We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff, excellent hospitality, wonderful stay”
Review of The Seda Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Seda Villa
Ranked #169 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing staff, excellent hospitality, wonderful stay”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Everyone going to Siem Reap should stay at the Seda Villa. The owner is one of the nicest people that I have ever met. He is a retired tour guide who employs Cambodians from the countryside and provides lodging and a job while they seek out education. He told us that he does more work at this point in his life than he ever did but is not considering retirement and wants his hotel to succeed for the sake of his employees. He and his entire staff truly cared about our comfort and accommodated EVERYTHING. When we left at 5 am to view the sunrise at Angkor Wat, he made sure that picnic baskets were packed for us since we would be missing the hotel breakfast. The following day, when we were checking out but a couple of us were feeling ill from the heavy sun exposure, he first extended our checkout until 3 pm and then until our airport shuttle arrived at 7 pm because he was concerned that we were not feeling well. He did this at his and his staff's own expense, requiring everyone to come in early the following morning to prepare our room for an early check-in the next day rather than inconvenience us. The amount of hospitality and good will that we experienced was unparalleled. As for the hotel itself, the facilities are wonderful and clean. The rooms are charming and comfortable, and the location of the hotel itself is great. It is a less than 5 min walk to the center of Siem Reap, and just enough removed that you will get a quiet night's rest when you return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Green room (with an extra bed) and the Purple room-- both were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swati A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamSopheap, Owner at The Seda Villa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We all thanks for your choosing and staying with us and giving us a good credit of our service. We hope that you are going choose our place to stay again when you come back.
Thanks and Regards
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
62
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed at Seda Villa in March 2014 and was glad I found this boutique hotel. It was exactly what I was looking for as an independent traveler from the USA. Only six rooms and highly personalized service provided by the owner Sam and his staff.

If you are looking for an affordable alternative to hotel chains and larger hotels this is the perfect place. The hotel is located conveniently to central Siem Reap, the Grand Circuit and other key destinations in and around Siem Reap.

I stayed in the Purple Room and it was nicely decorated and comfy. For such a small six room inn, there are full amenities including a restaurant, laundry service, a pool, a gift shop and place to buy water or get a snack in the main lobby/dining area. In the afternoon you can relax in the pool or order a beer and hang out at poolside.

I met Sam the owner and he shared the interesting story behind Seda Villa, he had the hotel designed and built on a plot of land he purchased. His staff are from the countryside and all live and work at the villa.

The hotel is very nice with lots of attention to small details. Nicely decorated and a quiet place to stay that is nearby all the main attractions. Sam had his tuk tuk driver take me into the downtown restaurant and shopping district.

While there, I had my driver pick me up from the hotel and I did an independent self tour of all the temples on the Grand Circuit and places to see such as the handicraft village and royal temple.

Highly recommended!

A link to a video I did showing photos and tour of the Seda Villa

http://youtu.be/wXKV9wZHEKA

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry90266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamSopheap, Owner at The Seda Villa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for your review, your feedback is always read by us to know and track all our services that have provided to the customers. Thanks for your highly recommendation on our property. Hope you are having a chance to stay with us again...
Best Regards,
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Thanks for the comments from everybody in trip advisor that leads us to find this small boutique hotel. We have enjoyed our stay very much at The Seda Villa. We could not say it is luxurious but it was perfect location at the quiet place but close to enough to the pub street and old market. The staff and the owner is very friendly, the room is clean and comfort, the swimming pool was nice and good view of sunset.
Sam (the owner) has recommended us for our plan in next destination of Phnom Penh and Sihanouk Ville and that was a perfect trip.
Thanks all for all your help Sam and his staff!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertpavlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamSopheap, Owner at The Seda Villa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
It is nice to hear that you have had a great stay with us. It is the target we want to reach by making all of the customers who are staying with to get. Thanks your recommendation of our property!
Your sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I'm not usually a review writer but this hotel warrants being better known. Sam the owner made our stay in this small hotel a dream. He took care of all our needs and helped us book our day trips in and out of the city. The rooms were clean comfortable and well designed. The hotel was close the the centre which allowed us to walk everywhere. In the hot afternoon we could cool off in the pool and enjoy a cold beer.
This 6 room boutique hotel and staff was what we were exactly looking for. Thanks Sam!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geomtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamSopheap, Owner at The Seda Villa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for taking your valued time to review our property in Trip Advisor. Your rating is always very helpful to us in tracking our services of staff provided to you during your stay. It would be very good to hear from you that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Best Regards
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa Heads
Level 6 Contributor
784 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the blue room for 4 nights. Its a big, beautifully decorated room.

Sam and his staff are very helpful and very nice people.

You can see from the photos that the outside of the hotel is very appealing as well and the lovely pool is perfect for cooling off after a dusty hot day at Angkor.

It is a short wslk from the action along the side of the river.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamSopheap, Owner at The Seda Villa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We thanks a lot for your kind review of our property. We are happy to know that you satisfied your stay with us. We hope that all our effort will keep our hospitality is the best forever. We wish you all with good luck and hope to see you back and staying with us again in the future. Your Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Situated just slightly off the main old market area, it is easily accessible and yet quiet for a good rest. Hotel is nicely decorated consider its small scale and yet has its own character for local culture. Great boss who is willing to help you around on tour and even send you email about pick-up from airport as the place might not be easily found by small tuk tuk (taxi) driver.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChoonWea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamSopheap, Owner at The Seda Villa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We are happy to read your great review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will have time to come back in the future, if so you will be more than a warmly welcomed by us.
Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potsdam, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Seda Villa. It must be a new hotel since our taxi driver did not even know it. So this is really a hidden treasure among all hotels in Siem Reap.
Staff was very friendly and rooms and pool area was very clean. You can relax at the poolside since there is no noise, but you are also only 5 minutes walk away from market area where all the night life takes place.
Best stay for a good price! We will come back to you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glienicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamSopheap, Owner at The Seda Villa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your positive and friendly feedback. We are delighted to have you as our guest. Our team enjoyed your presence and are looking forward to see you coming back. Please let us know in time so we can organize your preferred room.
With warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
0.4 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#70 of 356 in Siem Reap
420 reviews
0.5 mi away
City River Hotel
City River Hotel
#93 of 356 in Siem Reap
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
Soria Moria Boutique Hotel
#134 of 356 in Siem Reap
714 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#41 of 356 in Siem Reap
484 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kralanh Petite Villa
Kralanh Petite Villa
#160 of 356 in Siem Reap
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seda Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seda Villa

Property: The Seda Villa
Address: 317, Vat Damnak Village, Sala Kamroeuk Commune, Siem Reap 0855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Seda Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Seda Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing