We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sokha Angkor Resort
Ranked #77 of 371 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We could not find fault in the 4 days we stayed at Sokha Angkor Resort. We asked for a car to pick us up at airport and a chauffer in a white suit was waiting and provided cold towels and chilled water. Hotel is well located and check-in was efficient and very courteous. The room was large, massive king size bed, couch and spacious beautiful bathroom with separate shower and spa bath. All facilities and services were of the highest standard. Staff were excellent, so friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast had a wide selection and plentiful.
This would have to be the best value hotel in South East Asia and deserving of 5 stars plus!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzEnzoLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vannak H, Room Division Manager at Sokha Angkor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear OzEnzoLinda,

Thank you for posting a charming review of your stay at the Sokha Angkor Resort. We are always most delighted to read great feedback regarding our exemplary customer service standards as all the team at SOKHA strive to exceed every guest’s expectations.

All of our rooms are larger than average for central Siem Reap hotels, and come with beautiful ensuite bathroom as standard. The central location is ideal for the leisure traveller, with many of Siem Reap’s iconic sights within walking distance.

On behalf of the entire team, we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon for another fantastic stay.


Best regards,
Hang Vannak | Room Division Manager
SOKHA ANGKOR RESORT | An affiliate of WORLDHOTELS Deluxe Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

725 - 731 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

The location of the hotel was great, 5min by tuk tuk (USD2) to Old Market/Pub Street area.

The hotel was beautiful, service was amazing, and all the staff speaks good english. The room was clean, big and spacious, so was the bathroom. I'm a little fussed about pillows, so the large selection of pillows available for your choice (upon request) is a god-send. The pool was gorgeous, and a treat after temple-trotting around for so many days (I recommend a coconut drink to go with the experience!)

The hotel food is so-so, and the french restaurant is pretty much like a general restaurant where anything from local, to western food is available. Breakfast can be crazy between 7 - 8am, because of I assume tour groups and business conference groups... Shortage of service staff, so getting a table takes a moment.

Sokha Angkor is run by the same company that manages the Angkor Wat, so you can buy the tickets at the hotel for the same price without risking having to queue and get tickets at the temple entrance.

The only problem I have is that our supposedly pool-view room does not oversee the pool at all. Not sure if they assigned the wrong room-type to us, or there are rooms that have blocked view. We didn't clarify this with the hotel.

All-in-all, the hotel was great and very value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vannak H, Room Division Manager at Sokha Angkor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Janise T,

I am thrilled to know that you had a wonderful staycation at Sokha Angkor. We pride ourselves on offering an exceptional level of service so I am delighted to read that you found the service was amazing, well-presented and that the room was clean, big and spacious as well as pool was gorgeous.

Whilst I am pleased to see your satisfactory in the main, I regret to learn about the service shortfalls you experienced during the breakfast time. Please rest assured that I have personally discussed your comment with our Director of Food & Beverage for their review and appropriate action.

We look forward to having you back with us again soon, and to creating even more enjoyable memories on your next visit.


Best regards,
Hang Vannak | Room Division Manager
SOKHA ANGKOR RESORT | An affiliate of WORLDHOTELS Deluxe Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

When we were checking out of this hotel, I commented to one of the ladies at reception about our appreciation for the courtesy, competence and enthusiasm of the staff. She said, why don't you write a review for Trip Advisor?

So; this is an excellent hotel. All the facilities are really nice, the restaurant, the bar, the pool and the commodious rooms (we had a city view, superior). It's close to the old market ($1 in a tuk tuk) and to Angkor Wat and Thom. And the staff are superb.

There.

Room Tip: We were at the front, but it wasn't noisy- good soundproofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arbegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vannak H, Room Division Manager at Sokha Angkor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Arbegar,

Thank you for your delightful post following your visit to Sokha Angkor. We are excited you had such a fantastic time, experiencing all the different facets of the hotel and the surrounding areas, and that you had a great stay overall.

On behalf of the entire team, I certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon for more memorable experiences.


Best regards,
Hang Vannak | Room Division Manager
SOKHA ANGKOR RESORT | An affiliate of WORLDHOTELS Deluxe Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This resort is huge, can't be missed as it is situated right on the main road. Staff were friendly and offered cold drinks while waiting to be checked in which was lovely as it was sizzling hot outside. Room is bright, clean and spacious, furnished with traditional wooden furniture. Bathroom is also large with separate shower and bath. The pool is large and gym is good too. It is centrally located between restaurants and Angkor Wat. Getting to the shops/restaurants were easy on a tuk tuk. We booked a guide to tour the temples through the hotel. We had a great stayed and felt very relaxed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LTWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vannak H, Room Division Manager at Sokha Angkor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear LTWM,

Thank you for the great review! I am pleased to read you enjoyed the service and location of our property in the heart of Siem Reap town. All of our rooms certainly are spacious and allow the whole travelers to relax in comfort.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Sokha Angkor!


Best regards,
Hang Vannak | Room Division Manager
SOKHA ANGKOR RESORT | An affiliate of WORLDHOTELS Deluxe Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We could not fault this hotel. Everything was great. Room was large with absolutely enormous bed. Eating facilities were very good and La Chanteau restaurant a great experience. Well located for exploring Angkor Wat and with a lovely pool to relax in on our return from temple visits. Staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. ( Tip - visit temples early in the morning, weather is generally better and fewer visitors, might be difficult but worth it!)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thepenquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vannak H, Room Division Manager at Sokha Angkor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear thepenquin

Thank you for choosing Sokha Angkor and for posting such a wonderful review following your recent stay.

We were especially glad to hear that you found the team to be exceptionally friendly, polite and that the service was tremendous. Every single member of staff at Sokha really prides themselves on making sure that each and every guest feels welcome, at home and relaxed, from the moment they arrive.

Thank you for your recommendation and I do hope we see you back at Sokha Angkor again very soon.


Best regards,
Hang Vannak | Room Division Manager
SOKHA ANGKOR RESORT | An affiliate of WORLDHOTELS Deluxe Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in Sokha Angkor Resort with family in November, booked via bookings.com 3 months in advance.

Location: Perfect for me. It is about a 5 minute (2 USD) tuk tuk ride to the centre (Pub street/Night market), or you could walk for about 15-20 minutes. There is a supermarket right outside of the hotel which makes it very convenient. Its not noisy at all at night.

Bedrooms: I booked the deluxe room with pool view, which I am very happy with. It is clean, spacious and with a nice soft bed (which is what you need at the end of long temple walks). Please see pictures. On my first night of arrival, there was a cheese + fruit platter- obviously not 3 star michelin standard, but very much appreciated! Slept wonderfully all nights (please see pictures). AC worked fantastically well with no noise.

Bathrooms: Clean, and comes with its own amenities (shower gel, shampoo, conditioner and dental kits). There is a seperate shower stand and bath tub. Well maintained.

Breakfast: was included. This hotel does have a lot of tour groups- and there are pros and cons for that. The peak hour for breakfast is around 7- and it can appear chaotic in the breakfast area, with not enough waiters/waitress directing which tables to sit etc. You can tell that the staff are working very hard. Having said that, on my last day I went to breakfast at 8 and everything was perfect! Food-wise: good variety, ranging from eggs, omlette, pastries, fruit juices, congee etc. Absolutely loved the noodle selection ( sounds odd to have noodles for breakfast- but try it if you go there! not to be missed). What I also loved, was the fact that there was a trainee in the restaurant- it is good to know that Sokha resort is helping its community and providing the training in hospitality! Just a kind note to management: perhaps have more staff from 7-8?

Gym: See pictures, there was 2 treadmills, stationary bike; cross trainer, free weights. It was never crowded. Free water and towel provided. Note to management: the cross trainer could do with a bit of repair, espeically the pedal bit.

Service: Upon arrival- staff greeted us with scented cold towels (much needed!)- check in and out is quick and efficient; so was room service. Everyone spoke good English. In the afternoon, there is a lady who plays live Cambodian music in the lobby- very soothing.

Did not use pool/spa

Overall I had a fantastic stay and would not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capricorn_always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vannak H, Room Division Manager at Sokha Angkor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear capricorn_always,

I am delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay at Sokha Angkor and I am especially glad to read you enjoyed the room and that the staff was all so friendly and helpful, this is the level of service we have become known for throughout Siem Reap.

We are certainly so lucky to be located so close to all shops, restaurants and bars, as well as the National Museum and the Royal Residence. It is perfect for families, couples and corporate travelers alike.

We regret to hear about the delay your experienced during the breakfast time. It is never our intention to cause any unnecessary inconveniences to our guests and we apologize for the shortfalls in our service touch points. I will definitely ensure to pass on your suggestion to add more staff during the peak breakfast time so that the service can be faster and more personalized.

We will also look to review with our Engineering team on the cross trainer in the Gymnasium room; especially the pedal bit as you suggested. Nevertheless, your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay.

Thank you again for the lovely review and I certainly hope we get to welcome you back again soon to the Sokha Angkor for the next winter holiday!


Best regards,
Hang Vannak | Room Division Manager
SOKHA ANGKOR RESORT | An affiliate of WORLDHOTELS Deluxe Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were a group of 32 people and stayed in Sonja Angkor resort hotel in siam reap.
We had a wonderful time here and were looked after very well. The staff were excellent and could not do enough for us.

The spa was devine. Food very good. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for that extra special service. From breakfast to dinner all was superb.
Thank you to Mr Emmet Mchenry for taking care of Sean and Mary Murphy,s medical needs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vannak H, Room Division Manager at Sokha Angkor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Helen O,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and received such helpful service from our staff.

Also, I’m delighted to hear you found Mr. Mc Henry is so accommodating and that your experience on property was an excellent one! I hope you won’t wait too long to visit us again in the future.


Best regards,
Hang Vannak | Room Division Manager
SOKHA ANGKOR RESORT | An affiliate of WORLDHOTELS Deluxe Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#62 of 371 in Siem Reap
3,159 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#40 of 371 in Siem Reap
5,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.2 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#91 of 371 in Siem Reap
1,439 reviews
2 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#76 of 371 in Siem Reap
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Angkor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Angkor Resort

Address: National Road No 6, Sivatha Street Junction | 1km from Old Market and Pub Street, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#31 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#40 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#65 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £71 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sokha Angkor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sokha Angkor Resort at the heart of Siem Reap and experience the Khmer hospitality with world class service. The Resort is conveniently walking distance to the near famous Pub Street, popular local handicrafts and Old Market, 10 minutes drive from the majestic Angkor Wat temples, 10 minutes from the golf course, and 15 minutes to the International and domestic airport. Large salt water swimming pool- Complimentary Unlimited Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sokha Angkor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Sokha Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing