We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mmmhh... three hours into my stay, and still no room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
Ranked #79 of 385 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We booked this through Hotels.com, which so far have been pretty good. For a place that is supposedly 5 stars, we did not worry too much, and as Hotels.com mentions explicity that no re-confirmation is necessary, we just arrived. At around 14:00. Check in was slow (15min), then we were given a room key, but we had booked (and already paid) for two rooms, not one. The said the other room would be ready in 30 min.

So we go to the one room, unload, and refresh. Rooms are quite nice, but nothing out of the ordinary. Bathrooms have some wood panelling which looks good, but thats about it. Rather drap balcony. Looks like any 3 star place in many Chinese cities. They have some bathtubs in their bathrooms, so this is quite nice. However it means that when u have a shower, you cannot avoid splashing some water around, that ends up on the floor. No worries, right, most baths have a sink hole - well, yes, but its not working, the bathroom floor slopes in the wrong direction, and water everywhere...

Two hours later I ask about the other room, and they tell me there is no booking for another room. After some more checking (including me checking into my email to retrieve my booking), they finally find it. I tell them to keep the key at reception, whilst I have a dip in the nice pool.

An hour later, I come back and ask about the key - and get told they now don't have double rooms! I tell them I will sit down at the bar where there is a nice iMac to write this review on that I am writing now. Its more than 30 min since the manager said he will look into it, and more than 3 hrs since we checked in...

go figure. Cambodian service can be slow I know, and mistakes happen, but come on. In my opinion, this place is not very efficient at dealing with their guests. Looks impressive, but not a 100 US $ service if u ask me

Room Tip: make sure you have your reservation printed out and ready, otherwise they may not find you in their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Olli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sethya N, Royal Angkor Resort and Spa Guest Service Team at Royal Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2012

Valued guest,

Please allow us to express our gratitude that you choose Royal Angkor Resort and Spa as your preferred place of stay. And for offering us the chance to serve you.
We would like to offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you upon your arrival and for not having reached your expectations. Our guest service team will make to the most use of your comments and would like to take this chance to thank you for your feedback. As it offers us the opportunity to set the wrongs right.
We are looking forward to provide you an excellent stay and assure you memorable moments from your visit at the place where the Khmer Journey and Experience begins.
Our pleasure to be at your service, The Royal Angkor Resort and Spa Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

858 - 864 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

The 2 best things about this hotel are the friendly, helpful staff and the amazing pool. We just got back from spending 6 nights at this hotel in Jan 2012. We were in a superior room overlooking the pool. The room was very dated and in dire need of a renovation. I was surprised they had a salmon colored carpet in the bedroom. The bed lamps looked like they were from the 70's as did some of the other furniture in our room. I was shocked to see a plastic tub mat in our bathroom that was covered in mildew. This hotel gets a large amount of guests from bus tour groups. We also had the misfortune to stay at this hotel during a holiday break as there were a lot of families vacation there with there kids. I was also surprised that the hotel allows swimming lessons for local residents to be held in their pool. With all the kids in the pool it felt like we were staying at the YMCA. Breakfast was mediocre. In spite of this hotel's shortcomings we did manage to enjoy our stay. If your used to staying at 5 star hotels then I would look elsewhere, but if your okay with 3-4 stars then this hotel may suffice, but keep in mind the rooms need to be renovated.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kellysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Service_Team, Guest Service Team at Royal Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Valued guest,
Please allow us to express our sincere gratitude that you have chosen the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa as your accommodation during your visit to the world heritage site of Angkor Wat. And for offering us the chance to serve you as our guest.
We apologies if the facilities failed to reach your expectations and thank you for your comments. This gives us the chance to wright the wrongs. We would like to inform you that our engineering team have already started to replace the carpet floor by wooden parquet.
We have shared these comments with the whole team to assist our ongoing process in improving services as well as facilities.
Looking forward to the chance of welcoming you among us in the near future and always at your service, the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa Guest Service Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Everything great. The staff are very polite and attentive to needs of guests. The spa is great. The pool is awesome. Food is very delicious but cheap. Will definitely stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antonio a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Service_Team, Guest Service Team at Royal Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Valued guest,
We sincerely thank you for choosing for the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa as your preferred place of stay during your visit to the world heritage site of Angkor Wat. And the whole team is thankful for the chance we had to serve you.
We are thrilled to learn you have enjoyed your stay and are already looking forward to welcome you back. The whole team would like to thank you for your kind words, we have shared them with all to be a continued motivation for their achievements.
Our pleasure to be at your service, the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa Guest Service Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We got a great deal on this resort and it was even better that expected. The resort has a colonial atmosphere and the breakfast buffet in the beautiful garden is wonderful!
Then ad the friendliness of the Cambodian people to the staff, and you have a wonderful attentive luxury retreat from the heat.
An extra thing that we like in our family is that the restaurant and the gift shop aren't over prices but match the high quality of the products. We have experienced many examples elsewhere of the opposite.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacobAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed here after we had visited all the temples as we wanted some r & r and we liked Siem Reap. We found this hotel on Expedia and we went to check it out whilst we were staying elsewhere in Siem Reap. It was lovely. The hotel manager was very attentive and helpful.
The pool was the highlight and is amazing!
The hotel reception always smells like lemongrass and is very welcoming. This hotel was a real haven from the hustle and bustle of Siem Reap with people everywhere. We stayed in a deluxe room on the 3rd floor and it was a spacious room with a nice bathroom and view.
My only complaint was the the room had an odour of smoke from the previous occupant. Housekeeping were great and spayed jasmine to cover up the smell but I could still smell it.
The hotel is a $3 tuk tuk ride into Siem Reap (about 5kms) they have a free shuttle bus every 2 hours from 8am-8pm which is handy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank zobizobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Service_Team, Guest Service Team at Royal Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Valued guest,
We are very thankful for the chance offered to serve you and that you have chosen the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa as your preferred place to unwind.
We thank you for your kind words and comments as this gives us the chance to wright the wrongs. We have shared your comments with the whole team to be a motivation and to learn where continues improvement is needed.
Already looking forward to welcome you back and always at your service, we reside the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa Guest Service Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This was by far the nicest hotel and resort I have ever stayed in! The rooms are gorgeous, as is the lobby and the resort grounds! I had to take photos of everything inside and out of the resort! The staff is always aiming to please and I have nothing but praise for all of the staff! I was sad I had to leave at the end of our trip! You won't regret staying here! It is the best!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dawnedwardsVentura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Service_Team, Guest Service Team at Royal Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Valued guest,
We were thrilled to receive you as our guest during your visit to the world heritage site of Angkor Wat. We thank you for the chance offered in serving you and are more then proud to learn you title us the best hotel and resort.
Your comments have been shared with the whole team to be a motivation for their continued efforts in maintaining our best practices and guest services.
We would love to welcome you back at our resort and remain always at your service, the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa Guest Service Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We have been to Siem Reap in November 2011, and stayed at the Royal Angkor Resort.
Absulute friendly staff and very good service. The rooms are very clean and have everything you need for a nice stay. It's not one of the newest Hotels there but it is deffinetly well maintaned. The pool is huge and the surroundings are very beautiful and green. Room service is friendly and doing a good job. It's around 10 mins. tuk tuk ride from the city, and the ride only costs 3 dollars. We booked another trip to Siem Reap and will again stay in this Hotel. I am travelling a lot thru the whole Asian countries and i have to admit this was one of my best trips. I never been more relaxed than there. Oh i forgot about the breakfast...excellent. A lots of choices there.
Hope this helps someone finding a nice place to stay for their next trip...

D&M Naylor

Room Tip: pool or street view doesn't matter, they are all pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MD_Naylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Service_Team, Guest Service Team at Royal Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Valued guest,
We would like to express our sincere gratitude that you have chosen the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa as your preferred place of stay during your visit to the world heritage site of Angkor Wat.
We are thankful for the chance you offered us to serve you. The whole team takes pride in learning that you had a perfect stay and have loved our breakfast buffet set up and the beautiful green garden.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa and remaining at your service we reside, the Royal Angkor Resort and Spa Guest Service Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#82 of 385 in Siem Reap
1,114 reviews
2.7 mi away
Angkor Village Resort
Angkor Village Resort
#78 of 385 in Siem Reap
857 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#33 of 385 in Siem Reap
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#44 of 385 in Siem Reap
5,498 reviews
1.8 mi away
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Saem Siemreap Hotel
#55 of 385 in Siem Reap
1,726 reviews
2.8 mi away
Angkor Village Hotel
Angkor Village Hotel
#81 of 385 in Siem Reap
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Angkor Resort & Spa

Address: Road No.6 Phum Kasekam, Siem Reap 93279, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#39 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#43 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#63 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#67 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £41 - £825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Angkor Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Angkor Resort and Spa is conveniently perched along the gateway of some of the most significant archeological sites in SE-Asia, creating the ideal location to explore Cambodia's rich cultural inheritance. Tucked away from the hustle and noise of the city, Royal Angkor Resort is only minutes away from these iconic landmarks, providing unprecedented access to the legendary Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Bayon temples as well as the charming and historic town of Siem Reap. Stretching over two and a half hectares, this iconic Siem Reap hotel is jeweled with a beautiful tropical landscape and decorated with the most remarkable architecture, reminiscent of the early 20th century. From fine dining to traditional rooms and suites, Royal Angkor Resort & Spa combines ancient charm with modern-day leisure, creating the ultimate space to unwind and embrace the magical spirit of Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Royal Angkor Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing