We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
Ranked #73 of 353 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with Great Service”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We arrived at the Royal Angor Resort and Spa after spending time in Vientiane and Luang Prabang, where the hotels had been superb. The Royal Angkor Resort is much bigger than the hotels we had stayed in in Laos, but the service was still very personal and quite excellent.
We were met at the airport, which lways makes things easier, and on arrival were greeted in style. Registration was the best we have ever encountered.
Our room was large and well furnished in the colonial style of hotels in the region and was all we could have desired. Breakfast was in a large dining room adjacent to the pool and the selection of food was extensive. As the hotel is quite large the breakfast buffet was sometimes rather busy, but staff were generally alert and replenished food in a timely fashion. The staff were wonderful, providing excellent service with a cheerful smile.
There is a large outdoor pool with bar as well as a spa and workout room. My wife tells me she had a wonderful therapeutic massage in the spa.
The hotel is a couple of miles from downtown Siem Reap, and the hotel offers a shuttle us service at fixed times throughout the day. If the times do not suit you a tuk-tuk can be easiliy obtained outside the hotel for a modest charge. We found the tuk-tuk to be fun and gets you a little closer to the local culture. We used the same tuk-tuk a number of times and also hired him to take us on a tour of the local farms and villages which, Angor Wat not withstanding, was the highlight of our visit for me.
Downtown Siem Reap is a typical tourist town full of bars, restaurants, night markets, etc. Food was excellent and cheap if you like the local fare, as we do.
Angkor Wat is fantastic, but very large with a lot of walking and climbing with little or no shade. It takes several days to do it justice but you can get an excellent sample of it in one day.
Siem Reap has become a massive tourist town because of the Temples. It is worthy of visit but is not a fair example of what Camboda is truly like.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaffyUke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    317
    73
    11
    3
See reviews for
202
447
76
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Everything about this hotel's good. Me and a friend stayed in RAR for 3 nights. Service is great. Friendly and welcoming staff, from the driver who picked us up in the airport to the bellboys, they're all nice.

-"Cambodian vibe" the moment you enter the hotel
-Smooth check-in and out
-Spacious room with a balcony overlooking the huge pool
-Jacuzzi function on the bathtub (I hate that there's no separate shower room tho)
-Large beds (but quite firm)
-Great selection for the breakfast
-Quite far from the center of SR, so the place is so quiet and calm (especially at night)
-Staff always ready to help
-Airport pick-up and bus station drop-off

The hotel is near the airport but quite far from the center of SR (around 15mins Tuktuk ride). The hotel offers a free shuttle service to the Old Market and Pub Street.

If I will go back to SR, might stay here again.

SPA service is quite ok.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. Hotel is beautiful with lots of wood, traditional furnishings and a very peaceful atmosphere. Large pool which we didn't get to use as were too busy sightseeing!
A little way from the town so the Tuk Tuk drivers are always on hand ($3). Very welcoming service. Good buffet breakfast

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This Hotel assisted us in a Vietnam visa issue. AW -KOON to Mr Bun,Mr Ousa, Mr.Sochea and Mr. Leiteo. They were there to make help us make important calls to Vietnam embassy and to arrange a visit for me to Cambodian Angkor Air. We managed to leave a couple of hours later thanks to their valuable help.
The Hotel is one I highly recommend because it is close to the airport the rooms are very clean,the pool is large and the food both in the dining area and breakfast dining was with numerous dining choices.
They connected us with a great tour guide and driver.
Above all the staff is friendly and courteous. You should consider staying here in your next travels to Siem Reap

Room Tip: They are all great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaceyGreenTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel with a group tour for 3 nights. The hotel manager was very attentive to our group and always present. The staff was quite professional and warm. We had a wonderful show on the premises with Apsara dancers which was beautiful and the food was delicious.
The spa was ok but I was a bit disappointed with the massage. The young woman basically just rubbed oil on me and it was definitely not a deep tissue massage. My sister had the traditional ancient massage and she says that was much better, perhaps that is their specialty.
I didn't have time to lounge at the pool but it looked divine and the area was beautiful.
The buffet breakfast was quite ample, complete with eastern and western fare.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

the resort is located a short drive from the airport and on the main street where all the other hotels and businesses are located. A very welcoming place, I felt calm as soon as I stepped into the hotel, with the warm cambodian greetings and the refreshing welcome drink. I had originally found this hotel via groupon, but the groupon deal had expired by the time I got confirmation back from the hotel manager on availability. The management was kind enough to make the accommodations for us honoring the groupon package. The breakfast has a variety from Asian to American. The clawfoot tub in our bathroom was a nice touch to relax, after walking the Angor wat and thom grounds all day. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Siemreap. I did not get to utlize the Spa services as they only opened at 11AM, however the facilities do open at 8AM. we got a great view from our room, and made my stay more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlfromconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

There seem to be a lot of large colonial-style 4-storey hotels in Siem Reap; this is one of them. My guess is they are all of similar standard, however this is the one where we stayed. It is on the road from the airport, but too far from town to walk. Not a real problem though, the hotel runs a complementary minibus several times a day, and it's dead easy and quite cheap to get a tuk-tuk any time.
The decor is delightfully expansive, spacious, and welcoming. There is a large garden and a massive swimming poll - do take your togs. The restaurant is not bad, and the breakfast buffet was likewise tasty and served in a lovely setting.
The room was a good size and quite comfortable and appealing in design. The bathroom, although clean, let things down a bit - shower over the bath, the shower head a bit low for convenience, and - one of my pet dislikes - poor drainage from the bath plug meaning that water accumulated in the bath during showering. The hotel agreed to see to the latter problem but it seems to have been beyond the available resources to fix.
On the whole, apart from that niggle, the place was a very commodious and the staff were particularly delightful. Quite a decent option for a Siem Reap/Angkor stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baudolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#72 of 353 in Siem Reap
1,050 reviews
2.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#42 of 353 in Siem Reap
5,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel & Spa
Pacific Hotel & Spa
#77 of 353 in Siem Reap
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.2 mi away
Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
#145 of 353 in Siem Reap
413 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#74 of 353 in Siem Reap
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Angkor Resort & Spa

Property: Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
Address: Road No.6 Phum Kasekam, Siem Reap 93279, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#40 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#58 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#60 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Angkor Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Angkor Resort and Spa is conveniently perched along the gateway of some of the most significant archeological sites in SE-Asia, creating the ideal location to explore Cambodia's rich cultural inheritance. Tucked away from the hustle and noise of the city, Royal Angkor Resort is only minutes away from these iconic landmarks, providing unprecedented access to the legendary Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Bayon temples as well as the charming and historic town of Siem Reap. Stretching over two and a half hectares, this iconic Siem Reap hotel is jeweled with a beautiful tropical landscape and decorated with the most remarkable architecture, reminiscent of the early 20th century. From fine dining to traditional rooms and suites, Royal Angkor Resort & Spa combines ancient charm with modern-day leisure, creating the ultimate space to unwind and embrace the magical spirit of Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Royal Angkor Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing