We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favourite temple site” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Preah Khan

Preah Khan
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Full Day Preah Khan and Neak Pean Temples Tour
Ranked #10 of 181 things to do in Siem Reap
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Favourite temple site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Not one of the major tourist sites but our favourite.highlite being the delightful old nun .the temple has ruins,overgrown trees,restore d areas,great sculptures and wall carvings although many damaged centuries ago.but still overall we'll worth a visit

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,135
    412
    59
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Temple. You should visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Not crowded, beautiful architecture, semi-ruined. It has it all.

The carvings are beautiful as in Banteay Srei. Temple is on a green area, with lots of trees. Some of them are entangled with the blocks, like Ta Phom. The structure is highly simmetric and concetric. As big as Angkor Wat. Combine all of this with the semi-ruined state, good lightining and few tourists, and it will be the best temple to take good photos. At least it was for me.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 36_WM36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A less visited temple - but my favourite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

A mix of all that the other temples offer and the bonus of the 76 year old nun in the centre, who will give you a blessing for a donation.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

This was the first temple I decided to visit. It was so peaceful as I feel others head straight for the well known temples. You begin by walking through a narrow garden lined with individual figures and then over a small bridge. There was a beautiful building outside of the main temple, very imposing yet mysterious. Inside the temple, as stated below, lots of structures have collapsed but many still remain. Th perfect temple for exploring. Although I had bought a guide book, I was very lucky as a local young boy started walking around and explaining a lot of features and showing me others (which I would have missed!). He also took some great photos and I gave him a small fee afterwards.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mermaid_kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I m not sure if it is a scam”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

A 21 yr old boy approached me and started talking to me about the site, and kept following me around. I was aware that I would be needed to give him tips and maybe that is how he supported himself. He said he studied at night, but when I asked more questions,it seems he could not understand, so I m not sure if he is really a student or just memorizing the words he said.He asked for 7 to 10 USD , and I happened not have small change. So in the end stupidly gave 10. Actually a friend of mine who have been there think they r really working hard to guide ppl. But I m really not sure if I m cheated. But I would suggest u bring along snack or small change to give them, as they really did a good job explaining

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank smchua_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Preah Khan also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Preah Khan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing