We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel cheap and cheerful ... Location a bit far out”
Review of Freedom Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Freedom Hotel
Ranked #322 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The rooms were nice, hotel cheap, has a nice pool, good breakfast (pancakes!) and great air-conditioning. However it still is a cheap hotel, and the wifi access it very poor, also the location is $3usd from the centre of town.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheata L, Owner at Freedom Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Value Guest
Thank you very much for your reviews and comment with.
We are currently try our best to meet you need to make your trip a wonderful one with us.



Management team Freedom Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Freedom Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Let me start by saying that I have stayed at a LOT of hotels throughout SE Asia and never had a really bad experience until now. It takes a lot for me to give a bad review but this Hotel thoroughly deserves it.

The customer service by the front desk is disgraceful, they are completely rude and un-interested and the complete opposite of what you normally receive in this area. Management are clearly failing when it comes to training their staff. Most of the front desk speak no English, which is not acceptable in an international city full of international guests and some of them are down right rude. On two occasions I requested toilet paper for my hotel room, on both occasions the male that answered the phone spoke no English and promptly hung up on me on both occasions. Then I had a friend try to call the Hotel from another country who had to speak to me about important business. On FOUR occasions the front desk failed to transfer their call to my room. I then called them to find out what the problem was only to be told "I don't know how to transfer" It turns out that NONE of the staff on night shift know hot to transfer a call to any of the hotel rooms!!!!!

Management of this Hotel have a lot to answer for as to why they can't train their staff in simple duties that are really important to everyday guests. Other negative, the shower leaked water constantly. The hot water only lasted a few minutes before running out. The Hotel is in a noisy location and not near any of the places most guests would like to visit. And the Internet reception is terrible so if you plan on coming here and need to check important emails forget it.

I cannot honestly recommend this Hotel in any way shape or form.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank John_Sydney_Wildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel is a 20-25 minute walk from Siam Reap city centre. Hence value for money (the hotels in city centre are pretty expensive).
Wifi is free and supposedly available throughout the hotel. Sometimes it is a bit sketchy.
The pool is nice.
The rooms themselves seem a bit old - however, it does have a new wing too

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peripateticously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We paid a few dollars more and booked a Deluxe room which was located on the second floor. The room was clean and tidy and had all the basic facilities, tea/coffee/fridge. The beds were quite firm, but that appears to be quite the norm in Cambodia.

The shower was over the bath, however, the shower head was quite low so you had to sit down to really use it. It is probably about time the towels were replaced as they are wearing quite thin. The pool was very refreshing after a long day and was very clean. We were not bothered by noise from either the pool or the street as the rooms are towards the back of the property.

The staff were always friendly and helpful. Overall we had a very pleasant 2 night stay and found the hotel to be very pleasant and clean.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Not the Hilton but excellent in Cambodian mid range hotels. Firstly the hotel was once grand but now a little tired and maybe a few too many handy man repairs. The shower we had was a spar bath with a hand set, so you had to sit down for a shower. There was no safe in the room we had and the bed was quite firm but the air conditioner worked well and it had a small size house fridge in the room. The room was large and cleaned daily. The hotel pool is super clean and salt water. The hotel has a gym on the ground floor near the pool. Massages are also offered and when myself and my wife went to use the service it took some time to organise but glad we did. 1 hour full body massage was $7 US and it was excellent. There is free wifi in the hotel but a little slow within the room and faster when sitting on the balcony. The hotel offers a laundry service which I used and found to be super cheap. The breakfast is a little dull but compared to other hotels we have stayed at in Cambodia, it was more than adequate and really quite good. The hotel has a lift that works and access for wheel chair bound visitors is good as ramps have been installed. The hotel seems to have quite a few service personnel so cleanliness was good. The staff were always pleasant and friendly plus we had no problems speaking English and been understood. The hotel is a little tired but everything worked from the TV to the power points. It's location is approx 2 k's from town and the markets but for $2 US a tuk tuk is straight out the front and will to take you anywhere in the city centre. We slept well each night we were there. I would recommend this hotel to people that aren't seeking the night life.adventure of Siem Reap but looking for value for money accommodation close to attractions but far enough away to be quiet at night. I would stay there again when in Siem Reap.

Room Tip: Most rooms are the same but the rooms closer to the pool can be noisy through the day from the pool...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Overall this hotel is ok. A little way away from the night life and markets (about a 40 minute walk) but plenty of tut tuts around which cost 3$ each way. Overall we found the hotel to be clean, great lift, large room and very nice pool (towels always available when we wanted them). Downside for us was the restaurant and breakfast - food left uncovered (lots of flies around). Good laundry service though at 2$ per kilo.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Moriston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Don't come expecting a new shiny hotel with all the modern bells and whistles. We though left very happy - the staff are great - breakfast was wonderful ( a buffet that kept my 4 sons happy), pool was clean, air-con worked, TV worked - all round very happy.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kroybazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.1 mi away
Neak Pean Hotel
Neak Pean Hotel
#312 of 361 in Siem Reap
82 reviews
1.7 mi away
Achhariyak Angkor Boutique
Achhariyak Angkor Boutique
#155 of 361 in Siem Reap
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Angkor Villa Hotel
Paradise Angkor Villa Hotel
#257 of 361 in Siem Reap
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Heaven Angkor Residence
Heaven Angkor Residence
#161 of 361 in Siem Reap
36 reviews
1.4 mi away
Neardey Angkor Boutique
Neardey Angkor Boutique
#356 of 502 in Siem Reap
6 reviews
0.8 mi away
Angkor Twinkle Boutique Villa
Angkor Twinkle Boutique Villa
#95 of 502 in Siem Reap
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Hotel

Address: National Road No.6 | Banteay Chas, Salakamroeurk, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: £22 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Freedom Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Freedom Hotel is dedicated to making your stay an experience to remember and cherish. At Freedom Hotel our goal is to offer warm and friendly hospitality, as you will find when you stay with us! We are friendly, informal and flexible.We are the perfect hotel for singles, couples and families to feel at home. We combine the values of a luxurious bygone era with modern amenities and facilities to ensure your stay is peaceful, relaxing and memorable.We offer helpful advice on what to see and do, and assist you with flight confirmations and arrangements for onward travel. The hotel is located in the center of Siem Reap, allowing easy access to the Grand Temples of Angkor and other magnificent sightseeing pleasures in this land of wonders. Banks, shops and postal services are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Freedom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing