We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Cambodian Family”
Review of Freedom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Freedom Hotel
Ranked #336 of 372 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Hi There I lived here for 4 months when I first came to Cambodia. I had previously come on an Intrepid tour 5 years ago and had stayed here 4 more for 4 weeks at a time. The staff at the desk Mr Sokheng is amazing even helped me with my computer. My laundry was always back the next day. The staff at the restaurant even knew what my order would be!
The pool is beautiful, yes it is one of the true "Original Hotel's" in Siem Reap so the rooms are older Cambodian style but still an A + and cleaned very well.
The family have helped me with taxi's to Poipet border,Tour guides for the Temples even finding me a place to go for a job interview! (I got the job too)!!!.

Room Tip: Choose a room out the back are bigger and better, but the small rooms at the front can be cheaper if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenM380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of an intrepid tour with my partner for 3 nights.

Some of the previous reviews have been mixed, and it seems that this may be highly dependent on the room that you get. The hotel is quite large and strangely set out in two buildings. We were in the rear building in the row of rooms overlooking the pool. I highly suggest you get one of these rooms (Room X36 onwards where X is the floor number). We were able to peer into some of the other rooms as they were being cleaned, and they all looked smaller and older. Plus, I'm guessing these rooms are noisier as they are closer to the main road.

Our room was quite spacious and very clean. The only downside is the lack of a safe, and the water pressure of the shower was frustratingly weak. Otherwise, we were pleased with our room.

The calling card of the hotel would be its pool and it did not disappoint. It's a salt water pool that is clearly well maintained. The pool is indeed a nice way to end a long hot day of temple touring. We had an in-house massage ($7USD per hour for a foot or body massage, $10 if you want oil). It was OK. A bit weak on pressure but it still felt good. The massages are done in a large single room of about ten beds so don't expect much privacy. Breakfast was OK. It's a bit strange in that it's not a buffet, but instead they bring out plates of egg, bacon, bread, and pancakes to your table. Noodles are also available but they're a bit bland. Apparently they do hold buffets in the higher season.

The biggest downside would be location. It's not really walking distance to town. You'll need to take a 5 minute tuk tuk ride. Expect it to be about $3-4USD one way to Pub street.

All in all, a decent hotel, but I suggest you check the room first if you can, and get the ones out the back overlooking the pool.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superted84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on an Intrepid tour. It is not within easy walking distance of the main area in town, so get used to taking tuk tuks. The hotel itself and the rooms were nice and clean, but the beds were incredibly hard. I found it hard to get a good nights sleep based on that alone as I am a side sleeper - my shoulders and hips were achy every day. Food for breakfast was decent - the pancakes are amazing but they get snapped up super quick!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedeypie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed as part of our Intrepid tour. It is a fair distance from the centre of town and pub street. staff were good but some did struggle with communication. After a long day out, the pool was a nice place to relax until the massage staffs children started running and screaming around the pool/fitness area and the nice relaxing place was gone.
The hotel needs to work on their breakfast - it is done like a buffet except they serve you food. They seem to only cook 1 pancake at a time so if you are on a deadline for time allow plenty of time for breakfast.
The Blue Pumpkin café (near pub street) does great coffee, so we would buy a take away coffee before heading back after dinner, put it into the fridge and then take down to breakfast, get a glass of ice and pour coffee over the ice, iced coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbourneites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here for three nights as part of an Intrepid tour.

Very little to complain about in this quiet hotel. The staff were friendly, and the hotel and rooms were clean and well presented. We were placed in a room that was accessed from an external terrace, instead of the internal hallways which certainly increased the number of mosquitoes about. The restaurant served excellent breakfast. Tuk tuks into town were around $2, which is excellent for those who want easy access to the city, but do not want to stay there.

Nothing beats jumping into the pool after a long day exploring temples!

Room Tip: If you're concerned about mosquitoes, ask for a room on the inside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Had 3 nights at this hotel while on a tour. The staff were excellent and very helpful. Breakfast was included and a good range. Swimming pool was great at the end of the hot days. The bed was hard as a rock, but other than that would definately return

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bamaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Located a short distance away from the centre of town so only a $2 tuk-tuk ride away.
Friendly and helpful staff. Cheap cold water available at reception.
A well known hotel so easy to get back to at night.
Very quiet due to location so ideal for a solid nights sleep.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiros K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
2.1 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#35 of 372 in Siem Reap
2,522 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.2 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#40 of 372 in Siem Reap
5,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#22 of 372 in Siem Reap
3,780 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jasmine Family Hostel
Jasmine Family Hostel
#173 of 310 in Siem Reap
210 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#46 of 372 in Siem Reap
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Hotel

Address: National Road No.6 | Banteay Chas, Salakamroeurk, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 372 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £24 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Freedom Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Freedom Hotel is dedicated to making your stay an experience to remember and cherish. At Freedom Hotel our goal is to offer warm and friendly hospitality, as you will find when you stay with us! We are friendly, informal and flexible.We are the perfect hotel for singles, couples and families to feel at home. We combine the values of a luxurious bygone era with modern amenities and facilities to ensure your stay is peaceful, relaxing and memorable.We offer helpful advice on what to see and do, and assist you with flight confirmations and arrangements for onward travel. The hotel is located in the center of Siem Reap, allowing easy access to the Grand Temples of Angkor and other magnificent sightseeing pleasures in this land of wonders. Banks, shops and postal services are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Freedom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing