We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ABSOLUTELY ACE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sokha Angkor Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sokha Angkor Resort
Ranked #64 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY ACE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

An excellently situated hotel, great staff, restaurants, rooms, pool, etc
Highly recommend a stay here. Some of the dishes served were upto Michelin Star standard.
We were there for 4 nights and really enjoyed it.
Worth booking a Tuk Tuk and guide and going to see Angkor Wat etc.There are 1 - 3 day passes available. If you do not want to templed out just go for the day. It can be incredibly hot and humid.

Noticed a review mentioned the cake stall - exceptional cakes and sold off at 50% off in the evening. The Champa Cafe & bar great to eat in in the evening. romantic, intimate, nice atmosphere, piano played by an excellent Cambodian man. The staff are also superb.
Highly this hotel - could not fault it.

Room Tip: If you are given a pool view room , ensure you can see it without having to lean out of the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevehan92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    448
    86
    18
    7
See reviews for
341
583
97
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Varies
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We used the hotel as a base to explore the temples and found it ideal. When you walk into the impressive lobby you can see it's an impressive hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was of good standard, and the salt water pool was a perfect place to relax in the late afternoons.

It also helps the hotel is in a great location. I'd recommend a room overlooking the pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1974A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The hotel enjoys a good location in Siem Reap - far enough from the busiest part of town to be peaceful, and close enough when you need to get to the markets, shops, bars and restaurants. There were roadworks at the front entrance of the hotel during our stay, but it was no problem to use the side-entrance to avoid these.
The public areas of the hotel are well furnished and decorated, as was our room. I found the bed comfortable, the room itself was well appointed and had all the normal appliances to make for a comfortable stay. Good size bathroom with plenty of shelf-space and a good shower. Cleaning done to a good standard.
We had a problem with being woken by the noise of furniture being moved during the early hours (4-5 am). We initially thought that the problem was being caused by inconsiderate guests on the floor above, but the problem turned out to be the beautifully made chairs in the dining room which are too heavy to lift and make a noise when being dragged out from under the table! The hotel moved us to a room at the other side away from the dining room and problem solved! Maybe ok if you are a heavy sleeper, but if not, you don't want to be directly above the dining room!
Perhaps the hotel could try fitting some felt pads to the feet of the chair legs which would likely cure the problem. We found the staff at the hotel to be all very well trained, pleasant and efficient, and they dealt with our problem very well, hence the full marks!
Finally, the cake stall is just TOO nice!

Room Tip: avoid being directly above the dining room if you are a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a convenient location. Not too far from the airport, Angkor Wat, Pub Street, the Night Market, and many interesting places to eat. There is one nice pool, a few restaurants, a spacious lobby, spa, and excellent wifi. The foot massages in the lobby are especially nice. (The spa does not have wifi).

We found the staff helpful, when we approached them, but they do seem to wait for you to seek them out. The breakfast was adequate, consisting of a mixture of Asian and Western selections.

It is very easy to travel around by tuk tuk from this hotel. Some drivers even know enough English. The US dollar is accepted everywhere.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

When in Siem Reap, this is the place to relax from a long day of Temples and heat. There are plenty of neighborhood restaurants and even laundry to drop off your clothes to get cleaned. Great breakfast buffet and a pool that is gorgeous! Free 15 minute foot massage at check in while musicians play traditional music. Love it here!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel three nights. I've no complaints about the staff, food, decor - you name it. It is a lovely hotel. But in the time I was there, I could see the area was going downhill. The road outside had been widened into a motorway. Lovely old trees have been chainsawed. The 'development' is some of the worst I've seen anywhere in the world. And, sad to say, it has ruined the area where the Sokha stands, which now has no shade or class. The atmosphere rubs off on this otherwise lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dana54Mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunei
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here in last week of March 2014. Hotel is conveniently located at intersection of Airport road & Sivatha Street. You can take evening walk from Hotel to nearby shopping area - night market or pub street. Alternatively Tuk-Tuk (bike pulled carriage) costs $2 one way. Angkor Vat is about 10minutes drive from the hotel.
Rooms were a bit old architecture but clean and spacious. Staff - like in many south east asian countries - very helpful & polite. Other things - swimming pool, massage and SPA, boutique shop are standard.
Hotel gave us a 15mins free massage voucher. Welcome freebie after long day spent in ruins!
Breakfast has good spread of western and oriental food. Though I must say that better menu is available in similar hotels in Bali, Malaysia etc.
Check-in & Check-out were fast as well.
In Siem Reap tipping is everywhere. Hotel bill comes with a dotted line for a tip! We were advised that $1 to $2 is given for hotel services, hotel staff, guards laundry etc.
To sum up - I have nothing very special or nothing negative to report about the hotel. For Cambodia Siem Reap - it is a decent hotel to stay in.
Lesson learnt about weather - Avoid going in March. Global weather changes made summer hot & humid - not expected in March.

Room Tip: Rooms after X50 (like 250, 350, onwards) have a pool view. Connected rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Narayan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#35 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,626 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#54 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#88 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
1.1 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Angkor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Angkor Resort

Property: Sokha Angkor Resort
Address: National Road No 6, Sivatha Street Junction | 1km from Old Market and Pub Street, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#32 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#41 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#52 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sokha Angkor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Angkor offers luxurious resort living in central Siem Reap! Provide instant Temple Passes- Within walking distance to famous Pub Street and Night Market- 15 minutes drive to Airport- 10 minutes drive to Golf Course- 10 minutes drive to Angkor Balloon ( Tethered Balloon )- Located in the heart of Siem Reap- Large salt water swimming pool- Complimentary Unlimited Internet Access- Affiliated with over 500 hotels across the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Sokha Angkor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Sokha Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing