We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic roof top pool”
Review of City River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
City River Hotel
Ranked #93 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“fantastic roof top pool”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

When we were planning the trip and looking for hotel, the roof top pool cuaght our attention and after reading the other comments on here, we decided to book it and we loved it!! It has such a good view!
Staff were always very friendly, helpful and polite all the time. The room was spacious, clean and comfy. The location is great, it's quiet but not too far from twon, just a short walk to the markets and post office.
I would stay here again if I return to Siem Reap, great value for money, wonderful staff, clean room and great location!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onaiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Pandawan,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with your review. It is always a pleasure to read wonderful reviews like yours. As it is our job to provide the best of hospitality, I am pleased to hear you find our staffs were friendly, helpful and polite.
We look forward welcoming you back in the future.

best regards

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    376
    77
    11
    5
See reviews for
109
344
109
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We wanted to find somewhere not too expensive whilst not compromising on quality or location. CITY RIVER was spot on for this. The rooms are large, clean and comfy. There is a choice of laundry shops 1minute away which was really convenient as well as a massage parlour for cheap and clean massages, perfect after a full day sightseeing! The rooftop pool is clean and a great place to see across the city. This is the best 3* hotel I've stayed in for a while. Staff were attentive and friendly. They aimed to remember our names and they didnt try to sell their tuktuk services onto us but actually supported us by allowing us to make a quick and free call to our 'adopted' driver. 'Sales' reception staff is a pet hate but it wasn't the case here.
We ate one night in the restaurant at around 9 when it was quiet but the food was still tasty. We also spent a couple of nights eating out and it only took a little over 5minutes by foot to get back from Pub Street, the nightlife area, although the hotel feels pleasantly isolated from the bars and clubs. Excellent location!
If it wasn't for having booked my next trip to Thailand, I'd have extended my stay here. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Just be careful with the bath tub design, it can leak onto the floor although it's not a big pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Pandawan,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your kind comments . We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at City River Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, service and amenities. It is always a pleasure to know that every effort made to ensure you received a memorable experience paid off with your score and feedback, which has been shared and appreciated by all members of the team here. We are looking forward to be welcoming you back in City River Hotel

Best regard,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 7 nights at City River Hotel on the advice of a friend. We began our Cambodian trip with 4 nights at City River , went to Battambang for 2 nights and then came back for 3 nights. Returning to City River hotel felt like returning home. We have absolutely no complaints about this hotel it gets top marks for friendliness and helpfulness of staff, from the cleaners to waiters in the restaurant, to reception staff. Fresh water was available daily, the room cleaned thoroughly daily and when we had one small problem( the reading light blew one evening) it was changed immediately we told the staff at reception. Breakfast was all that I could ask for and the restaurant which is open for meals all day is a great and a reasonable alternative to Pub street if you feel like a quiet night in.
Staff helped with arranging guides, tuk tuks, booking bus and boat tickets and the hotel is within an easy walk to town and the popular Pub district.
Should we ever return to Siem Reap we will definitely stay here. And the parting gift topped off this wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Noella C,
Thank you for staying at the City River Hotel on your friends advice and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we lived up to your expectations. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our location, our hotel, our restaurant and most importantly I would say the service you received from our staff. Our team will simply always go the extra mile to make all our guests feel genuinely welcome and at home.
I have shared your very kind comments about the “friendliness and helpfulness” of the team with everyone – it really is a great motivator for the team to know when our guests have enjoyed staying with us. We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit

Kind regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We spent 4 lovely nights at the City River Hotel. The room was very comfortable and clean. The restaurant not only had an ample buffet breakfast but also beautiful a la carte dinners. It is so conveniently located it was easy to walk to the centre of Siem Reap across the river - only takes a few minutes. The big plus for this hotel is the wonderful staff. They were all so friendly. It's lovely to be greeted each morning by the housemaids calling good morning to you from down the corridor. We left our credit card at the hotel when we left and they very kindly chased us down on the way to the airport to return it. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Trudy v,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the City River Hotel, It is very rewarding to read your lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and that you found the staffs to be very friendly, helpful and the breakfast are plenty. We have a very dedicated team of people who take great pride in offering our guests the highest level of service. Thank you for your kind and thoughtful words, it is greatly appreciated and I have passed on your feedback to our lovely staffs.. Please do visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Such nice hotel in a really quitet area but close to town. $2 maximum in tuk tuk. Just would like a better fruit selection for breakfast and would like bacon EVERY day. Staff fabulous. Thank you a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Top spot, great massages, fabulous staff. Really liked this spot and so convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Glenda P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your very kind words following your recent stay with us at City River Hotel. We appreciate your comments regarding the breakfast selection, we will take into consideration. It was our great pleasure looking after you during your stay. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to City River hotel for your next visit.

Kind regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We booked last minute and got a nice big room for a two night stay while we were visting Angkor Wat. The bed was comfortable, the breakfast was excellent. Only downside was that the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor. Friendly staff and great location too...walking distance to Pub Street and the Old Market and Night Market. Pool on the roof was nice after a long day of site seeing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qvollmert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear qvollmert,

I am delighted you chose us for your last minute booking. Many thanks for your kind words following your recent stay at City River Hotel. I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the breakfast, service and facilities we provided you with. We appreciate your comments regarding the issues with leaked shower happened during your stay, I will get our Maintenance team to have a look at the leaked.
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit

Best Regards,

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel, start are extremely pleasant and the rooms clean and modern. The roof top pool and bar are a fantastic way to see the city, gives you a whole different perspective.
The bed was so hard that I now know what it feels like to be laid out for the mortuary slab! Despite that I'd definitely stay again and highly recommend it

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Kristian S

Thank you for choosing City River Hotel as your accommodation for your stay in Siem Reap and your constructive feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you satisfied with facilities and as well as our roof-top pool &bar during your stay with us. Regarding to your comment on the hard mattress, we are pleased to inform you that recently we have purchases mattress topper which is soften the mattress as to cater for guest who prefer softer bed. However due to the limitation of the mattress topper you may contact us for your future booking so we can make necessary arrangement for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back on many other occasions.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#70 of 356 in Siem Reap
420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#119 of 356 in Siem Reap
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
0.4 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#87 of 356 in Siem Reap
860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
Steung Siemreap Thmey Hotel
#99 of 356 in Siem Reap
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City River Hotel

Property: City River Hotel
Address: 0511 Achasva Street, Wat Bo, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#54 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#62 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#70 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City River Hotel is beautifully located on the bank of Siem Reap River. Our superb location offers our guests the unique experience of peacefulness in a lively city. We’re just a walking distance away from the ever popular Pub Street and Night Market.The roof-top swimming pool is the only one of its kind in Siem Reap. Guests will enjoy the spectacular views of the city and sunset while sipping away the delicious cocktails on the poolside bar. This experience can only be found exclusively at City River Hotel.Our Deluxe rooms are beautifully decorated with all standard amenities and a balcony overlooking the city. In addition, guests are able to pamper themselves with the traditional Khmer massage at our Massage Center after spending a long day at the wonderful temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your City River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City River Siem Reap
Hotel City River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing