We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Pathway”
Review of Neak Pean

Neak Pean
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.00*
and up
Half-Day Preah Khan and Neak Pean Temples from Siem Reap
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Full Day Preah Khan and Neak Pean Temples Tour
Ranked #42 of 180 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Pathway”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is another favorite of mine. It was unlike any other temple we saw, but more for the path you must take more than the actual temple itself. Our tuktuk driver dropped us off at the entrance of the area where we had to walk on a long wooden bridge that cuts across a body of water. The small lake was lined with trees and covered with vibrant green life-form (algae? moss? I could not tell) which made for a picturesque scene. At the end of this bridge is a small temple that is submerged when it rains, which was the case when we were there. The actual temple is fenced off so you can't get in (probably as a safety precaution as it fills up with water), but you get a good view of it from there. We spent about half an hour here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank takemegalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    163
    108
    26
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Most Romantic Temple of Angkor”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

What makes this temple special is its location and time of visit. The temple itself it is very small and more like a monument. The actual structure is surrounded by water and nature and rarely visited by tourists or groups. Best time to be here is just before sunset when the evening sun together with flooded trees reflect on the water. Perfect end of your day at the Angkor temples.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Best to visit when pools are full...”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I think this temple is best to visit when the pools are full so visitors can truly appreciate the structure of the temple (which people used to visit because of the water's "healing properties" back in the day). I visited in April, and the pools at the temple were barely full. There's a nice wooden walkway to this small temple, which makes for a nice and short scenic stroll.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LGR_1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Neak Pean's pools again full”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

It is very interesting to see the pools full again with water - as they were originally.

The Neak Pean is now approached via a walkway - itself worth seeing, as the old Jayatataka Baray has again refilled with water as in old times. So the Neak Pean is again an island, as intended, just like the West Mebon is.

The big disappointment is that the temple itself is fenced off. One cannot go around to get a look at the spouts, each of which has a statue. To be able to appreciate it better, a telephoto lens is necessary, but then again, one is confined to only one angle.

Still recommended, though.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ermaximum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Peaceful Temple”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We went to this temple early in the morning, after seeing the sunrise at Angkor Wat. It is a peaceful place, not many tourists around. The temple is in an artificial lake. There is a wooden platform over the waters to go the temple. The temple itself is small. But the idea behind the temple location and its surrounding artificial lake is amazing, some one has thought about this about 800 years ago!!!!. The approach to the temple is an awesome sight.
See the photos attached. After visiting the temple we had a lovely breakfast in one the small restaurant opposite to the temple. We could get nice baguette with omelette and fried noodle. We were pleasantly surprised.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Singapore_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Neak Pean also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Neak Pean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing