of the two curtains and leave the lighter one to block the view but let in the light. The hotel has a nice spa and lots of modern interesting stores for shopping, including the McDermott Gallery. These stores do not contain the usual tourist trinkets sold downtown so it is worthwhile to look for something different to bring home. The pool area is lovely. The happy hour is fun with half price drinks.

The really nice thing about this hotel is that it feels as though it is part of the town, not isolated from Siem Reap. The location couldn't have been better. The restaurant draws other tourists not simply the hotel guests. The menu has a wide variety of choices for anytime of the day. The breakfast menu includes toast, granola, fresh fruit, pastries plus a full range of egg dishes and local Khmer/Laos noodle dishes. The coffee was the best we had during our month in Asia and you can order as many as you like. If you are leaving for a sunrise visit to the temples, they will arrange breakfast room service as early as 4:30 AM.

What I liked best about the FCC was the amazing friendly staff who went out of their way for our needs. Our driver Thet was absolutely great and we used him on 4 of our 5 days there. I wish I was going back again next week!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank janecois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

594 - 600 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2010

I loved this hotel. I read Tripadvisor before choosing it, and I was nervous because not all the reviews were glowing. My best advice is to look at the pictures posted by travelers, and if you like them, and if you like smaller boutique hotels, then you will love this place, as the pictures were true to actuality.
Pros
Great approachable service and easily understood English. Not overly attentive or pushy on selling you tours, but very accomodating when you need them, and can help you arrange anything.
Great location. Close enough to walk to Pub Street, but quiet enough to sleep, and beautiful ambiance at the hotel. It's actually across from Raffle's and the Royal Gardens, which are gorgeous to stroll around.
Excellent restaurant. Lots of Western options and Eastern options, and all are delicious. Yes, it's more expensive than a lot of Cambodian restaurants, but its still inexpensive compared to where I'm from, and if you get burnt out on rice and curry, you've got excellent pasta and pizza choices.
Adequate amenities. This is a small hotel for people who enjoy more intimate hotels. The pool is elegant and understated, but not large at all. The spa is the same and they offer 30% off to guests of the hotel if they book before 3 pm.
Cons
Despite their great simple design, cleanliness, and generous bathroom size, the rooms do show some wear and tear, which didn't bother me at all, but if you can't stand a few scuffs on the floor here and there, this isn't for you.
If you are paranoid about mosquitoes, again, this place might not be for you. The hotel does extensive spraying both outside and in to keep the biters to a minimum, however, because your doors to your rooms are these lovely wood framed sliding glass doors, if you look closely, you will see they don't seal all the way, and there is enough room that a mosquito could fly in. Now, I very seldom saw a mosquito in my room, but if you are uber paranoid, this might cause you to lose some sleep. I took no medications, wore 100% Deet during the day, took a shower at night and didn't apply any other repellant and went to bed with no problem, but that could just be me.

Overall, I loved this place so much and extended a stay of 4 nights to 10. I would live here if I could. I agonized over deciding to take a Garden room or Deluxe, and after having stayed at the hotel, I decided that the Garden room on the top floor is fine and dandy, if not nicer for those of you who like more privacy, particularly if you want to save a little money. Also, the tubs in this place are fantatic, and the water was capable of getting boiling hot if you wanted it too.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AureliaDifani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

The FCC is a very pleasant place to stay, although I had the feeling that it is slowly reaching the point where it could do with a slight overhaul. That said, we had a lovely room and absolutely no cause for complaint.

One of the highlights is the cocktail bar, with those romantic slow-turning fans and comfy chairs that take you back to another era – even if you don’t stay here, you should visit this to recover from your temple fatigue. Staff were unfailingly helpful and polite, food in the restaurant was truly delicious.

For those who are less mobile, the fact that there is no lift to the second floor could be problematic if you have a room there. I would stay there again, which I suppose is the bottom line.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fabmunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

has a neat tropical vibe, nice pool and rooms are good.
happy hour is great and the cocktails do have booze in em!
a mini-mart is just across the bridge for food and cheap spirits + beer
the only thing we could fault is breakfast. we are cereal/meusli people so white toast + jam + omeletes were the closest alternative.
they charge you to use their computer, so take your iphone to connect to their free wireless network
TIPS:
get your hepatitis A injection up to date (amongst others)!
1) from the market buy a large silver umbrella with a hook handle ($5 approx). perfect for keeping the rain and punishing sun off. else pray for rain to cool you off!
2) arrange to meet your transport at 11am to miss the crowds. by then they are about to come back to town
3) take your own lunch/food with you as the only eating places at the temples are tents - no refridgeration there. we just got baguettes and jam from the mini-mart
4) prices are negotiable! walk away and see how cheap something becomes. keep your sense of humour and at the end of the day- what is a\n extra couple of bucks extra for someone living in relative poverty
5) give your cambodian change (worth a pittance anyway) to those missing limbs

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank groundrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Booked FCC on the spot as the hotel we had booked had closed for renovations by the time we arrived. Looking back very glad we ended up at FCC - Fancy modern rooms, cool swimming pool and spa, great a la carte breakfasts included in the room price. We got a 3 nights for 4 deal, doubt it will last, but much appreciated. Quiet situation but walking or tuktuk distance to siem reap nightlife. Staff consistently helpful (extra bed etc.) and especially front desk. This hotel really made our stay in siem reap a special one, well worth going a few extra dollars.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chriselane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I loved this place. It's different to a typical hotel as the rooms are funky and unusual in design.
It's very clean and staff were extremely polite and helpful. We were met at the airport by two of the staff who chatted and explained things to us. Furthermore they'll arrange a tuk tuk and driver for your use all day for $15 (US). All our drivers on the three days we were there were fantastic, helpful and we were supplied with bottles of ice water and cold towels which are greatly received after a day walking around temples.
The restaurant food was sumptuous. We ate there one night and were not completely suprised when some if the food would not have been out of place in a top London restaurant. We had breakfast every morning too which was nice I wasn't so keen on the Asia twist with the full English first thing in the morning I.e having tom spicy relish on your omlette or in the middle of eggs and bacon ha!

Rooms were stylish but be prepared to hear everything from the bathroom as the two rooms are separated by a sliding wooden slatted door- quite an experience but not a problem at all if you're sharing the room with your partner.

Overall I would say don't hesitate to stay here!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah12091980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

The FCC Angkor was an amazing experience. The spa was beautiful, the pool area luxurious, the restaurant had some of the best food we experienced in Siem Reap. Truly a five star experience at a three star price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lauraan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.4 mi away
Heritage Suites Hotel
Heritage Suites Hotel
#43 of 374 in Siem Reap
1,356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shinta Mani Shack
Shinta Mani Shack
#10 of 374 in Siem Reap
2,247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Boutique & Resort
0.2 mi away
Riversoul Residence
Riversoul Residence
#11 of 374 in Siem Reap
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FCC Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FCC Angkor

Address: Pokambor Avenue, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#65 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#66 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#66 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £75 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — FCC Angkor 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The FCC Angkor sits at the heart of Siem Reap Town, overlooking the Siem Reap River and just minutes away from Cambodia's most alluring attraction, Angkor Wat.Renovated from the old French Governor's mansion, art deco embraces chic hotel, creating an atmosphere of refined luxury and casual elegance. Defined by its lush green gardens and the salt-water swimming pool, the FCC Angkor embodies Cambodia's tranquil pace of life: a casual swim, drinks in the garden, dinner on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your FCC Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fcc Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing