We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for a Golf or Sight Seeing Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sokha Angkor Resort
Ranked #75 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
kuala lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for a Golf or Sight Seeing Visit”
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Had a fantastic golf trip to Siem Reap using this hotel as our base. Fantastic service and standard of facilities. Attentive General Manager and very competitive rates. I would recommend this to any type of groups. Our group was 8 guys between 28 and 38. I especially recommend getting a pool view room next to the waterfall for anyone that has problems falling asleep at night. It was extremely relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkellyasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    981
    457
    89
    19
    7
See reviews for
352
608
102
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Sokha though I didn't spend a ton of time in the room. Siem Reap is just such a great city that their really isn't much reason to stay inside. The pool was beautiful and the hotel was well maintained. No complaints. The breakfast buffet was limited but good overall.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasVacationer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

The Sokha Angkor I can highly recommend. A very new, clean and nice hotel.
The location in Siem Reap is excellent, with the city center in walking distance.
Good Restaurants are in walking distance as well.
For relaxation, the Irish Pub in the basement is the place to go later at the night.
Excellent breakfast buffet, to get started for the day at Angkor Wat, which is only 4 km away.
Very nice as well, the pool area.
The staff is very nice, helpful and always have smile for you.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKBeij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We had a great 3 days in Angkor staying at the Sokha. All the people in Cambodia treated us with honesty and warmth. It's a shame we could not stay longer as the place was fantastic.

Angkor as a UNESCO world heritage site is worth visiting once in anyone's lifetime. The place has a romantic and archaic tint to it and there's plenty of things to do around.

Sokha Angkor as a resort was great. Good value for money, very friendly staff and actually a good restaurant. You'll enjoy your breakfast.

Their pool is great for the afternoon in between visits to the temple and they also have "dancing Apsara" nights for business groups which we were lucky to enjoy from our hotel balcony.

A great stay overall and no negatives to mention.
Panos

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaniosBanios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

I was in Siem Reap for just 3 nights, travelling alone.
I chose Sokha Angkor based on value for money and location, also for its facilities (pool and gym in particular)
From the moment I arrived to the moment I left, I was made to feel like a valued guest. The reception staff, tour desk staff, concierge, bar and restaurant staff are all very welcoming and appear to enjoy their jobs. In fact I didn't see a glum face in the building.
Accommodation : My room (deluxe city view) was a very good size - very comfortable indeed, if a little dimly lit (I often find this problem in hotels). Though it was supposed to be city view, it did actually look over the internal courtyard, but I couldn't quite see the swimming pool. This is one of the very few rooms which does not have a balcony). The bathroom in particular was very nicely appointed with a huge natural stone bath and separate walk in shower.
Pool area: Lovely. Beautiful pool and plenty of sunbeds - but of course this is really a destination for sight-seeing and I barely saw anybody taking in the sun.
Gym: Very well appointed with good facilities. 2 treadmills, cycles and plenty of freeweights, but inexplicably no mats for ab work etc.
Spa: Looked fab but I didn't get the chance to use. Not surprisingly they get very booked up for late afternoon/early evening slots and were unable to accommodate me.. so book ahead if you want a massage. But honestly, it is MUCH cheaper outside the hotel and there are plenty of offerings if you do want a massage in town. I guess you have to be a bit carefull though.
Restaurants : Breakfast buffet is more than ample... lots of nice things whatever nationality you are. There are a lot of Japanese tourists in this hotel and there is a lot options to appeal to them (if you like noodles and fish for breakfast). Breakfast is very busy though as most people seem to have early tour starts so don't expect a relaxed experience. There are 3 restaurants for dining in the evening. 2 of them serve local specialities and international food - but actually their menus and prices are the same - but one restaurant has a more "fine dining" ambience to it. I found that a bit odd to be honest. The food is good though and not overly expensive. The other restaurant is Japanese and I did not try it.
Bar: The Irish Bar is very nice but on 2 occasions I popped in for a beer I was the only person there. The main bar gives out onto the pool area and is really very nice at any time of day. They also have a lovely little cake and snack counter... you can even buy Sushi boxes to go!
Location: Very central for the main drag and the night market and plenty of local restaurants. Grab a tuk-tuk for the old town/river areas. You will have no problem getting a tuk tuk or taxi in front of the hotel - they will call one for you. I did not negotiate too hard - for the sake of a dollar or two this seemed a hard thing to do when people have so little in this country. I was literally begged for work by a number of tuk tuk drivers and they really do appreciate any small tip. Hotel is also only about 20 mins tuk tuk ride away from Angkor Wat and a number of the other main temples. I saw the main 3 in just one day... a bit full on and very hot but really an incredible way to spend a few hours. I believe that many of the Japanese tourists were there for the full 5 day temple experience. One day did it for me. Maybe I need to eat more noodles!
In short, I would not hesitate to return. I would definitely recommend to any visitor who's main intention is sight seeing. Maybe stay at the Banyan tree or somewhere really flash if you are only there for the hotel, but the Sokha Angkor is a seriously solid offering and you will not fee short-changed.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OverworkedUnderpaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2010

We stay at this hotel on the 6/12/2010 to 9/12/2010. The location of the hotel is good and convenient. Easy access to many restaurant and quite near the old market. The buffet breakfast serve daily are really delicious! All staffs of the hotel are well mannered, helpful and always with a smiling face when they see the guests! The room are always clean, neat and tidy whenever we are back to our room. Would strongly recomend it to anyone who wishes to visit Siem Reap.

Lim G S
Malaysia

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callielim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phnom penh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Recently came back from a fantastic stay in Siem Reap. All the amenities at this hotel are top notch, in particular the beautiful and peaceful pool. Our room was huge and the staff at Sokha couldn't have done more for us. In a very convenient location close to the centre of town and the temples. Overall, an excellent luxury choice, and well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cambo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Angkor
Le Meridien Angkor
#61 of 353 in Siem Reap
2,889 reviews
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#41 of 353 in Siem Reap
5,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#96 of 353 in Siem Reap
1,361 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
0.5 mi away
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
Park Hyatt Siem Reap
#49 of 353 in Siem Reap
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokha Angkor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokha Angkor Resort

Property: Sokha Angkor Resort
Address: National Road No 6, Sivatha Street Junction | 1km from Old Market and Pub Street, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#32 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#41 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#58 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sokha Angkor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokha Angkor offers luxurious resort living in central Siem Reap! Provide instant Temple Passes- Within walking distance to famous Pub Street and Night Market- 15 minutes drive to Airport- 10 minutes drive to Golf Course- 10 minutes drive to Angkor Balloon ( Tethered Balloon )- Located in the heart of Siem Reap- Large salt water swimming pool- Complimentary Unlimited Internet Access- Affiliated with over 500 hotels across the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sokha Angkor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokha Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Sokha Angkor Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing