We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool and staff are the best things about this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
Ranked #72 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Pool and staff are the best things about this hotel!”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The 2 best things about this hotel are the friendly, helpful staff and the amazing pool. We just got back from spending 6 nights at this hotel in Jan 2012. We were in a superior room overlooking the pool. The room was very dated and in dire need of a renovation. I was surprised they had a salmon colored carpet in the bedroom. The bed lamps looked like they were from the 70's as did some of the other furniture in our room. I was shocked to see a plastic tub mat in our bathroom that was covered in mildew. This hotel gets a large amount of guests from bus tour groups. We also had the misfortune to stay at this hotel during a holiday break as there were a lot of families vacation there with there kids. I was also surprised that the hotel allows swimming lessons for local residents to be held in their pool. With all the kids in the pool it felt like we were staying at the YMCA. Breakfast was mediocre. In spite of this hotel's shortcomings we did manage to enjoy our stay. If your used to staying at 5 star hotels then I would look elsewhere, but if your okay with 3-4 stars then this hotel may suffice, but keep in mind the rooms need to be renovated.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Service_Team, Guest Service Team at Royal Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Valued guest,
Please allow us to express our sincere gratitude that you have chosen the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa as your accommodation during your visit to the world heritage site of Angkor Wat. And for offering us the chance to serve you as our guest.
We apologies if the facilities failed to reach your expectations and thank you for your comments. This gives us the chance to wright the wrongs. We would like to inform you that our engineering team have already started to replace the carpet floor by wooden parquet.
We have shared these comments with the whole team to assist our ongoing process in improving services as well as facilities.
Looking forward to the chance of welcoming you among us in the near future and always at your service, the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa Guest Service Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    316
    73
    11
    3
See reviews for
201
444
76
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Everything great. The staff are very polite and attentive to needs of guests. The spa is great. The pool is awesome. Food is very delicious but cheap. Will definitely stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antonio a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Service_Team, Guest Service Team at Royal Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Valued guest,
We sincerely thank you for choosing for the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa as your preferred place of stay during your visit to the world heritage site of Angkor Wat. And the whole team is thankful for the chance we had to serve you.
We are thrilled to learn you have enjoyed your stay and are already looking forward to welcome you back. The whole team would like to thank you for your kind words, we have shared them with all to be a continued motivation for their achievements.
Our pleasure to be at your service, the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa Guest Service Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We got a great deal on this resort and it was even better that expected. The resort has a colonial atmosphere and the breakfast buffet in the beautiful garden is wonderful!
Then ad the friendliness of the Cambodian people to the staff, and you have a wonderful attentive luxury retreat from the heat.
An extra thing that we like in our family is that the restaurant and the gift shop aren't over prices but match the high quality of the products. We have experienced many examples elsewhere of the opposite.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacobAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed here after we had visited all the temples as we wanted some r & r and we liked Siem Reap. We found this hotel on Expedia and we went to check it out whilst we were staying elsewhere in Siem Reap. It was lovely. The hotel manager was very attentive and helpful.
The pool was the highlight and is amazing!
The hotel reception always smells like lemongrass and is very welcoming. This hotel was a real haven from the hustle and bustle of Siem Reap with people everywhere. We stayed in a deluxe room on the 3rd floor and it was a spacious room with a nice bathroom and view.
My only complaint was the the room had an odour of smoke from the previous occupant. Housekeeping were great and spayed jasmine to cover up the smell but I could still smell it.
The hotel is a $3 tuk tuk ride into Siem Reap (about 5kms) they have a free shuttle bus every 2 hours from 8am-8pm which is handy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank zobizobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Service_Team, Guest Service Team at Royal Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Valued guest,
We are very thankful for the chance offered to serve you and that you have chosen the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa as your preferred place to unwind.
We thank you for your kind words and comments as this gives us the chance to wright the wrongs. We have shared your comments with the whole team to be a motivation and to learn where continues improvement is needed.
Already looking forward to welcome you back and always at your service, we reside the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa Guest Service Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This was by far the nicest hotel and resort I have ever stayed in! The rooms are gorgeous, as is the lobby and the resort grounds! I had to take photos of everything inside and out of the resort! The staff is always aiming to please and I have nothing but praise for all of the staff! I was sad I had to leave at the end of our trip! You won't regret staying here! It is the best!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dawnedwardsVentura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Service_Team, Guest Service Team at Royal Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Valued guest,
We were thrilled to receive you as our guest during your visit to the world heritage site of Angkor Wat. We thank you for the chance offered in serving you and are more then proud to learn you title us the best hotel and resort.
Your comments have been shared with the whole team to be a motivation for their continued efforts in maintaining our best practices and guest services.
We would love to welcome you back at our resort and remain always at your service, the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa Guest Service Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We have been to Siem Reap in November 2011, and stayed at the Royal Angkor Resort.
Absulute friendly staff and very good service. The rooms are very clean and have everything you need for a nice stay. It's not one of the newest Hotels there but it is deffinetly well maintaned. The pool is huge and the surroundings are very beautiful and green. Room service is friendly and doing a good job. It's around 10 mins. tuk tuk ride from the city, and the ride only costs 3 dollars. We booked another trip to Siem Reap and will again stay in this Hotel. I am travelling a lot thru the whole Asian countries and i have to admit this was one of my best trips. I never been more relaxed than there. Oh i forgot about the breakfast...excellent. A lots of choices there.
Hope this helps someone finding a nice place to stay for their next trip...

D&M Naylor

Room Tip: pool or street view doesn't matter, they are all pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MD_Naylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Service_Team, Guest Service Team at Royal Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Valued guest,
We would like to express our sincere gratitude that you have chosen the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa as your preferred place of stay during your visit to the world heritage site of Angkor Wat.
We are thankful for the chance you offered us to serve you. The whole team takes pride in learning that you had a perfect stay and have loved our breakfast buffet set up and the beautiful green garden.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa and remaining at your service we reside, the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa Guest Service Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. It's located about 30 minutes to the center of siem riep. The hotel is clean, they prepare a tasting breakfast buffet and the overall service could not be better. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank enroute H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Service_Team, Guest Service Team at Royal Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Valued guest,
The whole team is very proud to have been at your service and we are happy you choose the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa as your preferred place of stay.
We have shared your raving comments with the whole team as they are the best motivation to continuously strive for the best practices and guest services. Our gourmet team happily notes that you loved the breakfast buffet and accompanying service.
Looking forward to welcome you back at our resort and always remaining at your service we reside, the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa Guest Service Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#71 of 342 in Siem Reap
1,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel & Spa
Pacific Hotel & Spa
#78 of 342 in Siem Reap
517 reviews
2.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#39 of 342 in Siem Reap
4,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#73 of 342 in Siem Reap
1,536 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.2 mi away
Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
#146 of 342 in Siem Reap
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Angkor Resort & Spa

Property: Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
Address: Road No.6 Phum Kasekam, Siem Reap 93279, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#40 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#58 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#59 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Angkor Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Angkor Resort and Spa is conveniently perched along the gateway of some of the most significant archeological sites in SE-Asia, creating the ideal location to explore Cambodia's rich cultural inheritance. Tucked away from the hustle and noise of the city, Royal Angkor Resort is only minutes away from these iconic landmarks, providing unprecedented access to the legendary Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Bayon temples as well as the charming and historic town of Siem Reap. Stretching over two and a half hectares, this iconic Siem Reap hotel is jeweled with a beautiful tropical landscape and decorated with the most remarkable architecture, reminiscent of the early 20th century. From fine dining to traditional rooms and suites, Royal Angkor Resort & Spa combines ancient charm with modern-day leisure, creating the ultimate space to unwind and embrace the magical spirit of Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Royal Angkor Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing