We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visit to understand the recent past”

War Museum Cambodia
Book In Advance
More Info
US$83.00*
and up
Private Tour: Siem Reap City Tour Full Day
Ranked #25 of 180 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The War Museum Cambodia in Siem Reap is the only war museum in Cambodia. The museum has a unique collection, you can take a free guide (a war veteran) and you can hold small arms.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A visit to understand the recent past”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Our visit was a sobering reminder of the years of war endured by the Cambodian people. Our guide a landline survivor and former Army Major shared his first hand experiences of a war that concluded just over a decade ago.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HoiAnCooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    414
    172
    38
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sobering but very worthwhile visit”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

After the splendour of Angkor it was important to get a more balanced view of the very recent tragedy of Cambodia. The rusting hulks of war machinery seem appropriate and hopeful that that is how they will stay. The immense human damage caused (and still being caused) by land mines
was made clear by our very helpful guide, Thom, himself a casualty. Recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank orchipedso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historic”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a good tour. Takes about 30 mins to get from the centre of Siem Reap to the place. Cost about 7 USD by Tuk Tuk to and fro.

I took up a tour guide by the name of Huo (not too sure on the spelling). The majority of the tour guides in the museum are former soldiers and mostly mine victims. This is one of the few jobs provided to them and if you take the time to ask them about their lives and how it was in the war, you will gain a greater understanding and sympathy towards what the Cambodian people has gone through.

By learning about the history first hand, I find it an invaluable experience and information. The exhibitions are mostly rusted out due to the low budget of the museum. The exhibits are not properly cared for.

However, when you do do this trip I would advise taking on a guide to give you info about the museum and ask them personally about the hardships they have to go through.

A little tip also go a long way as like most people in Cambodia, they earn very little.

All in all, a worthwhile trip. I would advise people to go visit!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EngL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Good Experience and I'm Glad I Went”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This place is really interesting. It isn't for everyone though. I didn't bother getting a tour guide because I'm very familiar with the war, but just walking around and seeing the weapons of all shapes and sizes, seeing the photographs of the consequences of war and reading what information was there made this a worthwhile experience. $5 is a good price in a city where everything seems to cost $15 or more, and you have the freedom to take all the pictures you want and touch (some of) the weapons. I would go back for a guided tour next time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jordan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paranaque, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
198 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Wars that plagued Cambodia”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our tour guide was looking for this guy on a prosthetic leg, a war veteran who speaks fluent English. His entire family was killed during the wars (civil and foreign invasions), thus has plenty to tell including the origin of each scars he suffered from bullet wounds. Give tips (he'll truly appreciate that). See some old and rusting Chinese ammunition and artillery; you could imagine how intense the war was with the Russian rocket BM14 (16 cannons).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ECLadines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed War Museum Cambodia also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to War Museum Cambodia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing