We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't break anything!”
Review of City River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
City River Hotel
Ranked #96 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

City River was a nice hotel. The staff were very polite and obliging. The rooms were basic but they did the trick. I was disappointed at the end that they tried to charge me $9 AUD for a broken glass! I queried it and when they checked it should have only been $3 AUD. It took them half an hour to sort it out. Apart from this little hiccup everything was great, the food, the location - all good. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Owner at City River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Sharon F,

thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall experience at City River Hotel. We really appreciate the patience that you shown in the whole process and we apologize for the inconvenience that you bear because of the mistake in the billing.
I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back City River hotel at some stage in the future.

Best Regard

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed at City River for around 9 days and every morning I was greeted happily by various staff members. As we left our keys behind the counter each time we left, the staff at the counter began to remember our room numbers and have our keys out by the time we got through the door. They also didn't mind when we had to keep asking for the keys each time we had forgotten something in our room.
The room service was quick, the food was well priced. I had a massage at the hotel as well which was great. The staff at the pool were also very lovely.
The hotel is in a fantastic location, five minute walk to town and $1-$2 in a tuk tuk.
I would recommend City River to anybody and I would (and hopefully will) return given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Jessica C,

Many thanks for your kind words following your recent stay at City River Hotel. I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the service and facilities we provided you with. Please do come back and stay with us again soon

Best Regards


Mananger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel was Amazing .I so glad we stay here the Staff were friendly .and the staff in the morning at breakfast were so great . we even got then saying Aussie Aussie o o . they always had a smile on there faces.. The room are very spacious clean and comfy. The roof top POOL WAS AMAZING. and the sunset at night up there with a drink is some thing to see. The hotel is in a great spot just a 5min walk to Pub Street just over the river and your there..we had a great Tuk Tuk driver just across frm hotel call Piseth Uch spoke quiet good English. I have already told my friends and travel booking place about this AMAZING HOTEL .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Deb L,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with your review.
We are glad to hear that you had a most memorable experience with us and enjoyed everything from our convenient location, amenities such as our rooftop pool to our comfy rooms and the service that our dedicated staff provided. Thank you for recommending our Hotel to your friend. We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

When we were planning the trip and looking for hotel, the roof top pool cuaght our attention and after reading the other comments on here, we decided to book it and we loved it!! It has such a good view!
Staff were always very friendly, helpful and polite all the time. The room was spacious, clean and comfy. The location is great, it's quiet but not too far from twon, just a short walk to the markets and post office.
I would stay here again if I return to Siem Reap, great value for money, wonderful staff, clean room and great location!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onaiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Pandawan,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with your review. It is always a pleasure to read wonderful reviews like yours. As it is our job to provide the best of hospitality, I am pleased to hear you find our staffs were friendly, helpful and polite.
We look forward welcoming you back in the future.

best regards

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We wanted to find somewhere not too expensive whilst not compromising on quality or location. CITY RIVER was spot on for this. The rooms are large, clean and comfy. There is a choice of laundry shops 1minute away which was really convenient as well as a massage parlour for cheap and clean massages, perfect after a full day sightseeing! The rooftop pool is clean and a great place to see across the city. This is the best 3* hotel I've stayed in for a while. Staff were attentive and friendly. They aimed to remember our names and they didnt try to sell their tuktuk services onto us but actually supported us by allowing us to make a quick and free call to our 'adopted' driver. 'Sales' reception staff is a pet hate but it wasn't the case here.
We ate one night in the restaurant at around 9 when it was quiet but the food was still tasty. We also spent a couple of nights eating out and it only took a little over 5minutes by foot to get back from Pub Street, the nightlife area, although the hotel feels pleasantly isolated from the bars and clubs. Excellent location!
If it wasn't for having booked my next trip to Thailand, I'd have extended my stay here. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Just be careful with the bath tub design, it can leak onto the floor although it's not a big pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pandawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Pandawan,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your kind comments . We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at City River Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, service and amenities. It is always a pleasure to know that every effort made to ensure you received a memorable experience paid off with your score and feedback, which has been shared and appreciated by all members of the team here. We are looking forward to be welcoming you back in City River Hotel

Best regard,

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 7 nights at City River Hotel on the advice of a friend. We began our Cambodian trip with 4 nights at City River , went to Battambang for 2 nights and then came back for 3 nights. Returning to City River hotel felt like returning home. We have absolutely no complaints about this hotel it gets top marks for friendliness and helpfulness of staff, from the cleaners to waiters in the restaurant, to reception staff. Fresh water was available daily, the room cleaned thoroughly daily and when we had one small problem( the reading light blew one evening) it was changed immediately we told the staff at reception. Breakfast was all that I could ask for and the restaurant which is open for meals all day is a great and a reasonable alternative to Pub street if you feel like a quiet night in.
Staff helped with arranging guides, tuk tuks, booking bus and boat tickets and the hotel is within an easy walk to town and the popular Pub district.
Should we ever return to Siem Reap we will definitely stay here. And the parting gift topped off this wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Noella C,
Thank you for staying at the City River Hotel on your friends advice and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we lived up to your expectations. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our location, our hotel, our restaurant and most importantly I would say the service you received from our staff. Our team will simply always go the extra mile to make all our guests feel genuinely welcome and at home.
I have shared your very kind comments about the “friendliness and helpfulness” of the team with everyone – it really is a great motivator for the team to know when our guests have enjoyed staying with us. We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit

Kind regards,

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We spent 4 lovely nights at the City River Hotel. The room was very comfortable and clean. The restaurant not only had an ample buffet breakfast but also beautiful a la carte dinners. It is so conveniently located it was easy to walk to the centre of Siem Reap across the river - only takes a few minutes. The big plus for this hotel is the wonderful staff. They were all so friendly. It's lovely to be greeted each morning by the housemaids calling good morning to you from down the corridor. We left our credit card at the hotel when we left and they very kindly chased us down on the way to the airport to return it. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Trudy v,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the City River Hotel, It is very rewarding to read your lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and that you found the staffs to be very friendly, helpful and the breakfast are plenty. We have a very dedicated team of people who take great pride in offering our guests the highest level of service. Thank you for your kind and thoughtful words, it is greatly appreciated and I have passed on your feedback to our lovely staffs.. Please do visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#43 of 365 in Siem Reap
512 reviews
1.3 mi away
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
#57 of 365 in Siem Reap
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#87 of 365 in Siem Reap
875 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#73 of 365 in Siem Reap
443 reviews
0.4 mi away
King Rock Boutique Hotel
King Rock Boutique Hotel
#109 of 365 in Siem Reap
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City River Hotel

Address: 0511 Achasva Street, Wat Bo, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#61 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#75 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £32 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City River Hotel is beautifully located on the bank of Siem Reap River. Our superb location offers our guests the unique experience of peacefulness in a lively city. We’re just a walking distance away from the ever popular Pub Street and Night Market.The roof-top swimming pool is the only one of its kind in Siem Reap. Guests will enjoy the spectacular views of the city and sunset while sipping away the delicious cocktails on the poolside bar. This experience can only be found exclusively at City River Hotel.Our Deluxe rooms are beautifully decorated with all standard amenities and a balcony overlooking the city. In addition, guests are able to pamper themselves with the traditional Khmer massage at our Massage Center after spending a long day at the wonderful temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Splitty, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your City River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City River Siem Reap
Hotel City River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing