We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of War Trash, Some Original War Photos, Little War Information”

War Museum Cambodia
Book In Advance
More Info
US$83.00*
and up
Private Tour: Siem Reap City Tour Full Day
Ranked #23 of 180 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The War Museum Cambodia in Siem Reap is the only war museum in Cambodia. The museum has a unique collection, you can take a free guide (a war veteran) and you can hold small arms.
Michigan
Level Contributor
320 reviews
234 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Lots of War Trash, Some Original War Photos, Little War Information”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I think I read in past reviews that this museum is free. If that was the case, it is no longer free now. There is now a $5 fee per person to enter which, considering the fact that everything inside is just battlefield rubble, is way overpriced. If the cost was a dollar, maybe two, it would probably be appropriate for what you get to see. The only reason we even paid to enter was because we had spent half the afternoon trying to find the place. Inside, there is one badly damaged Hip helicopter, a partially disassembled jet, the destroyed hulk of a T-54, several destroyed BTRs and other armored vehicles, and numerous artillery pieces, small arms, and landlines. When all was said and done it only took us a bit over 30 minutes to see everything inside and we were back on our way.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KeithK906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resselaar, Manager at War Museum Cambodia, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Keith,

We think you are confused with the Landmine Museum, here are the reasons why:

1. In the past the Landmine Museum had a free entrance. However, the War Museum Cambodia never had a free entrance.

2. The War Museum is just 5 km from Siem Reap, while the Landmine Museum is 25 km from the city.

Your tuktuk driver could have tried to find the Landmine Museum all afternoon first and later on, when he could not find it, brought you instead to the War Museum. Spending all afternoon in a tuktuk finding a museum is no fun though.

3. The 5 dollar entrance fee of the War Museum comes with a free guide whose making the experience to visit the museum memorable as you could have red from the (almost all) reviews. He is giving you also all of the war information you would had liked to known.


We therefore welcome you freely to our museum with a guide whose making really a difference in this museum.

The War Museum Cambodia is the only war museum in Cambodia. Here you could enjoy (all for 5 dollar):

- a unique collection (you can even climb on a tank)
- a guide (e.g. learning the history, explaining about the different mines and weapons, personal war stories)
- holding small arms (m16's, khalasnikov's, rpg's)
- unique and rare photo's
- photographing/filming

Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    399
    165
    38
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kilcoy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Museum”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We found the museum guide very informative. He told us stories that gave us an insight into the history of many of the machinery displayed.

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour, Learnt So Much”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Went here on Saturday as part of a tour and were shown around by Tom, a former soldier who lost his arm in a landmine explosion. He was very friendly and chatty and gave us a lot of the history of the museum, the war, and Cambodia in general. You get the feeling there is still a lot of animosity towards other countries like Vietnam, but he still had a welcoming smile and even cracked a few jokes. When he took us to where some landmines were still in the ground, and told a member of our party, "You first", you had to smile. We're going back again tomorrow to see more of the museum

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must see in Siem Reap”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

This was not a tripped I planned but after two days of temples I was ready for something different. I hired a Tuk Tuk to take me to the "new market" and he asked if I would like to go see the land mine museum? Or the war Museum? On A whim I decided to go here to theWar Museum. It is a small outdoor museum with many many tanks, cannons and various artillery. The guide comes with the 5$ entrance fee and the guide is what makes this museum! You must accept the guide and hear their personal story and the story of Cambodia from the 60's through the nineties! even thou it was heart wrenching it was very personal and each guide is a veteran of the war with a missing limb. I was so touched that I donated all of the money I had with me ..... sure it was only 20 bucks but that is a miracle because I am not the type to donate to people during my travels.

Helpful?
Thank tanman420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lost of rust and not much else”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We came here on the basis if tripadvisor reviews however it appears that having a guide makes or breaks the experience. No guides were available and no one seemed to really care that we were there. All of the vehicles have a sign telling you what they are but that's it. One tip if you do go - make sure if you get a tuk tuk that you arrange a fee for him to wait off you to take you back as there are no other tuk tuks waiting around.

As we didn't have a guide we didn't think much to this museum.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank superjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed War Museum Cambodia also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to War Museum Cambodia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing