We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Ranked #95 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very disapointed”
Reviewed 20 February 2011

On arrival we were told the Hotel did not have our booking. Once we showed them the booking from the Cambodian based agent they then decided we had a booking but not until the next day. This was our problem and not theirs, it seems. They told us there were no rooms available and they could not help to find another room or ing the agent, just a full on "dont care" attitude from lazy staff
We organised a Hotel ourselves for the night and returned here the next day for our booking of a Junior Suite. What a joke, a junior suite is a large room that would be called a standard room anywhere else. Full of mosquitoes and very ordinary quality for the price. The staff we met were all on remote control, no personality nad no concern for customers. This place was just plain and way over priced for an ageing hotel trading on a reputation earned a long time ago. The two highlights of this placeis the tuots at the front offering "girls" for the night and the breakfast where they ask you to finish as they pack up arund you.
I couldnt reccomend it in any way because Hotels like this spoil what is otherwise an outstanding destination. You will do well to avoid this sad old place

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_Prince, Front Office Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Siem Reap!

We appreciate the time and effort to share valuable feedbacks during your recent stay at Prince D’Angkor Hotel & Spa.

It was our mistake for not being able to accommodate you on your first night due to an over sight by reservation staff, for which show cause letter was issued for his carelessness. Furthermore we were at a 100% situation as we personally conveyed to you upon your arrival.

Your accusation of telling that our staff did not have initiative to find you other hotel is unacceptable, because we already booked you to a nearby hotel which you refused saying that you needed to check on the website first. After you found your desired hotel we also helped you to reserve it.

Our gesture of a good will to provide you free transportation to and from the new hotel was also not taken into account and appreciated by you and yet you went on to highlight on staff which was unjust and uncalled for.

Our Junior Suite, could have been a misnomer which the management is looking into it, but besides the appointed name, is there any thought being given for the price you paid that was a bargain for a 42sq m2 room?

Touts offering ‘girls’ for the night, operating outside our hotel is not our jurisdiction and beyond our control. Did you see the difference from the touts outside our hotel and the ones you encountered when you walked down to the Pub Street from out hotel? Being so concerned, we are curious to know if you have strongly written to our State authorities to take actions on the touts? If not ….why are you splitting hairs to explicitly singled us out?

You are indeed bias to describe the way we handled our guests at breakfast period. Do you give respect to anyone for what they do? Did you know there was an International standard for restaurant staff to clear your plate once you finished consuming your meal - maybe not?

We apologize for the inconvenience caused and we do hope that despite the issues raised, overall you had a memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    595
    154
    41
    16
See reviews for
290
488
125
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Not too many frills but it's excellent value with really friendly staff. i was there to run the angkor wat half marathon and had a few friends who stayed at other hotels. one paid about $5 less per night but the hotel wasn't as nice and was in a bad location. another friend stayed at a hotel behind and adjacent to Prince Angkor, but it was over $100 more. it was more luxurious but not worth it. con: pool didn't get many hours of sunlight.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashg709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We stayed at the Prince d'Angkor for 4 nights. The deluxe room was spacious and clean, overlooking the pool and the staffs were Very friendly. My only complaint would be the rock hard beds and pillows and the breakfast which I feel could have been better.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Our first time in Siem Reap and stayed four nights. We had one queen and twin which worked well with our 12 year old boy. Our basic room was nicely setup on the second floor. The hotel is located in the French Quarter which is about 10-15 minutes easy stroll to the night market and pub street where most of the night actions are. There is a convenient store and supermarket just across the street. The pool is good size and salted so you can feel like being in the ocean. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. We only had two complaints. The buffet breakfast selections were OK but not as many choices as we would expect at 4 star hotel. The staff had trouble keeping up with the traffic, always short on food. The room only has internet via Wifi. Our connection was intermittent and at times we had to go down to the lobby to get connections. We had to pay for Wifi which made it less appealing though the cost is not high.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marko67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antelope, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights here at the end of our honeymoon. We came over to Cambodia to see Angkor Wat. This hotel was magnificent. The lobby when you first enter is gorgeous, with ornate wood carvings and rich furniture. Marble floors throughout. Our room was beautiful overlooking the pool, which by the way was gorgeous as well. The patio was non-existent though. Upon entering our room we found a nice fresh fruit basket and cold bottled water. The bathroom was just as nice. The room was spotless, as was the restaraunt downstairs which served a huge breakfast buffet (included in our room cost). We were so full, we didn't need to eat lunch any of the 3 days we were there. If you are looking for luxery, this is it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLOscapinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

This hotel was awesome. Great pool - actually the largest pool of the Siem Reap hotels. The food poolside was great, no need to drag yourself to a hot Sierm Reap downtown for a meal. The hotel is very conveniently located between the Angkor Wat complex and downtown. You can walk to downtown/night market in about 10 min or less. The drive to the first temple is about 10 min also. The best thing about this hotel is that it's quiet, clean, amazing pool and terrace and very helpful staff. Also free WIFI

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mashap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

After staying in a 3 star in Phnom Penh we decided to lash out and go for the full deal and stay at the Prince for our week in Siem Riep. Should not have bothered. The service on check in was atrocious and we led to a room with two single beds. When we requested a double bed we were told "tomorrow" . As we had booked 4 months in advance I did not find this acceptable. The rooms are small and require some refurb as they are looking worn. Wifi is hopeless and can really only be obtained in the lobby and not even then all the time. Breakfast is okay but nothing to write home about. The pool is nice but the gym despite being advertised as having modern equipment, is outdated with equipment that appears about 20yr old. The weights provided barely provide a challenge for a 42 yr old female. For a young fit male they would be totally inadequate. I did not feel so much a guest as an inconvenience. When we decided to upgrade to get the double bed we wanted I was marched downstairs to 'pay now' as though I was some scammer trying to rip the place off. I have reviewed this as a 5 star property which charges accordingly. If this was a 3 star with a cost of $40/night I would be well impressed with what is provided but a good hotel is more than an impressive lobby. Look around and find a good boutique 3 star and lash out on a suite there. Despite having already paid for the Prince we seriously considered moving. Seriously disappointed after looking forward to a touch of true luxury.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaytH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_Prince, Front Office Manager at Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 January 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Siem Reap!

We appreciate the time and effort to share valuable feedbacks during your recent stay at Prince D’Angkor Hotel & Spa.

We would like to apologize We were unable to accommodate the type of room request as mentioned, due to lack of information provided by some of the net providers. While all requests are subjected to room availability upon check-in, rest assured that every effort is being geared to go beyond.

Noted that the tone of the wooden room furnishing may give the impression of ‘being worn-out’, but there are plans in the pipeline to have them re-varnished soon. This is the first time we received a negative comment about our room size when most commented the spaciousness of our rooms. Nevertheless, our 38 sq m2 standard superior room is a fair size for most hotels of a 4 star category like ours.

Our Gym equipment may not be the latest, but they are well maintained in good condition and most importantly they functioned. Amongst all the expats working in Siem Reap who are members of our Health Club, our Gym is the first choice among others that they have selected.

Our hotel is wifi friendly throughout the premises, but regrettably during the period of your stay, we encountered a technical glitch in the area which was beyond our control. We are aware of English proficiency among our staff who tried their best to use them, but at times missed the mark, for which we ask for your indulgence

We would like to apologize for our short-comings and the inconvenience caused and hope that despite the issues raised, overall you had a memorable stay.

We look forward to the opportunity of being of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#76 of 356 in Siem Reap
1,564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Somadevi Angkor Boutique & Resort
0.8 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#42 of 356 in Siem Reap
5,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Angkor Paradise Hotel
Angkor Paradise Hotel
#102 of 356 in Siem Reap
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
J7 Hotel
J7 Hotel
#37 of 356 in Siem Reap
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa

Property: Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Address: Sivatha Blv, Mondul II | Svay Dangkom, Old French Quarter, Siem Reap 93136, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#59 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#59 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#68 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#72 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prince D' Angkor Hotel & Spa is a sanctuary for tourists and corporate guests alike who expect excellent hospitality and friendly service. So whether you are here for business or pleasure, the Prince D' Angkor Hotel & Spa offers a luxurious haven, elegantly furnished to provide you with a comfortable stay, all the facilities and traditional Cambodian hospitality you would expect. Experience ultimate luxury and bask in the splendor of elegance at the Prince D' Angkor Hotel & Spa, the perfect base from which to explore the legendary Angkor temples and undiscovered treasures of Cambodia. It is conveniently located in the heart of the city; a minute’s walk from shops, restaurants and markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince d`Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Hotel Prince d Angkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing