We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located,clean and friendly”
Review of City River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
City River Hotel
Ranked #93 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This was our first stay n Cambodia and we found it to be well placed for the town and for sightseeing. The rooms were clean and spacious and good value for money. The pool on the roof was a welcome retreat and the staff were friendly. The only downside was the restaurant, we never ate there in the evening and it looked as though nobody else did either, it was lacking in atmosphere.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
There are newer reviews for City River Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Loved stayin out here.. amazing place... good breakfast ( still dont know why they offer noodles and fried rice for breakfast though) ... lol.. but overall a pretty good place... with free wi fi and two desktop PCs in the corridor for free use.. and a really good location... just 5 mins from the market..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VarunJajoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was our third stay and you cannot beat the City River for the location. Rooms are clean and comfortable and we have always loved the staff but this time they were all new other than a couple, and this made the stay a little less desirable. Normally when we come here we can pay our bill at the end of the stay this time the girl on reception wanted us to pay for the stay up front of all the places I have stayed, and there are many we have never had to do this. Luckily the one staff member Sambath whom we knew from our last visit intervened and we were able to wait until we checked out.

There was also an incident where we had been given two USD $20 notes that had a tiny tear on the corner previous stay no issue they swapped for me this time they swapped one but not the other. Be very careful to always check your notes when you are given change every time I have visited I have had problems, they also will not take them if they are very old and faded. Only very minor things I guess but I was a little disappointed. Was so looking forward to staying here again.

Do not let this put you off though, as this hotel has free wifi, you get free bottles of water each day, free airport pick up and they will organise tuk tuk drivers for visiting the incredible temples. Our favourite is Mr Ra, he is an absolute treasure. The massages at the hotel are great value and the girls are just lovely. Pool is also great and we love the poolside bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, it is quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daxter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon, it was a great experience and we would happily stay again if we returned to Siem Reap. We also liked that it was one of only 30% Cambodian owned hotels in the city.

the hotel was an easy walk to the markets and 'pub street' for the restaurants. The food was good (we had buffet breakfast and lunch there) with a mix of Asian and western food. The rooms were clean and had aircon.

We also took the opportunity to laze by the rooftop pool for an afternoon.

The staff were polite and friendly and overall we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The City River Hotel has a few things going for it but the location was prefect in my opinion. Just 5 minutes from all the restaurants means it's close enough, but not so close that it's noisy since it's on the opposite side of the river. The staff have been great and the rooms are spacious and clean. Rooftop pool has been nice and also very quiet. There's a couple of things that let it down in my opinion though. Firstly the bed's are incredibly uncomfortable. Probably the hardest bed I have ever slept in and the pillows are similarly hard. Secondly, the air conditioning in the rooms turns off when you leave the room. This means that it is impossible to come back to a nice cool room! I appreciate that lights should go out when you take the key and leave, but I've never had a place where the AC also goes off. For someone like me who comes from cold climates and frankly struggles with the heat of Cambodia, this was a real annoyance. If I was returning to Siem Reap I would not stay here again for the two reasons mentioned, but I do realise that both these things might be tolerable for others and other than that the place has been very good for the money I think.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whistlerdan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We found this hotel through a friend's recommendation. We could not have done better on our own. The location is near the central shopping distance, and easy walk to all of the parks, museums, and sites that form the city core. The river is right in front of the hotel, with its lovely promenade. The breakfast was good, the pool on the roof top was cool and refreshing. The bar there was simple but adequate and the bartender, like ALL of the staff that we had contact with, was friendly and helpful. Recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our family stayed for 4 nights at the City River Hotel; it was excellent. It is located away from the hustle and bustle of the township, but close enough with a 10 minute walk, has great facitlities (including a pool, which was a bonus after hot days around the temples), large rooms, good breakfasts and very reasonable rates. A special mention must go to the staff, who were outstanding (they were friendly, helpful and trust-worthy). I would thorougly recomemend this hotel to anybody looking for a 3-star hotel in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rdscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#70 of 361 in Siem Reap
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
#99 of 361 in Siem Reap
914 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#88 of 361 in Siem Reap
869 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#39 of 361 in Siem Reap
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City River Hotel

Address: 0511 Achasva Street, Wat Bo, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#62 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#69 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £26 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City River Hotel is beautifully located on the bank of Siem Reap River. Our superb location offers our guests the unique experience of peacefulness in a lively city. We’re just a walking distance away from the ever popular Pub Street and Night Market.The roof-top swimming pool is the only one of its kind in Siem Reap. Guests will enjoy the spectacular views of the city and sunset while sipping away the delicious cocktails on the poolside bar. This experience can only be found exclusively at City River Hotel.Our Deluxe rooms are beautifully decorated with all standard amenities and a balcony overlooking the city. In addition, guests are able to pamper themselves with the traditional Khmer massage at our Massage Center after spending a long day at the wonderful temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your City River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City River Siem Reap
Hotel City River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing