We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Amazing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
Ranked #139 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

We got the best welcome to Cambodia, when we chose to stay at Empress Angkor Hotel. First of all, i got in touch with the Hotel Customer Service by e-mail, to notify when we are coming and make a special request to surprise my girlfriend. They replied As Soon As They Could, which was actually pretty fast. We arrived, we walked out of the Siem Reap Airport and saw our name, and our driver. We were happy to see how king are the staff everywhere in Cambodia.
So we got into hotel, and we needed to wait a bit so our room would be ready, as many customers were checking out. While we were waiting they made sure we are not bored and annoyed. Gave us welcome drink, it was green colour, not sure what was it, but it was nice and refreshing, plus cold-wet towels helped clean our face and hands, cool down a bit.
Manager came talked about hotel, gave us brief history of Cambodia and what tours we might join, and how we can book all the services through hotel. After a short-while room was ready and when we came it was just perfect to surprise my girlfriend, plus room got everything tourist needs.

P.S
Room service works well, everything is clean.
They got safe inside the room. Wi-FI.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    155
    66
    16
    10
See reviews for
97
116
29
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
CHENNAI,INDIA
Level Contributor
229 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We were a group of 11 and had booked 2 triples and 2 doubles for check in on 29th Dec 2012 and check out on 1st Jan 2013.we were received by the hotel bus and half way to the hotel we were informed that the hotel is full and that we will be put up in a different hotel. The bookings were made on 28th Oct 2012!!!!We refused and asked to be taken to the empress.The hotel manager was not willing to listen and we then asked to speak to his superior who was able to give us our rooms. All this took two hours and we had 4 seniors with us. We found out much later that the rooms that we had booked for 100 USD were priced at 375 for New Year's Eve .Please do not give in to goodies offered in such situations and make sure your reservations are honoured.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAVI K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Overall This was not a bad hotel to stay in. Good Breakfast and clean rooms. The main issues that we had with this hotel was that it was a bit far from Siem Reap down town area. the hotel is is a good 15 min from down town area with Tuk Tuk and all the good restaurants. The hotel does provide free schedule shuttle servcie to downtown area but still ...
Also the room furniture need a bit of ugrading.. at this day and age even the 3 star hotels have LCD tv's . The TV in my room looked like something form my Uni days!
Otherwise, friendly staff, good breakfast, nice pool and no other issues..
Go fo the room with a pool view....

Room Tip: Pool view room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ftraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

All the staff are always smiling and are very happy to go out of their way to help you, I would like to say the bar staff do a top notch job and are willing to share the Cambodian history with you. If i needed anything at all anyone of the staff would organise what I needed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazza21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

For 60 bucks a night this is a great option in Siem Reap. There are so many places to choose from, so I would not claim it is the best value in town, but the room is clean and pretty well equipped, there is a pool and the staff are very helpful. Breakfast is fine and there is free WiFI.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikitikitavi-kampot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

I personally found this hotel was starting to look a bit dated, especially in comparison with some of the nicer newer hotels nearby. They advertise themselves as a 4 star, but like my title says, I'd probably classify it as an upper 3 star, to a lower-mid range 4 star hotel.

There is nothing to do within walking distance of this hotel. You can hire a tuktuk to get you to the Old Market for about $7 USD (round trip for 3 people), which takes about 10 minutes to get there. (3km walking, according to the concierge, which I definitely would not recommend in the heat). There are some overpriced massage spas about a 5 min drive away, but there are some grocery stores within a short drive away that you can get cheap snacks and drinks. (the cheapest place I have seen Fanta, at 40 cents a can)

The hotel showcases a lot of wood. In their brochure, they state the wood makes it more warm and welcoming, which I can kind of understand. I personally prefer a more modern look. The hotel offers a small pool (which looks pretty nice and well maintained) and a gym. I am a big gym goer, so I went to go check it out and was very disappointed. The equipment is terribly outdated, and when the gym isn't in use, staff sit there in the dark texting on their phones. There are also a couple of bars/lounges, and a restaurant. Most visitors there will most likely be having their buffet breakfast in the main restaurant. A word of advice: get there early, if you go close to the 930am closing time, selection is very limited, or if you go after the wake up call for most of the tour groups, it'll be hard to find a table. The variety of food was mediocre, nothing really stood out as fantastic. I had cereal on my first day there; the milk was not cold. Not sure if this is normal way of serving milk in Cambodia or not, but I did not find it very appealing, and didn't want to risk any stomach troubles on my trip. Check out the coconut milk pudding in the pastry area. I discovered this on my last day there, and loved it! Staff are pretty friendly and helpful. Housekeeping did a great job.

Rooms are air-conditioned. There is a water kettle and a mini fridge. Load of channels to choose from ranging from Japanese to CNN. I was lucky to have a balcony with my room, which overlooked onto the pool area. Bed was pretty comfortable, pillows were too soft.

Bonus points for free wi-fi! (although signal is very spotty)

You can send your postcard from the front desk for $1 USD to anywhere in the world.

Toiletries available: shampoo, shower gel, toothbrush, toothpaste, razor, comb.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GroovieGurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

I think the hotel is preety awesome...The rooms are clean and bathrooms was okay...Despite the fact that the location is kind off far from town,but its quiet which what i actually wanted...The breakfast was okay ( buffet style) but they serve the same variety of food everyday which I was bored of eating...The staff are friendly but just that some of them do not understand english so communication was a slight problem here...This hotel is to be credited for the main lobby where its full of wood carvings which gives a traditional feel plus at night they will be traditional music played using a traditional instrument and the entrance to the hotel is way beyond my expactations...very very traditional...A must stay hotel in Siem Reap....

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the swimming pool...Its much quiter and triple sharing rooms comes with a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrGajain_NR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Empress Residence Resort & Spa
Empress Residence Resort & Spa
#213 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Hotel & Spa
Pacific Hotel & Spa
#66 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#63 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
City Angkor Hotel
City Angkor Hotel
#245 of 337 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
#64 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ree Hotel
Ree Hotel
#180 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Angkor Resort & Spa

Property: Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
Address: #888, Across Cambodia Cultural Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#87 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#100 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Empress Angkor Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planning a trip, anniversary or romantic holiday? Our Hotel offers you a chance to take a step back in time, where life moves at a much slower pace and the atmosphere is one of calm and peace. Relax and enjoy a getaway with each other in Siem Reap, the ancient City of Cambodia and the Angkor Wat Temples the most subdued and magical CityEmpress Angkor Hotel is a luxurious hotel offering 208 lavishly furnished rooms and wide range of facilities such as in-house spa, gym, outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi etc.Furthermore, each room is elegantly appointed rooms and suites are complemented by the finest personalities to make this one of Empress Angkor Hotel'best accommodation experiences. Air-Conditioning, bathropes, slippers and full list of in-room features one comes to expect of a true convenient hotel. Our premium floor offer stunning view across the city and tropical landscape view.The in-house restaurants serve a wide selection of Khmer and international dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empress Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Angkor Siem Reap
Hotel Empress Angkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing