We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Black Marks in the First Hour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Ranked #91 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“4 Black Marks in the First Hour”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

“You don’t get a second chance to create a first impression.” How true, and Prince d”Angkor went belly up in the first impression department. (1) My complimentary transfer from the airport turned into a 20-minute whine by a driver who wanted to know why all the tourists he gave his telephone number to never called him. The whole ride was one self-promotion for using his services and when I indicated I was not interested in tourist attractions, he was not shy about his disappointment. (2) At the front desk I indicated I had a reservation booked directly with the hotel only to be told that no superior room was available and I would have to take a deluxe room and pay an additional $30 more per night. My reaction quickly cured the receptionist of her illusions--a superior room suddenly materialized and my original room rate was confirmed. (3) After the bellman showed me how to operate the in-room safe he departed. I tried it myself and was unable to open it. Since the bellman was still in the hall, I called him back. No problem, he pulled out a key and unlocked the safe on the spot! Earth to management: giving a master key to every person who carries luggage destroys the whole concept of security for a guest’s belongings. (On the plus side, if you like the safe you can take it home since it is not attached to anything.) (4) Shortly after arrival I needed to make a local call. When I had trouble making the call, I called the front desk. I was told they would call me back; I wasn’t really surprised when the callback never came. All of this happened during the first hour of my stay: Welcome to The Prince d’Angkor.

The hotel itself is beautifully designed with a large open lobby, well-appointed, spacious rooms, and an exceptionally attractive pool area. I would describe it as comparable to a good Marriott hotel in the USA. But like an attractive woman who disappoints on better acquaintance, it has personality problems.

Unlike a Marriott, the breakfast buffet is uninspired, consisting of the usual suspects and offering limited choices. When food runs out it is not replenished. You may find that with 30 minutes remaining for breakfast there is no bacon, no potatoes, no ingredients to add to an omelet and no coffee (which is just as well since the coffee is pretty bland).

Other negatives include rock-hard mattresses that may interfere with sleep and a disco across the street where merry makers laugh and yell as they exit at 2am--take note if you have a room facing the front. The staff, on the other hand, is quite cheerful and helpful, which seems to be the norm in Cambodia.

In summary, this is a beautiful property with great potential that is not currently being realized.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front can be noisy late at night because of a nearby disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony11234354567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Prince, General Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Anthony11234354567,

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to leave a comment following your recent stay at Prince D’Angkor Hotel & Spa.

On behalf of The Management of Prince D’Angkor Hotel & Spa I would like to thank for your bringing this matter to our attention and please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenient which caused you during stay with us. We work hard on those issues every day in order to change.

We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us to improve the service levels.

It is our goal to retain you as a satisfy customer and we hope that we can serve you again in the near future.

Bernard Houppertz – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    564
    149
    40
    16
See reviews for
271
472
114
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This hotel is conveniently located near the Pub Street and night markets. There is also a shopping mall across the street. The double room is spacious with wooden floor. The wifi is free, although the signal reception in our room is very poor. They also served a variety of foods for breakfast. They offer discount for spa, although for me it’s still pricey, as you can find many affordable massage places along the night market.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junidani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Prince, General Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Junidani ,

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to leave a comment following your recent stay at Prince D’Angkor Hotel & Spa.

We are so delighted to hear that you had enjoyed and most satisfied with our service and hospitality. We are sorry for the inconvenience with the WiFi during your stay.

On behalf the team of Prince D’Angkor Hotel & Spa, we thank you for your comment and looking forward to host you again in the near future.

Bernard Houppertz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed in this hotel November 2012 and the hotel was amazing. Stayed again January 2014 and the hotel is looking old and tired. Needs a lot of maintenance to be done which seems to be the last thing on their mind. Pool view rooms above the reception in the main building have the sun streaming through thin drapes and makes the room bright from sunrise. Great location close to night markets, shops and restaurants. Hotel restaurant is slow and the food was not great. I would recommend eating out other than included breakfast. Very slow to replenish food at breakfast time. Beds as hard as rocks.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that look down the pool not across. Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mrs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Prince, General Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Mrs W ,

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to leave a comment following your recent stay at Prince D’Angkor Hotel & Spa.

On behalf of The Management of Prince D’Angkor Hotel & Spa I would like to thank for your bringing this matter to our attention and please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenient which caused you during stay with us. We work hard on that issue every day in order to change. The hotel start the renovation step by step.

We highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist to better the product and the Hotel is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.

It is our goal to retain you as a satisfy customer and we hope that we can serve you again in the near future.

Bernard Houppertz – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I spent 2 nights at the hotel and 1 nighte at Somadevi Angkor Hotel next to this hotel. This hotel is in the middle of Pub Street. Pub Street is very crowded but very sceneary. My children reayy enjoyed swimming at pool. This hotel looks a little old but TV's new. Free WiFi. I bookd two rooms but rooms seperated from each other. This hotel said now is high season. I am disappinted this didn't consider all travellers situation. breakfast is quite good. Usaually wester style. a few chinese food like noodle. but my children liked foods. travellers are from several countires. I can hear english, spanish, french, chinese, japanese, korean. very diverse.

Room Tip: Spa is good. Hot spa is behind poolside. In the morning, I swim for wake-up and then I relaxed in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yongjin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Prince, General Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Yongjin123,

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to leave a comment following your recent stay at Prince D’Angkor Hotel & Spa.

We are so delighted to hear that you had enjoyed and most satisfied with our service and hospitality. We are sorry for the inconvenience with the separation of the rooms during your stay.

On behalf the team of Prince D’Angkor Hotel & Spa, we thank you for your comment and looking forward to host you again in the near future.

Bernard Houppertz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Spent 4 nights at this hotel wth our young family. Loved the central location, friendly staff, sumptous breakfast and fabulous pool. Only thing we didn't like was the hotel allocated us two rooms far from each other. We also had a dreadful dining experience at a large Xmas eve dinner function we attended.....so I wouldn't eat there for dinner! There are loads of great food options out on the street.
My husband tried out the spa for a massage but found the serenity was interrupted by pool maintenance works happening at the time.
Nevetheless, our family voted this hotel our favourite from several hotels we have stayed during our Indochina trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Prince, General Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Linda N,

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to leave a comment following your recent stay at Prince D’Angkor Hotel & Spa.

We are so delighted to hear that you had enjoyed and most satisfied with our service and hospitality. We are sorry for the inconvenience during your spa treatment because the Fitness was under renovation which is now finished.

On behalf the team of Prince D’Angkor Hotel & Spa, we thank you for your comment and looking forward to host you again in the near future.

Bernard Houppertz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Lovely hotel !
Rooms very large, a blend of traditional and modern and very comfortable.
Food – rather expensive – rather eat out (try Pub Street – excellent restaurants and a huge choice) Hotel is conveniently located (try the “Doctor Fish” for your tired feet, outside !)
Breakfast was however excellent. Quiet, relaxing and generally a good choice for Siem Reap. We enjoyed our stay !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colink114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Prince, General Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear duncct ,

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to leave a comment following your recent stay at Prince D’Angkor Hotel & Spa.

We are so delighted to hear that you had enjoyed and most satisfied with our service and hospitality.

On behalf of the team at Prince D’Angkor Hotel & Spa, we thank you for your observation and looking forward to host you again in the near future.

Bernard Houppertz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siam Reap Cambodia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were put here by our hotel as they had overbooked the hotel we were meant to stay in. Over booking is common in Siam Reap We had mixed feelings but the hotel was really good and the rooms were big and spacious. Clean. Helpful staff and about 5 minute walk or $1 tuk tuk ride to main café and bar scene. Huge pool
Good buffet breakfast, only down side was that it was indoor restaurant area no outside space.
This is a big hotel so you will get lost in the crowd. No lifts to the rooms in our section..
Would stay again but not at their rack rate

Room Tip: Get Balcony overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Prince, General Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Colin C ,

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to leave a comment following your recent stay at Prince D’Angkor Hotel & Spa.

We are so delighted to hear that you had enjoyed with our service and hospitality.

On behalf of management and team at Prince D’Angkor Hotel & Spa, we are very much appreciated and looking forward to host you again in the future.

Bernard Houppertz – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#66 of 337 in Siem Reap
1,514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Boutique & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Angkor Paradise Hotel
Angkor Paradise Hotel
#97 of 337 in Siem Reap
854 reviews
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#37 of 337 in Siem Reap
4,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
Chateau d'Angkor La Residence
#70 of 337 in Siem Reap
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa

Property: Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Address: Sivatha Blv, Mondul II | Svay Dangkom, Old French Quarter, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#59 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#59 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#65 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#67 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prince D' Angkor Hotel & Spa is a sanctuary for tourists and corporate guests alike who expect excellent hospitality and friendly service. So whether you are here for business or pleasure, the Prince D' Angkor Hotel & Spa offers a luxurious haven, elegantly furnished to provide you with a comfortable stay, all the facilities and traditional Cambodian hospitality you would expect. Experience ultimate luxury and bask in the splendor of elegance at the Prince D' Angkor Hotel & Spa, the perfect base from which to explore the legendary Angkor temples and undiscovered treasures of Cambodia. It is conveniently located in the heart of the city; a minute’s walk from shops, restaurants and markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince d`Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Hotel Prince d Angkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing