We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay, just outside the city centre.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freedom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Freedom Hotel
Ranked #311 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent place to stay, just outside the city centre.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here for three nights as part of an Intrepid tour.

Very little to complain about in this quiet hotel. The staff were friendly, and the hotel and rooms were clean and well presented. We were placed in a room that was accessed from an external terrace, instead of the internal hallways which certainly increased the number of mosquitoes about. The restaurant served excellent breakfast. Tuk tuks into town were around $2, which is excellent for those who want easy access to the city, but do not want to stay there.

Nothing beats jumping into the pool after a long day exploring temples!

Room Tip: If you're concerned about mosquitoes, ask for a room on the inside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    70
    55
    18
    23
See reviews for
10
58
24
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Had 3 nights at this hotel while on a tour. The staff were excellent and very helpful. Breakfast was included and a good range. Swimming pool was great at the end of the hot days. The bed was hard as a rock, but other than that would definately return

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bamaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Located a short distance away from the centre of town so only a $2 tuk-tuk ride away.
Friendly and helpful staff. Cheap cold water available at reception.
A well known hotel so easy to get back to at night.
Very quiet due to location so ideal for a solid nights sleep.
Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiros K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Very clean hotel, lovely little swimming pool...We had one room facing the pool which was great - I liked that it felt like we were in our own little apartment as the doors had doorbells on etc!

Breakfast was limited but average, and we did get a nice view out of the window :) I'd go here again because I just loved how twee it was

One thing to note is that, like a lot of places in Cambodia, you can't put toilet paper down the toilet - and in the heat, the smell is pretty disgusting. But, stay clean and you don't have to worry!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Swarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed at the Freedom Hotel as part of an Intrepid tour through Cambodia. The Freedom was easily my favorite hotel in Cambodia. Although a quick $2 tuk-tuk ride from the central (read: touristy) area of Siem Reap, the hotel is walking-distance to plenty of amenities on the locals' main road, including French style bakeries, fruit stalls, pharmacies/chemists et al. Our room was in the newer annex part of the hotel overlooking the fantastic swimming pool - I would recommend requesting to stay in this part because the glimpses of rooms that we saw nearer the elevator in the main wing were not as nice. Our room was very spacious and modern with A/C and TV and a big bathroom with a spa-sized bathtub and a power shower. The buffet breakfast had options for everyone - pancakes and eggs for Westerners, yummy noodles and dim sum options for those wanting an Asian breakfast (like me!), plenty of fruit and coffee and juices. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, and their laundry service is excellent- for only $3.00 I had over a kg of laundry washed and expertly pressed in less than 24 hours! I only wish I'd had the chance to take advantage of the $10 massage. The Freedom Hotel is not a luxury hotel but it is a great mid-range option for those on a budget who want an authentic experience without compromising comfort. The pool's such a bonus as well after a long hot day at the temples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new annex overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MegaraMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Great hotel with very friendly young staff. Pancakes for breakfast were amazing, with lots of local options available too. Rooms were a great size, clean and comfortable. Large bath in the bathroom though the shower was a little tricky to operate. Overall a satisfying experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenh1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We booked a family room overlooking the pool. It was well appointed with plenty towels and spare pillows. The bath was corner shaped with jacuzzi facilities and a good shower curtain. I tried the oil massage which was quite good except for the lady burping every few minutes throughout the hour session. The pool surprised me as it was a salt water pool. The wifi signal was very good once we had the correct password from reception.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool seem to be bigger- also slightly more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Starry Angkor Hotel
Starry Angkor Hotel
#201 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.1 mi away
Neak Pean Hotel
Neak Pean Hotel
#297 of 338 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
#129 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Skyway Hotel
Skyway Hotel
#257 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.0 mi away
Monoreach Angkor Hotel
Monoreach Angkor Hotel
#308 of 338 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ta Prohm Hotel
Ta Prohm Hotel
#160 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Hotel

Property: Freedom Hotel
Address: National Road No.6 | Banteay Chas, Salakamroeurk, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Freedom Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Freedom Hotel is dedicated to making your stay an experience to remember and cherish. At Freedom Hotel our goal is to offer warm and friendly hospitality, as you will find when you stay with us! We are friendly, informal and flexible.We are the perfect hotel for singles, couples and families to feel at home. We combine the values of a luxurious bygone era with modern amenities and facilities to ensure your stay is peaceful, relaxing and memorable.We offer helpful advice on what to see and do, and assist you with flight confirmations and arrangements for onward travel. The hotel is located in the center of Siem Reap, allowing easy access to the Grand Temples of Angkor and other magnificent sightseeing pleasures in this land of wonders. Banks, shops and postal services are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Freedom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing