We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
Ranked #139 of 385 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Our recent stay at the Empress was good, the location of the hotel is far enough out of the city to be quiet, but close enough that a short 15 minute tuk tuk ride gets you into the centre for restaurants, sight seeing, markets, etc...
The rooms are large and clean, the room we had was an adjoining rooms which were good. The water cannot be drunk but they supply plenty of bottled water . The drainage of the shower, bath and sinks were poor, which was annoying with 5 having showers, the floor was like a bath.
The banquet breakfast was very good, with a wide range of food available for all preferences. I especially enjoy asian foods when travelling so had the choice of noodle soup with various meats each morning for our long days.
The hotel was close to the friendship road which leads to the temples, and across the road to the cultural centre (would not recommend - unless with children, and not translated to english).
In the city there is plenty to do, the night markets are great, a wide range of things to see and buy, the 'pub steet' has some great restaurants, the old markets were fun to see the foods being prepared and sold, and the clothes, silverware was everywhere for sale.
We visited the landmine museum which I would recommend to learn about the khmer rouge history and the ongoing issues with landmines in the area.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the pool which was good, although if there is an event at the pool (like new ye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

What a great hotel. The price is great for a double room, ours included a full buffet breakfast and airport transfers. The rooms are a great size, fully equipped, and comfortable. The rooms have balconies but we warned if you open them (lizards, flies and mosquitoes will barge in the room within 10 seconds of opening you door) The hotel does warn you of this. Nice swimming pool, nice lounge and nice restaurant. The breakfast buffet is traditional food to the region but many options. Staff is very friendly, very helpful and always around. We got massages done to, it's more expensive than somewhere outside but it's clean and safe. I highly recommend this beautiful hotel, with its wood finishes and comfortable and clean setting. You can't go wrong with the price too and it's centrally located.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street side if you want a little more peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FCtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

The hotel is on Airport road which is a bit far from downtown and Pub Street. There is nothing within walking distance. The hotel stay itself is a good value with huge rooms, but the prices within the hotel (laundry and drinks) were ridiciulous. They charged $3.5 USD for a can of Coke at the pool. The pool area is very nice, there is a decent gym, and sauna facilities though the gym had no A/C. The people were all very nice, but two things happeend that were a bit annoying. I called for a hair dryer because the one in my room was not working, I never got it, and ended up using the one in the other room we also had. They have a free shuttle that runs 2x at night. We waited 20 min for it as it was scheduled to leave at 6:05PM. They kept telling us to wait, that they were waiting for other guests. After 20 min they told us that they would pay for tuk tuks because the driver wasn't there. Then they ended up having one of the guys drive us in the shuttle. The breakfast buffet is OK.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Good location with excellent facilities. Rooms very good with excellent view over the outdoor pool area. Food very good with many choices. Close to Angkor Wat and the main town.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bully1959Canaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We are a group. Just returned from our great vacation in Siem Reap. We stay in a large room which is clean, wooden, with good smell and good view to garden. Cambodians are gorgeous especially well-training staffs at Empress Hotel. We feel very relax during our stay. They take care of us, help us when we need any helps. We love the Cambodian carving decoration every corner in the hotel. The Wi Fi is available in room, restaurant, bar or lobby. Good location near either the airport, town center or interesting places. You are better advised to stay in this Empress Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweet316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed in this hotel four three nights in June 2011 and found it to be a very good hotel and very good value. Entering the foyer is like walking into a palace. The magnificent use of timber creates a wonderful first impression. We could not fault our whole stay here. The
room, the staff, the food, the amenities were all excellent.
If you are considering staying at this hotel and are concerned about the distance from town don't be. Tuk tuks are always available and are very cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjc1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I had a lovely stay at this hotel which I thought was great value for money. It has a lovely pool area and nice food with a good buffet breakfast. The rooms were clean and roomy. Good value for money with my only negative is it is a leisurely 10 minute took took ride into town and the markets. Not a big issue though in consideration that it is only around $3 for the trip or $15 for the day with many nice English speaking drivers out the front of the hotel. Don't be afraid to haggle the price with travel and most other things. It is expected and you may well secure less than half the price you started with. The above prices are a good guide for you.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0 mi away
Empress Residence Resort & Spa
Empress Residence Resort & Spa
#296 of 385 in Siem Reap
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#83 of 385 in Siem Reap
1,114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
#78 of 385 in Siem Reap
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Angkor Era Hotel
Angkor Era Hotel
#199 of 385 in Siem Reap
78 reviews
1.9 mi away
Angkor Century Resort & Spa
Angkor Century Resort & Spa
#170 of 385 in Siem Reap
360 reviews
2 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#106 of 385 in Siem Reap
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Angkor Resort & Spa

Address: #888, National Road 6, Siem Reap 92037, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#95 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#101 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £29 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Empress Angkor Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planning a trip, anniversary or romantic holiday? Our Hotel offers you a chance to take a step back in time, where life moves at a much slower pace and the atmosphere is one of calm and peace. Relax and enjoy a getaway with each other in Siem Reap, the ancient City of Cambodia and the Angkor Wat Temples the most subdued and magical CityEmpress Angkor Hotel is a luxurious hotel offering 208 lavishly furnished rooms and wide range of facilities such as in-house spa, gym, outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi etc.Furthermore, each room is elegantly appointed rooms and suites are complemented by the finest personalities to make this one of Empress Angkor Hotel'best accommodation experiences. Air-Conditioning, bathropes, slippers and full list of in-room features one comes to expect of a true convenient hotel. Our premium floor offer stunning view across the city and tropical landscape view.The in-house restaurants serve a wide selection of Khmer and international dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empress Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Angkor Siem Reap
Hotel Empress Angkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing