We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong with this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sokha Angkor Resort
Ranked #73 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong with this hotel”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

After hours of reading various comments and price checking for Siem Reap hotels, in the beginning I wanted to book the Pavillon Orient. But they did not reply my email reservation ( 2 times) aside from the automated ones and when I called them long distance, the reception person gave me his manager number to call and there was no answer when I tried to call the manager. Thus making me lost my confidence in this hotel. On second thought, since we were going to Siem Reap during the rainy season, we would probably spend more time in the hotel, so finally I opted for a 5 star hotel with bigger rooms and good reviews and of course with promotional prices :P So we chose the Sokha Angkor Hotel.

Stayed 3 nights in this hotel last week. Location is good and there is supermarket nearby should you need any extra amenities. In my opinion, if you go in the summer months (feb to oct) it is too hot to walk anywhere during the day and you will need a air con cab. As long as you have a nice room in a nice hotel, location does not matter that much. Afterall, a air con car with a driver is only US$ 25 a day ( practically almost 16 hrs a day ) which is practically nothing comparing to american or european standard.

Room is very spacious although not with fancy decoration. Free wifi service in the room but you have to find the "perfect spot" (in our room is close to the window next to the bed) to have it worked. Otherwise, they have a business centre with few computers available for hotel guests and are free of charge. They have nice pool and a small gym. Breakfast is included and good choices of food. Their Japanese restaurant is just 'OK'.

Service is good and hotel staff are helpful.

My friend and I were happy with the hotel and we considered we had a good deal since we paid only less than US$400 for 3 nights with pool view ( hotel promotion - stay 3 nights pay 2 nights).

If you want modern luxurious hotel, this one is not for you. But if you are looking for good reasonable hotel with clean , spacious room, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hkhappygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    455
    87
    19
    7
See reviews for
348
599
100
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

The hotel is located in the middle of the city. I has a nice staff. good size rooms, large breakfast choice. Good pool and Gym. It is a little old fashioned in the style, but everything is relatively new and very clean.

If you want to pay a little extra, stay at the hotel de la paix. the restaurant there is excellent and the hotel is top class. It is just down the street from Sokhaand right in the midlle of Siem Reap.

Nothing to complain about here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maydane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Everything about this hotel - the location, amenities, courteous staff, cleanliness and ambiance made our Siem Reap vacation unforgettable. Mr. McHenry certainly runs one of the most professional and seamless ships in the service industry. I can't say enough about this hotel and the experience guaranteed our return at the earliest opportunity. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnRico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
193 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Several colleagues and I stayed at this hotel for close to a week for a business meeting. The overall service of the hotel was excellent and the location perfect. Rooms were sufficiently large and comfortable, and the ones facing inside have a nice view of the beautiful pool. The bathroom has both shower and tub. All of the staff were most attentive and corteous and a pleasure to be around. The fitness center, while not huge, was more than adequate. The pool outside was beautiful. Snacks served at the meeting breaks were quite good. It's an easy walk to the Night Market, Day Market, and restaurants of pub street. My only suggestion would lie with the buffet for lunch and dinner. The quality could be improved slightly and a little more variety offered. Overall though. breakfasts were excellent, and the other meals by and large fine.

We very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to others visiting Siem Reap.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobbNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Sokha Angkor is such a beautiful hotel. The room we were staying was just so fantastic! It was really spacious with a nice pool view. The Club Suite comes with a Hollywood bed which is bigger than the kingsize bed. There was even a nice big bathtub to relax in after a tiring day. The staff were so friendly, helpful and nice, It is the people that makes you feel at home. Wish i could stay longer, but will be back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeCeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Although not staying at this hotel, my friend and I were delighted with our visit to the Japanese restaurant. The Teppanyaki Room provided the setting for a wonderful evening.
As we entered the lobby we were greeted warmly and decided to have a drink in the main bar. We then had a walk around the poolside gardens accompanied by a member of staff who explained the cuising in the different restaurants.
As we were trying to decide which restaurant to chose, a Kiwi family (who were staying in the hotel) arrived at the Japanese restaurant and urged us to stay as they had eaten there before. God bless them, we had a great evening as a result.
The Miso soup as a starter was delicous. Then I had the salmon and my friend had beef for the main course. The Japanese chef and his Cambodian assistant cooked up a storm of excellence. Including a bottle of red wine, we paid about $43 dollars each for a splendid culinary experience. Not a cheap night but it was great value for money.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phnom penh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Home from home the Sokha Angkor resort was a welcome breath of fresh air on a recent golfing weekend to Siem Reap. A 5 Star hotel that offers every amenity and comfort.
Highly recommended and a perfect place to unwind after visiting the magnificent Angkorian temples. Go on treat yourself - it really is worth the splurge.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanhaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#39 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,821 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#59 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#93 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.2 mi away
Raffles Grand Hotel d'Angkor
0.5 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#44 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Angkor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Angkor Resort

Property: Sokha Angkor Resort
Address: National Road No 6, Sivatha Street Junction | 1km from Old Market and Pub Street, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#32 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#41 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#57 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sokha Angkor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Angkor offers luxurious resort living in central Siem Reap! Provide instant Temple Passes- Within walking distance to famous Pub Street and Night Market- 15 minutes drive to Airport- 10 minutes drive to Golf Course- 10 minutes drive to Angkor Balloon ( Tethered Balloon )- Located in the heart of Siem Reap- Large salt water swimming pool- Complimentary Unlimited Internet Access- Affiliated with over 500 hotels across the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sokha Angkor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Sokha Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing