We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Elephants” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phnom Bakheng

Phnom Bakheng
Book In Advance
More Info
US$97.50*
and up
Private Tour: Angkor Wat Ancient Temples Full-Day Tour from Siem Reap
Ranked #59 of 181 things to do in Siem Reap
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Phnom Bakheng served as the temple mountain of the first city of Angkor. Elephants can take you from the bottom to the top of Phnom Bakheng Mountain.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love the Elephants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

daughter and I loved the ride on the elephants up and down the hill. The view from on top is 360 degrees and absolutely fantastic. Elephants are well cared for and treated the same.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    193
    162
    45
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
326 reviews
257 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Temple for a View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Visit in End of October 2013; On cloudy rainy day; Though no Sunset view; I insisted my Tuk Tuk driver went there; A long walked to the mountain top; Temple itself have a small group of Khmer Pagoda styles Decending and pararell on the staircase way up and way down;
At top there are big platform to see Angkor wat with forest view; the day i visited not much tourists cramped as it was just after finished rain; Still beautiful nice view.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TimSip81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Rhine Westfalia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice view of Angkor Wat at nightfall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

On any evening with the promise of a sunset there will be loads of people there. However you will need to get into the teple at the top of the hill before 5.30 or they will not let you in. The sun actually sets on the other side of the temple but you have the evening light on Angkor Wat which is really nice.

I don't know what a sunrise would lokk like from there, but it might be also worth a visit - if you can get in.

The walk up from the bottom of the hill takes about 15 minutesand is not too steep, the climb up the temple is pretty steep but not very long.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AngusfrG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Climb one mountain a day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We started our day with visit to Kbal Spean and that was a 30-45min real hike (path is not paved) and we planned to see the sunset at Phnom Bakheng. We weren't prepared for the hike! We were too tired coming from Kbal Spean although the climb up Phnom Bakheng is more bearable because the path is levelled and not too steep. Once you reach the top of the mountain, you still have to climb steep stairs to climb the temple.
There were many tourists when we arrived and everyone was claiming their spots waiting for the sunset. We didn't wait for the sunset to avoid the huge crowd going down the mountain and also because it was a cloudy afternoon and we knew the view will not be as nice.
Climb this for the temple and the view, but I'm not sure if it's worth waiting here for the sunset.

Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Angkor trip Feb14”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was recommended to view sunset over angkor so trek up a slope (about 15mins) for it. As you near the tower, it kind of look appealing with a warm sunset glow on it. But when you finally reach the foot, you're greeted by huge groups of tourists queuing at the makeshift stairs for their way up. Not much room at the top either, as the crowd jostle for a spot. Not to mention the view on top was marred by cranes due to ongoing conservation works. & the sunset view wasn't touted to be either.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank YipKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phnom Bakheng also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Phnom Bakheng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing