We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Base to Explore Siem Reap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sokha Angkor Resort
Ranked #77 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Sokha Angkor is placed conveniently in Siem Reap- not far away from the Angkor archaeological park and also the local market and other attractions. The hotel is quite luxurious and clean. The staff are friendly, helpful and able to understand your requests in English very well.
The room was large though my room only looked into other rooms and the verandah surrounding the lobby so had to keep the curtains closed day and night.
The swimming pool is quite nice and large. You can spend quite a few hours lounging around.
One big advantage is that the hotel is authorised to sell tickets for the archaeological park so you can skip the queues and get a head start.
The breakfast buffet is ok- not many choices for vegetarians (but this is prevalent in South East Asia so I won't complain). It tends to get crowded from 6.30 until about 8.30 when all the tourists are heading out so the place has quite a bustle about it.
The night market is just about 10 minutes walk away from the hotel. And tuk-tuks are always available even if you don't feel like walking.
I had a good experience overall- few minor hiccups- even though I arrived at 1.30 (quite close to the published check-in time of 2pm) I was told my room was not ready and allowed to check-in only at 2.15. My dinner tray (when I ordered in-room service) was not cleared even after housekeeping came and cleaned the room the following day which was a bit annoying- but relatively minor problems.
On the whole the Sokha Angkor is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Level 2 rooms (unless facing swimming pool) are not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sukanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VannakHang, Room Division Manager at Sokha Angkor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Sukanya R,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your experience with us. I am pleased that you do enjoy your time at Sokha Angkor and that you find the hospitality and atmosphere to be worth returning to time and again.

Whilst I am pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and willing to help; I am sorry there was some lapse in our service touch point. I have requested our Front Office Manager as well as our Food & Beverage Operation Manager to be aware & to review.

I hope you will soon find another reason to return and I look forward to welcoming you to stay with us again.


Best regards,
Hang Vannak | Room Division Manager
SOKHA ANGKOR RESORT | An affiliate of WORLDHOTELS Deluxe Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

694 - 700 of 1,618 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

My family and I had a great time during our stay at the Sokha Angkor Resort. The staff was friendly, breakfast was decent, and our room was huge! The hotel is a bit run down but it is well maintained and its very clean.The pool was big and nice and its a warm salt water, children enjoyed the pool very much. The hotel is about 10 min walk to the Night Market and Bar/restaurant street. Tuk tuks are available at the front lobby all the time, so we had no problem going around. Sokha is a little bit far from the old market area which is not bad but not walking distance with young kids. It took only 5 min by tuk tuk ( 2$ cost for one way). Restaurants, convenient stalls and spas are all within walking distance.The Angkor Complex is just nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UmutAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VannakHang, Room Division Manager at Sokha Angkor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear UmutAsia,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Sokha Angkor Resort. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful rooms with great views in an ideal location and had a relaxing stay; we look forward to extending a warm welcome on your return visit.


Best regards,
Hang Vannak | Room Division Manager
SOKHA ANGKOR RESORT | An affiliate of WORLDHOTELS Deluxe Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Very good location to visit Angkor and go out, 10 min walking distance or 5 min by tuk tuk to reach town center.
Rooms are large, comfortable, clean and with a very good service, those with pool view are quite and have a small terrace.
Breakfast is very good, I didn't try dinner at the resort restaurants.
Staff at the reception is a bit slow, we had 2 rooms booked and reconfirmed before arrival by credit card and they couldn't find one room at check-in and my friends had to change rooms the second night (total of 3 nights!).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BebeMilano_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VannakHang, Room Division Manager at Sokha Angkor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear BebeMilano_Italia,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and for the lovely compliments. It is rewarding to hear that the highlight of your trip was your visit to the SokhA Angkor and thank you for sharing your experience on the site.

Whilst I am pleased to see that you liked our Rooms being large, comfortable, and clean and I do apologies about the slow service at the Front Desk area. Please be assuring that I will personally look to improve this area together with my Front Office Manager.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of looking after you on a future visit to Siem Reap and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of any further assistance.


Best regards,
Hang Vannak | Room Division Manager
SOKHA ANGKOR RESORT | An affiliate of WORLDHOTELS Deluxe Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel is located like many others on the main road from the airport. Nice appearance and clean rooms, also nice spa facility which we used. Food is good, the only draw back was the breakfeast, where we faced long queues as the hotel sleeps a lot of people, and most of them wnat to start sight seeing tours around the same time around 8 am. So if you want to have a relaxed breakfast, be there early.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 294265Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VannakHang, Room Division Manager at Sokha Angkor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear 294265Singapore

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience at Sokha Angkor and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I have also taken note of the challenges you encountered during the breakfast time. Rest assured that we will share your feedback with the respective departments for their review and attention. It is only through feedback such as yours we can continue to fine-tune our services to ensure better quality of our service touch points.

On behalf of the entire team, we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon for another fantastic stay.


Best regards,
Hang Vannak | Room Division Manager
SOKHA ANGKOR RESORT | An affiliate of WORLDHOTELS Deluxe Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Lovely staff, beautiful hotel, great location, very comfortable rooms. Gave it 4 stars as some of those extra/finishing touches ( mainly poolside and food service) that 5 star accommodation usually offer were missing, but definitely no major complaints or concerns. There weren't any pool staff around when we used the pool: we couldn't find towels, and, later, had to find staff at an indoor restaurant when we wanted to order food from the poolside menu. We didn't know which sun lounges were no longer in use by guests, as about 15 were not in use, but had used towels on them, and with only two people swimming in the pool, we were unsure which sun lounges to clear for our own use. Also, we found several hot dishes at the buffet breakfast were no longer warm, and often when a dish ran out, it was 20-30 minutes before it was restocked. There was a huge range though, with plenty of alternatives/ choices on offer. Rooms are spacious, internet connection was good, huge (really huge) bed, reasonable size balcony, with a table and two chairs ( poolview room). A very short tuk tuk ride (US$2 for 4 people) into Pub street, massages, day and night markets, or a 10 minute walk. Siem Reap is an amazing city, friendly, cheap, great sites to see, hot, VERY hot, but pubs/restaurants are everywhere, with cold drinks, super atmosphere and lovely snacks and meals.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VannakHang, Room Division Manager at Sokha Angkor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Sam M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It is never our intention to cause our guests any unnecessary stress or inconvenience. Please be assured that we will continue to emphasize the expected service standard all Team Members in our daily briefings. Once again, I apologise for the service shortfalls experienced.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Sokha Angkor again soon.


Best regards,
Hang Vannak | Room Division Manager
SOKHA ANGKOR RESORT | An affiliate of WORLDHOTELS Deluxe Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed at the Sokha for 2 nights. To be honest, this was my 2nd choice hotel; my first being the Sofitel but they were booked out. Easy to find - the taxis were just US$7 from the nearby airport. Received a warm welcome with drink on check in and got a nice upgrade to a suite which compensated for the room rates being > US$200 per night.
Rooms were very spacious and nice views of the resort from the balcony. Good selection at breakfast and a breakfast box on offer when we had to leave at 5am to see Angkor at sunrise.
Location was the best thing - close to Pub street and the temples of Angkor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WaimanCheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VannakHang, Room Division Manager at Sokha Angkor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear WaimanCheuk

Thank you for taking the time to post a glowing review and for selecting to stay with us over others. The hotel has an excellent location, adjacent to a central hub and within walking distance on many of Siem Reap’s iconic sights.

We are always most delighted to read great feedback regarding our exemplary customer service standards as all the team at SOKHA strive to exceed every guest’s expectations. All of our rooms are larger than average for central Siem Reap hotels, and come with beautiful ensuite bathroom as standard.

On behalf of the entire team, we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon for another fantastic stay.


Best regards,
Hang Vannak | Room Division Manager
SOKHA ANGKOR RESORT | An affiliate of WORLDHOTELS Deluxe Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We being in this Resort and we spent very nice time all the staff are very friendly, warm nd professional; very big rooms and always perfectly clean, nice pool with nice personal also, very good location and very impressive Christmas decoraion at the pool and in the main entrance.
Very good tuk tuk service they provide, Mr Sarou the driver very professional and kind.

Room Tip: With garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VannakHang, Room Division Manager at Sokha Angkor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Mily M,

It was our pleasure to have you and your family as our guests during your most recent visit to Siem Reap and I am glad to learn that you have enjoyed your stay. The team at Sokha Angkor looks forward to welcoming you again for another memorable hotel experience in the near future.


Best regards,
Hang Vannak | Room Division Manager
SOKHA ANGKOR RESORT | An affiliate of WORLDHOTELS Deluxe Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#62 of 374 in Siem Reap
3,174 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#40 of 374 in Siem Reap
5,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.2 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#96 of 374 in Siem Reap
1,440 reviews
2 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#76 of 374 in Siem Reap
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Angkor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Angkor Resort

Address: National Road No 6, Sivatha Street Junction | 1km from Old Market and Pub Street, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#31 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#65 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £67 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sokha Angkor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sokha Angkor Resort at the heart of Siem Reap and experience the Khmer hospitality with world class service. The Resort is conveniently walking distance to the near famous Pub Street, popular local handicrafts and Old Market, 10 minutes drive from the majestic Angkor Wat temples, 10 minutes from the golf course, and 15 minutes to the International and domestic airport. Large salt water swimming pool- Complimentary Unlimited Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sokha Angkor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Sokha Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing