We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, great value resort-style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
Ranked #64 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly, great value resort-style hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

Spent 2 nights here earlier this month. Firstly, the staff are REALLY friendly and helpful, in true Khmer style. One afternoon I was working in my room when a guy showed up to give me a free shoeshine, which was a nice surprise.

The rooms are big and comfortable and have large balconies with good views from the upper floors. Bathrooms are also big, though the bath/shower isn't very well designed and you end up with a lot of water on the floor. WiFi internet was free which I expect these days but don't always get!

Breakfast is good by SE Asian standards and there is plenty of choice, and the lunch menu was good as well. There is also a really nice pool area with plenty of sun loungers.

The hotel is on the airport road, around 10 mins from the centre of Siem Reap, and the hotel offers a free shuttle bus service at set times, which is also available on request.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comeandgovietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    315
    72
    11
    3
See reviews for
200
437
76
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

I travel every couple of weeks and stay in many different hotels. This hotel is a "STANDOUT" from the time you enter the driveway you know you are in a quality hotel. Reception is a piece of art. The reception staff don't allow you to stand and check-in they insist you take a seat, bring you a welcome drink and do all the necessary paperwork whilst you are relaxing in their comfortable chairs.

*The swimming pool is Olympic size and twins of deck chairs are surrounded by palm trees.
*Breakfast is well presented.
*Free Internet is a real bonus.
*The restaurant food is AMAZING some of the best food I have ever had. (I RARELY EAT AT HOTELS DUE TO THEIR PRICE BUT THIS HOTEL WAS MORE COMPETITIVE THAT RESTAURANTS DOWNTOWN)
* Size of the rooms are more than enough.
*Each room has a SPA.
*Over 80 channels of Cable TV (THOUGH I DID MISS FOX NEWS)

If you just want to relax and unwind this is the PERFECT hotel to do it in. It is very quite and well spread out.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodneythailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

I really enjoyed staying at the Royal Angkor resort. Like many hotels in Siem Reap, this hotel is new (~5 years old). Our room was large, with Japanese style beds and a view of the gigantic pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful, always making sure that we had everything we needed. They organized temple and boat village tours for us with a fairly priced company and great guides. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, and the food in the main restaurant was also tasty. The Spa was OK - a bit overpriced for the area but still cheap. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for your Siem Reap trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirNSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed at the Royal Angkor Resort as part of a tour of Cambodia. The hotel is located slightly outside Siem Reap proper (about a 10 min tuk tuk ride), but very close to the Angkor Archeological Park. We stayed in the low season so the price was very good, but the hotel did feel empty and underutilised. The pool area is great, and the staff were friendly and very attentive (perhaps because there didn't appear to be many guests!).

The rooms are large and have everything you expect of a 4-5 star hotel, although the rooms did have a slightly musty 1980ish feel about them. Once again, perhaps the low number of guests might have contributed to the feeling of the place. The breakfast was not up to the standard of other 4-5 star hotels we have stayed in, including in Cambodia.

Overall, the hotel was nice enough, and was in an excellent hotel to explore Angkor Park etc. If the price is right, then it is a good value 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwisInCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalAngkor, General Manager at Royal Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 August 2010
Dear Kiwisin Canberra,
i would like to thank you for your kind comment. We are now going through a re branding exercise that would turn the Royal Angkor Resort into a Eco Friendly Resort. This exercise will be a compliance issue with the assistance of the World bank. The final product would be a healthy food concept that we will actually grow the food that the hotel needs. Your breakfast habit are about to be change drastically to reflect on a more organic and healthy food concept in the near future. Please bear with us a little longer and I can assure you that the next time you visit Siem Reap it will not be about Angkor but rather will be about the people of Cambodia. We call it "The Khmer Journey & Experience". The People Food, Culture, Heritage, Way of life. This is more sustainable and responsible tourism platform for the future.

Regards
Chris Ho, general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

This is an excellent hotel, with superb staff and a great breakfast. The pool is huge, and the poolside bar service is great. It is close to the Cambodian Cultural Village, but it is a 10 minute tuk-tuk ride from Pub Street and the markets. The hotel room was very hot when we arrived, but it cooled down after about an hour. We suggested to management to turn on aircons an hour before guests are expected, but I would recommend you call ahead to ensure room is cool.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalAngkor, General Manager at Royal Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2010
Dear GolfaholicCanberra,

We thank you for your kind and positive review of our resort. If our guest were to call us ahead of their arrival we would certainly cool the room prior to check in, in all practicality. We are now going through a re branding process that should make us an Eco Friendly product the next time you plan to visit us. This certification is a process that we are going through with the Royal Government and other stake holders. In addition to the re branding we are also emphasizing "the Khmer Journey and Experience" After all we want our guest to enjoy the culture & heritage of the Cambodian people, their food and their way of life. Angkor Archeological Park is only part of this journey and experience. Again we thank you in advance for your kind comment and don't forget to visit our website from time to time to see what we have instill and new interesting features & promotion.

Thank you
Chris Ho, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pl
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

Good hotel with very kind staff. Great pool, restaurant overpriced as for Combodia.
Stayed in Deluxe Room with the Pool view. Good value for money, would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertomazowiecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

I stayed for 5 days at the Royal Angkor Resort. It was a fabulous place very comfy and the staff were fantastic. The acutal resort was a treasure and i would certainly recommend any one to stay there.

Linda Lawson

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalAngkor, Manager at Royal Angkor Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2010
Dear Dianella,

We very much appreciate your shared a comments regarding your stay at the Royal Angkor Resort & Spa in Siem Reap, It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Management Team
Royal Angkor Resort& Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#63 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Hotel & Spa
Pacific Hotel & Spa
#66 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
2.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#37 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Angkor Century Resort & Spa
Angkor Century Resort & Spa
#167 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
#139 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#65 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Angkor Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Angkor Resort & Spa

Property: Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
Address: Road No.6 Phum Kasekam, Siem Reap 93279, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#40 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Angkor Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Angkor Resort and Spa is conveniently perched along the gateway of some of the most significant archeological sites in SE-Asia, creating the ideal location to explore Cambodia's rich cultural inheritance. Tucked away from the hustle and noise of the city, Royal Angkor Resort is only minutes away from these iconic landmarks, providing unprecedented access to the legendary Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and Bayon temples as well as the charming and historic town of Siem Reap. Stretching over two and a half hectares, this iconic Siem Reap hotel is jeweled with a beautiful tropical landscape and decorated with the most remarkable architecture, reminiscent of the early 20th century. From fine dining to traditional rooms and suites, Royal Angkor Resort & Spa combines ancient charm with modern-day leisure, creating the ultimate space to unwind and embrace the magical spirit of Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Angkor Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Royal Angkor Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing