We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 days was n't enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
Ranked #139 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 26 March 2008

Hotel is only 5 minutes from the airport. We were met at the hotel by a warm and friendly reception manager. We found the rooms to be clean and spacious, although we needed to run the shower for some minutes before it reached a temperature that wasn't to hot or cold. A unique experience was the reception traditional Cambodian musician who started playing at 07:00am. The hotel facilities were excellent, the staff courteous and friendly.The only negative point we can make is the breakfast, tea and coffee were served tepid. To get to Pub Street we found tuk tuk types always available outside the hotel. Pub Street itself had plenty of lively bars and good restaurants. We made the mistake of changing £20 into Riel, and was presented with a stack of notes, we promptly changed this back into US $'s, which is the favoured currency. We hired the same taxi driver (Mr Yam) who picked us up form the airport, for our tours of Angkor Wat. He also arranged an offical Angkor Wat tour guide (Mr Thong) to accompany us for our two day tour. Day one, we visited Angkor Wat and the following day we visited Banteay Srei, the Landmine Museum and then returned to our hotel at 1400. We were then picked up at 1600 to be taken to Tonle Sap lake, to see how the Vietnamese floating village lived and watch the sunset over the lake. Overall we found the people of Siem Reap refelcted the hotel staff, warm, friendly, and helpful. We will definately return.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harry_the_haddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2008

The Empress is a beautiful hotel, with an impressive lobby, a charming
courtyard/swimming pool area, and large, spacious rooms. We got a deal
of three nights for 219 dollars.

Our room was large and beautifully decorated with hardwood floors and paneling, and a good sized balcony overlooking the pool. The bed was comfortable. We got breakfast delivered to our room each morning, which we arranged the night before. The breakfast was very good and reasonably priced.

The hotel is not located immediately downtown, but it is only a 3 dollar tuk-tuk ride to bar street/old market area.

The downsides: the desk staff had some problems with English, so that communicating was sometimes difficult. Communication problems resulted
in our not getting the free meal from the restaurant which was supposed to accompany our package - we had to pay for a meal we thought was supposed to be free.

The other downside: the shower was diabolical with a mind of its own. The temperature fluctuated from ice cold to burning hot no matter what
we did to the temperature adjuster thing. The hotel could not fix it. Finally, we figured out that if we left the shower running for about 20 minutes before getting in, then only warm water would come out. Still - pretty annoying and a massive waste of water. I dont think this was a problem with all the rooms, however.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rebeclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2007

After much research we chose this hotel to stay at while in Siem Reap for 4 days. I was relieved to hear from my personal tour guide when picked up at the airport that this was a fine hotel.

Upon arrival at the hotel my smile broadened, with its exquisite teak panelling & HUGE chandelier hovering over the foyer we were treated like royalty. The service & food was exceptional. The restaurant was very clean & majestic. The hotel is located on the main road mid way between the airport & town, in a quite location.

Great hotel for the price. It was a great choice.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wappaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2007

Lovely hotel, great rooms and amenities, fantastic service. This is a very nice hotel, a little off the beaten track of Siem Reap (not a bad thing). The pool is fantastic, and the staff was very accommodating. The only drawback is the restaurant isn't great (although the food in Siem Reap in general wasn't my favorite), so this is a small thing. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AAMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2007

During our 6 weeks journey through Malaysia, Cambodia, Vietnam and Thailand, my wife and I stayed for 3 days and nights in Siem Reap

This was one of the best hotels we stayed in during our 6 weeks trip through Asia. Clean large rooms, good service, great swimming pool and good breakfast.

The restaurant itself I would not recommend, you can have better diner in Siem Reap itself.

The distance to the center is too far too talk (with 40 °C in April), tuktuk is 3 $. YOu can rent the tuktuk for one full day, we payed 12$ but I am sure you can get better prices in city center were competition between drivers is severe.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Hugo_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2007

We stayed at Empress Angkor for 2 nights in April '07 and the hotel was fantastic, especially considering that you're travelling to an developing country. In fact, I found that the infrastructure of Siem Reap very appealing to any western traveller. We had also visted vietnam which I found less appealing.

The hotel was beatuiful and consistent with the culture. The minimal (teak?) wood was stunning. The rooms were very clean with an amazing view of the pool and the overall sevice was very hospitable. We had a great in-room thai massage for only $20 USD.

The food was fine, but not great, and the breakfast buffets were really crowded...watch out if you go for seconds, as the wait staff often think that you are finished and by the time you return to your table, it may be already cleared with other guests already seated....it happened to us and a couple other people staying at the hotel.

Overall, loved staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2007

Stayed two nights in january, and we hade a plesent stay.
The hotel whas a good 4 star hotel.

The bathroom a little bit to small, and we missed the shower. Only a bathtube. Lots of bathroom aminents, and nice towels.
The room and bathroom whas wey clean, the balkony a little bit to small, but we hade a nice veiw of the pool.

The pool area whas wey nice and there whas plenty of space and sunbeds enough.

The breakfast whas ok but we have seen better.
The staff whas friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Empress Residence Resort & Spa
Empress Residence Resort & Spa
#294 of 361 in Siem Reap
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#75 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,064 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Angkor Hotel
City Angkor Hotel
#279 of 361 in Siem Reap
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pacific Hotel & Spa
Pacific Hotel & Spa
#78 of 361 in Siem Reap
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
#71 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ree Hotel
Ree Hotel
#186 of 361 in Siem Reap
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Angkor Resort & Spa

Address: #888, Across Cambodia Cultural Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#97 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#99 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £30 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Empress Angkor Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planning a trip, anniversary or romantic holiday? Our Hotel offers you a chance to take a step back in time, where life moves at a much slower pace and the atmosphere is one of calm and peace. Relax and enjoy a getaway with each other in Siem Reap, the ancient City of Cambodia and the Angkor Wat Temples the most subdued and magical CityEmpress Angkor Hotel is a luxurious hotel offering 208 lavishly furnished rooms and wide range of facilities such as in-house spa, gym, outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi etc.Furthermore, each room is elegantly appointed rooms and suites are complemented by the finest personalities to make this one of Empress Angkor Hotel'best accommodation experiences. Air-Conditioning, bathropes, slippers and full list of in-room features one comes to expect of a true convenient hotel. Our premium floor offer stunning view across the city and tropical landscape view.The in-house restaurants serve a wide selection of Khmer and international dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Fastbooking, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empress Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Angkor Siem Reap
Hotel Empress Angkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing