We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sokha Angkor Resort
Ranked #73 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice value”
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Great breakfast, clean, comfortable, big beds, nice big pool. Great price and location.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seoullaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    961
    455
    87
    19
    7
See reviews for
348
599
99
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Cannot say enough about this resort. First class staff with a warm welcome, drink and hot towel upon arrival. The staff was extremely professional and helpful. The decor is beautiful and the rooms were spacious and clean. The pool is well planned and laid out. The only con is the restaurants were mediocre. I wouldn't let this hinder your stay. It was a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyF71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
128 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Having stayed at the Pavilion de Orient last year, we had a comparison to the Sokha. Booked in error (we thought we were booking the Sofitel) we arrived at opulent exterior (common to many Siem Reap hotels) of the Sokha. Buses were plentiful outside the hotel which traditionally would not meet our top criteria- quiet, smaller, less touristy. The lobby was surprisingly quiet, clean and check in efficient. We arrived at our room (two rooms, our daughter and her husband were with us) and unfortunately only one of the rooms had a balcony as promised. We called for a transfer but were told the hotel was fully booked. A caution: it seems the hotel sometimes considers "treated" smoking rooms as non-smoking accommodations. Be very clear as to your expectations if you book a non-smoking room. The room was clean albeit showing the wood scrape and scuff of not unexpected age wear. The bed was a king but with firmness in the tradition of Asian mattresses in general (translate: dont come expecting pillow tops.) The TV was a massive, old tube style with still a decent picture. The balcony was adequate with chairs and small table- large shrubs grew over the rail. The bathroom with it's somewhat stoneage yellow sparkle bath (and matching counter) were dated and ugly but clean. The standalone shower was good. The laugher for the room came in the form of the "free" water for consumption. Two .275ml bottles, but you could call for more. Come on- I couldnt even brush my teeth with that thimble of water. We went to the "Irish" pub restaurant. It was dingy and smelled dank. The beer was average (they were out of Guinness- as they were through our whole stay) and the food was below average bar grub. There was ANNOYING karaoke music blaring but the bar was virtually empty. Breakfast was big but unimpressive. They had all the things you probably want (egg station, bacon, eggs benedict, savory Chinese and Japanese noodle, etc) but you knew that you had had every dish prepared better and with better taste many other places in your life. We ordered a liter bottle of water and what they delivered for $7 was the same bottle we purchased at the 7-11 for $.50. Preposterous mark-up and we told the manager so. Caution: two mornings we were squeezed in with others at a table as we timed our breakfast visit before the bus throngs disappeared for the day. Saltwater pool was elegant and featured a cool temple like surround, but what pool closes at 6PM????? Returning from hot evening dinners in Siem Reap we wanted to take a late evening cool down. Pavilion de Orient was open till 10PM. Arranging a Tuk Tuk was handled at the front gate and cost $15-$20 per day. A Tuk Tuk was included everyday in the lower price of the Pavilion which is a preferable arrangement. So in summary it was an OK, clean experience, but for the money there are better places like the Pavilion, the Sofitel, etc that offer a greater degree of comforts, privacy and/or intimacy than what you receive at the Sokha.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kvf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Location : In the middle of the town, 10 minutes drive from airport, easy access to public
transportation e.g. "tuk tuk", nearby mart is just across the street,

Facilities : Business Centre, 3 choice of F&B Outlet, Ballroom, Meeting Room, Salt-
Water Swimming pool, Free High Speed Brodband, gymnasium, spa,

Room : Spacious with comfotable King size bed, tea/coffee facility & drinking water
(replenish daily), cable tv, fridge, air-cond, writing table, shower & bath tub,
safety box,

Likes Best : Free High Speed Internet Access with wireless coverage at some areas,
Quiteness of corridors & rooms - can't heard any noise from room next door,
easy access to public transportation "tuk tuk", nearby mart,

Likes Least : Limited Spread of Buffet Breakfast

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yatie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
255 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Stayed here in late February. One of the larger hotels in Siem Reap and a semi-grand place. The rooms are nice and very clean. There is a restaurant and cafe on site. The pool is nice and big and the water temperature was perfect. It was great for taking a dip at the end of a hot day. The lobby is huge which gives the place that "grand" feeling. If you're looking to walk out the door of your hotel and into the center of all the action, this is not your place. We liked it that way! The restaurants and markets are clustered in the center of Siem Reap and this place was about a half mile (1k) from there. It cost $2 to take a tuk-tuk down there and there are always tuk-tuks sitting in the parking lot waiting for customers. If it's not too hot, it's not a bad walk either, about 15-20 minutes. The concierge there can arrange any type of tour for you. In fact, the company that owns the hotel also manages the tour guides at Angkor Wat. The clientele while we were there was a quiet crowd, all adults. It seems like the type of place where tour groups would gravitate although if there were any there when we were there, they were small. All in all, a good place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2011

My wife won the privilege of staying two nights in one of the Sokha Angkor suites. This was a prize offered by Emmett McHenry to be won by a guest at the Christmas Eve gala in the Independence Boutique Hotel Resort in Sihanouk Ville. My wife's lucky number was 137.

Because we were going to Siem Reap on the 5th of January, we were able to take advantage of the prize! What good fortune.

After a pleasant flight to Siem Reap via Dragonair (a really nice air line), we went to the Sokha Angkor where we experienced a perfect two-day holiday.

The suite was elegant, luxurious and extremely well appointed . . . even a beautiful bouquet of flowers. We enjoyed tea on our balcony overlooking the beautiful pool area.

Service was prompt, very gracious and always accommodating.

We enjoyed a wonderful chat with the GM, Emmett McHenry, at the pool with goodies. He is a great ambassador for Ireland!

The Japanese tour agent arranged our trip to the temples. The tuk tuk driver and the guide were wonderful. The cab driver to the silk farm earlier in the day was very attentive and gracious like all Cambodians we met! The silk farm is a gem!

The two breakfast buffets were delicious and beautifully served. All staff exhibited the gracious Cambodian hospitality and the inevitable "smiling Cambodian eyes."

We appreciated the nice van and pleasant driver when we returned to the airport to go back to Phnom Penh.

Thank you, Emmett for providing such a fabulous prize! We loved every minute of our stay in your superbly managed hotel.

At our age, a return trip to Siem Reap is extremely unlikely. But, we will always savor our memories of the Sokha Angkor for as long as we can remember!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

This is a very well loacted property with close proximity to the Angkor Wat temple and the rest of the historical site. A beautiful property with fabulous food and great hospitality. The hotel had a very nice pool. The rooms are neat and spacious and the staff is very curtious.
The hotel has a few good resturants and serve the combodian food.
Good experience!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supriti_batra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#39 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,817 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#59 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#93 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.2 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.5 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#43 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Angkor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Angkor Resort

Property: Sokha Angkor Resort
Address: National Road No 6, Sivatha Street Junction | 1km from Old Market and Pub Street, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#32 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#41 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#57 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sokha Angkor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Angkor offers luxurious resort living in central Siem Reap! Provide instant Temple Passes- Within walking distance to famous Pub Street and Night Market- 15 minutes drive to Airport- 10 minutes drive to Golf Course- 10 minutes drive to Angkor Balloon ( Tethered Balloon )- Located in the heart of Siem Reap- Large salt water swimming pool- Complimentary Unlimited Internet Access- Affiliated with over 500 hotels across the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sokha Angkor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Sokha Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing