We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff, comfortable hotel”
Review of City River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City River Hotel
Ranked #108 of 376 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

City River is just as everyone says, the hotel is comfortable, quiet, and the perfect location, close enough to get to everything in town within minutes, but far enough away to find some quiet restaurants and walk along the river. The breakfast has everything one needs to fuel up for the day. The pool is beautiful and a nice place to relax when things get busy in town and you need a break from it. The staff is great (funny, playful, full of energy) and will help with anything that you need, they are all smiles and ready to assist. I very much enjoyed being at City River and I wouldn't hesitate to go back. This is a great place, especially for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoloSeaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed here in interconnecting city view rooms. They were beautiful, comfortable rooms and very quiet at night. The hotel is a very easy and pretty walk to the vibrant Pub Street. And a short drive to Angkor Wat. It's location plus really! The staff were wonderful and organised and booked everything that we requested and offered lots of good advice. Breakfast was fantastic. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Heids70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The hotel is well located to be walking distance to most attractions in the city. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom, however, kind of ruined the stay for us. The tub was moldy, including the shower curtain. The way the shower was configured made it pretty much impossible to not flood the bathroom. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant (included in room rate) and thought it was pretty good. There was a selection of hot dishes, different breads and toast, an omelette station and the coffee was delicious. The staff were always super nice and friendly. The hotel arranged bikes for us to rent, but they were more expensive that what the guidebooks and TripAdvisor forums told us to expect. When we were going back to the airport, the hotel also over-charged us to arrange for a taxi.

Overall, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my friends and family. It wasn't a bad stay, but between the bathroom and the small up-charges from the staff I would choose to stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DZKathrynE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. I am a solo female traveller so particularly appreciated the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. I am also vegetarian and there were always veg noodles at breakfast and all the food was labelled so that helped me avoid food mistakes.

It was a bit cold weather wise for the pool, but did have a drink up there and a chat with the staff. I also had a massage at the spa. This was interesting as they give you a jacket and pants to wear and massage you through the clothes. I am not sure how effective it is as a massage, but am never to keen on stripping off for such things so it suited me fine.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 440Sid_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I found this hotel right after a very bad experience somewhere in Siem Reap and have stayed there 5 times so far! There is nothing I could say is bad! They o their best, th location is onderful, hard working people and super organized! Thanks and congratulations!

Room Tip: They almost made me see a number of rooms and I chose it myself! It was brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humphrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Owner at City River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Humphrey M,

Thank you for posting your views about City River Hotel on Trip advisor.
We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, which helps us to continuously strive for excellence.
My team and I look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best service and attention at all times

Best Wish

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

City River was a nice hotel. The staff were very polite and obliging. The rooms were basic but they did the trick. I was disappointed at the end that they tried to charge me $9 AUD for a broken glass! I queried it and when they checked it should have only been $3 AUD. It took them half an hour to sort it out. Apart from this little hiccup everything was great, the food, the location - all good. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Owner at City River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Sharon F,

thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall experience at City River Hotel. We really appreciate the patience that you shown in the whole process and we apologize for the inconvenience that you bear because of the mistake in the billing.
I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back City River hotel at some stage in the future.

Best Regard

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed at City River for around 9 days and every morning I was greeted happily by various staff members. As we left our keys behind the counter each time we left, the staff at the counter began to remember our room numbers and have our keys out by the time we got through the door. They also didn't mind when we had to keep asking for the keys each time we had forgotten something in our room.
The room service was quick, the food was well priced. I had a massage at the hotel as well which was great. The staff at the pool were also very lovely.
The hotel is in a fantastic location, five minute walk to town and $1-$2 in a tuk tuk.
I would recommend City River to anybody and I would (and hopefully will) return given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityRiverHotel_SR, Manager at City River Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Jessica C,

Many thanks for your kind words following your recent stay at City River Hotel. I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the service and facilities we provided you with. Please do come back and stay with us again soon

Best Regards


Mananger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand River Angkor Hotel
Grand River Angkor Hotel
#113 of 376 in Siem Reap
303 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#59 of 376 in Siem Reap
533 reviews
1.3 mi away
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
Suorkear Boutique Hotel & Spa
#62 of 376 in Siem Reap
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#101 of 376 in Siem Reap
888 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#76 of 376 in Siem Reap
466 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#58 of 376 in Siem Reap
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City River Hotel

Address: 0511 Achasva Street, Wat Bo, Siem Reap 17254, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#48 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#53 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#82 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: £33 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City River Hotel is beautifully located on the bank of Siem Reap River. Our superb location offers our guests the unique experience of peacefulness in a lively city. We’re just a walking distance away from the ever popular Pub Street and Night Market.The roof-top swimming pool is the only one of its kind in Siem Reap. Guests will enjoy the spectacular views of the city and sunset while sipping away the delicious cocktails on the poolside bar. This experience can only be found exclusively at City River Hotel.Our Deluxe rooms are beautifully decorated with all standard amenities and a balcony overlooking the city. In addition, guests are able to pamper themselves with the traditional Khmer massage at our Massage Center after spending a long day at the wonderful temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City River Siem Reap
Hotel City River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing