We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base to explore Siem Reap” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freedom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Freedom Hotel
Ranked #311 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great base to explore Siem Reap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here as part of our a intrepid tour for 4 nights and it was good. Our room was out the back overlooking the pool and was clean and tidy. We had fresh sheets and towels each day along with 2 complimentary bottles of water. The pool was great to swim in after a day of temple hopping. It was easy to catch a tuk tuk into town -be sure to bargain and set the price for a trip prior to leaving the hotel. The restaurant was great for breakfast and the staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Definitely see if the rooms out the back are available
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    70
    56
    18
    23
See reviews for
10
59
24
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dapto, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel as a part of a tour group through Cambodia, and the three nights I spent here were very pleasant. The room was clean and spacious, with my only complaint being the height of the shower. We joked that it was made for Hobbits. I'm 5'7", and the shower head was at chest level. It made showering rather awkward. However, the service we received, and the facilities of the hotel more than made up for it. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the pool was clean with complimentary towels, and the buffet breakfast was amazing! I've never seen so much food for breakfast before! Oh, and the hotel has free wifi in all areas of the property. Overall, I enjoyed my stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I am sorry to sat that, but Freedom Hotel has been of of my worst experiences in the world. I am quite acquainted with Asia and Cambodia and Freedom hotel did not meet any of my requirments. Not a staff available to help customers, lots of extra charges and a horrible location. For less that what get charge you can go to better places downtown and close to shops nd everything. It is not a place for families in my opinion.

Room Tip: Upper floors...but will charge you more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Humphrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siem Reap hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Hi There I lived here for 4 months when I first came to Cambodia. I had previously come on an Intrepid tour 5 years ago and had stayed here 4 more for 4 weeks at a time. The staff at the desk Mr Sokheng is amazing even helped me with my computer. My laundry was always back the next day. The staff at the restaurant even knew what my order would be!
The pool is beautiful, yes it is one of the true "Original Hotel's" in Siem Reap so the rooms are older Cambodian style but still an A + and cleaned very well.
The family have helped me with taxi's to Poipet border,Tour guides for the Temples even finding me a place to go for a job interview! (I got the job too)!!!.

Room Tip: Choose a room out the back are bigger and better, but the small rooms at the front can be cheaper if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenM380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of an intrepid tour with my partner for 3 nights.

Some of the previous reviews have been mixed, and it seems that this may be highly dependent on the room that you get. The hotel is quite large and strangely set out in two buildings. We were in the rear building in the row of rooms overlooking the pool. I highly suggest you get one of these rooms (Room X36 onwards where X is the floor number). We were able to peer into some of the other rooms as they were being cleaned, and they all looked smaller and older. Plus, I'm guessing these rooms are noisier as they are closer to the main road.

Our room was quite spacious and very clean. The only downside is the lack of a safe, and the water pressure of the shower was frustratingly weak. Otherwise, we were pleased with our room.

The calling card of the hotel would be its pool and it did not disappoint. It's a salt water pool that is clearly well maintained. The pool is indeed a nice way to end a long hot day of temple touring. We had an in-house massage ($7USD per hour for a foot or body massage, $10 if you want oil). It was OK. A bit weak on pressure but it still felt good. The massages are done in a large single room of about ten beds so don't expect much privacy. Breakfast was OK. It's a bit strange in that it's not a buffet, but instead they bring out plates of egg, bacon, bread, and pancakes to your table. Noodles are also available but they're a bit bland. Apparently they do hold buffets in the higher season.

The biggest downside would be location. It's not really walking distance to town. You'll need to take a 5 minute tuk tuk ride. Expect it to be about $3-4USD one way to Pub street.

All in all, a decent hotel, but I suggest you check the room first if you can, and get the ones out the back overlooking the pool.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superted84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on an Intrepid tour. It is not within easy walking distance of the main area in town, so get used to taking tuk tuks. The hotel itself and the rooms were nice and clean, but the beds were incredibly hard. I found it hard to get a good nights sleep based on that alone as I am a side sleeper - my shoulders and hips were achy every day. Food for breakfast was decent - the pancakes are amazing but they get snapped up super quick!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pedeypie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed as part of our Intrepid tour. It is a fair distance from the centre of town and pub street. staff were good but some did struggle with communication. After a long day out, the pool was a nice place to relax until the massage staffs children started running and screaming around the pool/fitness area and the nice relaxing place was gone.
The hotel needs to work on their breakfast - it is done like a buffet except they serve you food. They seem to only cook 1 pancake at a time so if you are on a deadline for time allow plenty of time for breakfast.
The Blue Pumpkin café (near pub street) does great coffee, so we would buy a take away coffee before heading back after dinner, put it into the fridge and then take down to breakfast, get a glass of ice and pour coffee over the ice, iced coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbourneites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.1 mi away
Neak Pean Hotel
Neak Pean Hotel
#297 of 339 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.0 mi away
Monoreach Angkor Hotel
Monoreach Angkor Hotel
#308 of 339 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
Lemongrass & Ginger Hotel
#121 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ta Prohm Hotel
Ta Prohm Hotel
#161 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Empire Hotel
Royal Empire Hotel
#127 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lucky Angkor Hotel
Lucky Angkor Hotel
#193 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Hotel

Property: Freedom Hotel
Address: National Road No.6 | Banteay Chas, Salakamroeurk, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Freedom Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Freedom Hotel is dedicated to making your stay an experience to remember and cherish. At Freedom Hotel our goal is to offer warm and friendly hospitality, as you will find when you stay with us! We are friendly, informal and flexible.We are the perfect hotel for singles, couples and families to feel at home. We combine the values of a luxurious bygone era with modern amenities and facilities to ensure your stay is peaceful, relaxing and memorable.We offer helpful advice on what to see and do, and assist you with flight confirmations and arrangements for onward travel. The hotel is located in the center of Siem Reap, allowing easy access to the Grand Temples of Angkor and other magnificent sightseeing pleasures in this land of wonders. Banks, shops and postal services are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Freedom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing